Fake it till ya make it.

Posted: October 2, 2009 in Headspace, photography, weekend, work

I’m working from home this morning, waiting on FedEx to deliver something I have to sign for (more on that in a minute). The front door is open to the screen, the windows in the living room are open, and it’s 73 degrees in the house.

aft

ABOUT. FUCKING. TIME.

Because of working from home, I could have slept in until 7:55. Because I could have slept in, I couldn’t sleep. I got up at 6:20 (got to say goodbye to Calvin before he left for work, for once), grabbed myself a cup of coffee, perused my feed reader and TweetDeck, and thought I would write an entry about what’s on my mind. Which is this:

FedEx is delivering a rental lens that I got from Borrow Lenses, which is another on-line camera gear rental place that I’m trying out. See, I have a photography gig (heh – I just like saying that) that I’m shooting on Sunday. The Sandstone Cafe, our regular, is hosting a tasting event, and the owner wants me to take pictures and do a write-up about it.

Soon I’ll be able to link to their website, which I created and administer for them. Almost done!

Since Sandstone is a teeny tiny place (for now, they have plans to expand), and mood-lit, I needed a fast prime lens, which I don’t currently own (I plan to fix that, as early as next month). I rented a Canon 50mm f/1.4, which is supposed to be ideal for low light settings. I’ll try to be as unobtrusive as possible, but I’ll be bringing my tripod, and as I said, the place IS tiny. So I’ll have to get in some folks’ faces in order to capture the food, the hosted beer, and the experience in general.

It’s a good thing I’m not shy, right?

This is the first time I’m actually being hired to photograph an event. Sure, I write about photography all the time, and I take a ton of pictures and use them for my various freelance projects, but this is the first time someone has actually asked me to take specific pictures of a specific event for them. It’s cool, but I’m a little nervous – that whole mindset of, “Man, I’ve been fooling them for a long time, but what if they find out I’ve been faking it all along?” I really want the pictures to turn out well – as I mentioned in yesterday’s comments, Photoshop doesn’t do you much good unless you’re starting with a quality photo.

Well, I’m as prepared as I’m going to be (eep, note to self, stop RIGHT NOW and charge the camera’s battery before you forget AGAIN…). Once the lens gets here, I’ll have the rest of today and tomorrow to play around with it and get used to it. My cats are doomed.

The remainder of the weekend’s plans include working in the front and back yard, and perhaps taking a drive up to Sedona to do some hiking. This house is a DISASTER, so something’s going to have to be done about that, too. Then I’m on vacation all next week, and other than a hair appointment, a meeting with my tax guy, and a trip to the Phoenix Art Museum, I have blissfully few plans.

What are YOUR plans for the weekend?

Comments
  1. boundandgags says:

    That’s awesome!

    Remember to get plenty of shots of people with food in their mouths.

    Selling them back to the person is where you’ll make the big money!

    Have a great time.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Bah, you’ll knock it out no problemo! You gotz skillz.

    Hooray for open windows in your part of the world!

  3. jadesymb says:

    You’ll be awesome. You take AMAZING photos.

    I’m taking the breastfeeding class and going to a 4 year olds birthday party this weekend.

  4. iamheatherjo says:

    You’ll do great!

    I’ve only used my tripod for the fireworks display a couple years ago. I tried using it when one of the bands asked me to take their promo pictures but it kept getting in my way. I put it in the truck just in case, but the poor thing just sits there…waiting.

  5. crisitunity says:

    Congratulations on your first paid gig! I know it’ll go great.

  6. David says:

    Yeehah! You don’t have to fake it Laura!

  7. Shelli says:

    Congrats on your first paid gig! Woohoo!! 🙂 If we open our windows here, we’ll freeze. I’ll trade you weather … I love HOT weather!

  8. Kimmothy says:

    Congrats on the gig; I’m sure you’ll do amazingly well, just like you do everything!
    I’m very happy your weather has finally changed for the better; I think about your weather way more often than is probably healthy, but then hell, weather obsessing has always been one of my hobbies. Ours has been amazing lately and it puts me in a very cheery mood.
    Enjoy your week off!

Leave a Reply

