All Bouncy and Stuff

Posted: October 1, 2009 in best things, Calvin, Friends, Motorcycle, photography, vacation, Warm Fuzzy

First and foremost, please wish my darling Calvin a very, very happy birthday!

downwithunderpants
Down With Underpants! (This was in Whistler back in ’05.)
(I WAS going to post this picture but he would have keeled me ded.)

———-

Dyskinesia and Taoist Biker came through for Calvin’s birthday present in a BIG, YOOGE way.

So, back when TB and Dys went to this year’s Red Bull Indianapolis GP, they called my cell phone from the track and left a voicemail message of the sound of the motorcycles going by. Which made me and Calvin thirteen kinds of jealous.

Once they were back, I IM’ed with TB about their trip (September 1st, it was), and I mentioned that Calvin and I would love to go, some year. He started telling me about the arrangements they’d already made to attend the 2010 race. I asked him if we needed to book this far in advance, if we decided we wanted to go. He explained about how repeat-attenders get first preference on the seats. I asked how I would go about getting tickets to the race, and he was all, “I CAN GET TICKETS LET ME SHOW YOU THEM.”

All of this took place in a 337-line IM conversation, mind you. You may not realize, we’re wordy sonsabitches.

He called, and then faxed, the race organization and said he’d like to add two seats adjacent to the ones he had already pre-reserved. It wasn’t totally a sure thing because those who have attended previously get first preference, and someone else might want those seats – so he listed second and third preferences for nearby seating locations.

THEN Dys got involved and extended their existing hotel reservation to add an adjoining room for us. I’d called, myself, but they weren’t taking reservations so far in advance – but Dys had an “in” with them, and the hotel was all set up for us while TB and I were still IM-ing back and forth about the particulars.

That’s as far as the planning could go, at that point, and I had a WHOLE MONTH that I had to discipline myself into NOT saying anything to Calvin. Meanwhile he’s watching Moto GP events on TV and saying, “Gee, it sure would be fun to go someday…” Bit my tongue bloody, I did.

THEN Dys called me yesterday afternoon, and conferenced TB in, so they could tell me together that they got confirmation that the seats we wanted were available and YOU GUYS we’re sitting, all of us together, in one of the PENTHOUSES.

I printed out this year’s Spectator Guide that TB forwarded to me, circled the location we’ll be sitting in during next year’s race, and gave it to Calvin last night (I couldn’t wait, okay?) as his birthday present.

He. Was. THRILLED. TOTALLY excited. He kept saying, “Oh, cool” with this huge grin on his face. Of course, Mr. Instant Gratification will have to wait a solid eleven months to enjoy his birthday present, but the practice in patience will be good for him. Besides, it gives us both something great to look forward to for a good long time.

So. It’s happening the last weekend in August, 2010. Look out, Indianapolis. We are going to TEAR UP THE TOWN. A weekend of motorcycles, photography, friendship, whisky, and general geekery as the four of us finally meet “in real life”. Indiana may never recover.

Some of Dyskinesia’s pics from the 2008 race:

100_4056_sharpandboost

100_4009_sharpandboost

100_3905_sharpandboost

676156-R1-00-24A_sharpboost

She’s a pretty kick-ass photographer, yes?

Man, we are WICKED stoked.

(Make your travel plans with UpTake!).

Comments
  1. boundandgags says:

    What a great gift. It’s just too bad TB & Dys had to get involved. You know how they are they’ll TOTALLY take all the credit! Seriously awesome! A great gift from all of you. Great end to a great story.

  2. iamheatherjo says:

    YAY!!! Happy Birthday Calvin!!!

    You know…Indy is only 2 1/2 hours away from….ME as well! LoL

  3. dyskinesia says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY CALVIN!!!!! 😀 😀 😀

    We are wicked stoked right along with you! I somehow imagine that there will be more pictures of me sleeping on the rail next year because you people will keep me up all night, lol. Y’all at least have a built-in designated driver if we go paint the town; I’m a wuss. It’s one fruity drink and then water for the rest of the night!

    I wonder if cheaper for you to fly to Indy or our place… Bah, you and TB have probably covered that topic already – ya wordy sonsabitches.

    Send Calvin to my blog a little later today; there will be pictures in honor. 🙂

    • Laura says:

      Photoshop don’t do nuthin’ if the original picture isn’t awesome to begin with, don’tcha know…

      Partying will be had, so you’d better stock up on NoDoz, missy!

      Southwest has $150 tickets to Indy, but I’ll check out both once we get closer to the actual date. They won’t let me make reservations any further out than March, the bastids. 😀

    • dyskinesia says:

      Make that, um, tomorrow — there will be pictures in honor TOMORROW, um, because it’s always nice to stretch out the celebration another day! 😀

      (Meh, stupid work!)

  4. dyskinesia says:

    (and damn, I need to send you more pics to PS — my pics always look better with your effects on them! 🙂 )

  5. Kami-O says:

    Happy, Happy Birfday to CAAAALLLVVVIIIIIN!

  6. Shelli says:

    Happy Birthday to Calvin!

  7. Taoist Biker says:

    Always thrilled to help spend somebody else’s money to make MY good times better. 😀

    Those two phone calls to Indy and then to you yesterday just made my damned day. It was awesome.

    Happy birfday, Calvin! I’ll be screaming in your ear to be heard over the bikes in 11 months!

  8. Calvin says:

    Thank you for all the happy birthdays.
    And a special thanks to TB & Dys for all the help in making this happen this should be lots of fun.
    We are talking about staying a few days longer or maybe coming in early to try and spend some time with Heather one way or another we will get it worked out.
    Oh and Laura thanks for posting a twenty year old pic of my baby mullet 🙂

  9. jadesymb says:

    Happy birthday @$$hole. :p Hope it’s great!!

  10. crisitunity says:

    That. Is. Awesome.

    And pretty much the only thing ever that would actually make me want to go to MotoGP. I hope you all have a wonderful time.

  11. Jean says:

    I thought Calvin might have been applying for the Gepetto understudy role…he had the puffy hair and mustache already! Hee!

    What an awesome gift! Sounds like way too much fun! And having it to look forward to is like unwrapping it new every day!!!

    Happy, happy birthday!

  12. […] Blog Administriviaiamheatherjo on Smash the WorldLaura on Here Comes the Rain AgainAll Bouncy and Stuff… on The 2009 Red Bull Indianapolis…Laura on […]

  13. […] Honor: #46 In honor of Calvin’s birthday, birthday present, and my own joy at FINALLY getting back my 35-mm pics from the Indianapolis MotoGP, Valentino came […]

  14. Kimmothy says:

    Happy Late Birthday Calvin – I suck. I’ve been terribly backlogged lately and my blog time has suffered. That’s not an excuse…well, I guess it is. Either way, the race is going to be so much fun for you all! Heather told me about it and said wouldn’t it be fun if I went up there to meet all my blog friends in person too (not as exciting as the race for you, but very exciting for me). I’m seriously considering it.

  15. […] next lens purchase will hopefully be 28-135mm 3.5-5.6, in prep for our MotoGP extravaganza next August. It’s a better “walking around” lens than the kit lens that came with […]

  16. […] him and Dyskinesia. BF is coming along too. How cool is that? I know it’s not as cool as the MotoGP extravaganza that Laura’s put together for next year, but I’m pretty darn excited about it. Problem […]

  17. […] she’ll call in, in which case there’s a good chance we’ll end up talking about our joint trip next year to the 2010 Red Bull Indianapolis GP. (WOO!)  We don’t have to stick to any topic, though, and […]

  18. […] she’s feeling awake enough, Laura and I still haven’t talked about our joint trip next year to the 2010 Red Bull Indianapolis GP. (WOO!)  We don’t have to stick to any topic, though, and […]

  19. […] The leather jacket Bill picked out for me in Cody, Wyoming. Also, Moto GP tickets. […]

  20. […] The first reason for my bounciness is our oft-mentioned, oft-gushed about (yes, TB, you have been gushing) trip to Indianapolis to see the MotoGP race. I […]

Leave a Reply

