Ms. Saturday Night Special

Posted: September 26, 2009 in Family, Home, Music, weekend

guitarsWe’re about to play Rock Band. I’m the singer, Calvin is the lead guitar, and Michael is on his way over with his guitar to play bass. I kick ass in Black Crowes, Journey, and Disturbed. I can rock the genres. Are you proud of me? You should be. You’d be impressed with my mad vocal skyllz.

It’s been a quiet weekend. I got a lot of work done this morning – three entries for Beyond Megapixels, two for UpTake – got up at 8:00, was done by noon. That’s pretty good, right? Got another two entries for each to be written tomorrow morning. It’s all about time management, and I’m learning, so that I’m not so stressed out throughout the week. I picked up some work designing the website for our local (Sandstone, which I’ve mentioned eleventy-seven times ’round these here parts), plus I’ll be doing event photography and write-ups, brochure design, that kind of thing. Expanding my freelance portfolio – all great stuff to go in the direction of my interests, not enough to pay the bills yet, but it makes Laura one busy, busy chick.

I talked to my uncle for over an hour this afternoon. It’s nice to remind myself that I still have blood relatives out there. He crashed and totalled his Harley – I couldn’t tell if he was more upset over his fractured ribs or his bike. That right there tells me he’s going to be okay. He’s going to be seventy in January and has discovered that the secret to remaining young is riding, baby. He takes a cross-country trip on his motorcycle every blessed year – you’ve got to admire that kind of giddy-up.

My sister would be shocked to know that I can carry on a prolonged conversation with my uncle – they don’t get along so well, still. I tried contacting her today – her daughter is in a boarding school for math and science in northern Maine (pretty prestigious – this one, to be specific). I wanted to send her a netbook to help her along in her efforts. Gotta find out where to ship it, though! She’s way too smart to be only sixteen years old. Reminds me of me, when I was her age. Heh.

Ooh, looks like Calvin is purchasing some Foreigner for Rock Band. Gotta get my pipes warmed up! “Feels like the first time… feels like the very first time…”

Hope you guys are having a great Saturday night. Football tomorrow, woot!

Comments
  1. Rockband is a huge hit in our house. Everyone above five gets an instrument. My five year old gets the microphone…she struggles, but her homeschool reading skills help. We are careful about what songs we play for those “virgin” ears. We do have a SpongeBob mix when she is playing along.

    Have fun. Blackened with everyone (with my daughter not in the room) is our personal favorite…with everyone on Medium. My son can handle the guitar, wife the drums and I am stuck on the bass for my kindergarten-like left brain skillz.

  2. jadesymb says:

    I ❤ Rockband

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    Damn at all the work you’re getting done!!!! Sheesh!

    Your poor uncle! I wish I could buy him a beer so we could sing “To All The Girls I’ve Loved Before” in honor of our poor late bikes.

    I am PISSED because I haven’t been able to nail the calibration on our new TV. My drum fills are like a half second off time and it feels FUNKY.

    • Laura says:

      Heh. He’s getting right back on the horse, so to speak – talking about the Road King he’s gonna buy.

      Is everything off, or just the drums?

      • Taoist Biker says:

        Everything else, it seems like you just have to click “Oh, you have an LCD TV? Okay, you’re set.” On the drums though you actually have to fiddle fart around and hit the drums along with a metronome and crap. It’s annoying as hell.

  4. Kimmothy says:

    God how I wish I didn’t suck so mightily at Rock Band.

  5. Kimmothy says:

    Well, except for the singing. I suck a little less at that.

  6. […] Two teen drivers. A million hysterical conversations. Five speeding tickets. A hundred games of Rock Band. Two sabbaticals. Two bottles of Absinthe. One new roof. One attacking bee colony. One death in the […]

Leave a Reply

