Not playing.

Posted: September 25, 2009 in bitching, Headspace, WTF

firedYou look at me with a smile on your lips and nastiness in your eyes while you divulge the latest on dit about a mutual acquaintance. I don’t consider either of you friends, and I do not perpetuate gossip. Go away. I’m not playing.

The first person who responded to, “How are you?” with, “It’s Friday!” got the perfunctory hardy har har. The fourth person, my response was just a sigh. The seventh? No response at all. Jesus H. Christ, people, it doesn’t even make sense most of the time. The ONLY time a response of “It’s Friday!” is appropriate is if I ask you what fucking day of the week it is. It is NOT an accurate response to, “How are you?” or “How’s your day going?” or “Why are you dressed all fancy today?” Please don’t continue to perpetuate this idiocy. I’m not playing.

You said it, again. It infuriated me, again. You’re completely and totally wrong, again. Your head is up your ass, again. Jesus, do you even HEAR yourself? Next time you say it or even INFER it, I’m smacking you in the face. You’ve been warned. I’m not playing.

While you’re talking to me and I’m pretending to listen, in my mind I’m thinking, “Yeah, you’re lying about that.” “That’s an exaggeration.” “Why does everything have to be all about you?” I’m interested in very little that comes out of your mouth and I’m not going to pretend to care. I’m not playing.

It’s rude to look through a person as though she isn’t there. It’s rude to not hold the door, though I’m right behind you, then try your hardest not to be touching the door while I’m touching it. It’s rude to talk over me when I’m saying something as if I never opened my mouth. It’s rude to ask for confirmation of something I said or information I provided, of my boss or other male co-worker, while I’m standing right there. I don’t fucking care if it’s your “culture”, I shouldn’t have to adjust the expectations I have of how I’m treated by the people I work with just because of your heritage. I’m a woman, this is the United States of America, and I will NOT just let it go while you treat me like I’m dirt. YOU can just make allowances for MY beliefs, for once. PC works both ways, motherfucker. I’m not playing.

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    I made a mix for that kinda day. I don’t recommend playing until you’re safely at home, though.

  2. crisitunity says:

    Sooooo, I’ll just leave you alone for the moment…sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays.

    😀

  3. iamheatherjo says:

    Well helllloooooooo Mrs. Crankypants! 😉

    Do I need to call and sing (horribly off-key) to you? Hmm?

  4. *slowly backs away while looking for the nearest weapon*

  5. Calvin says:

    This should be a fun night 🙂

  6. angelcel says:

    ~ Gulp ~

    All jolliness aside 😉 … the co worker who refuses to speak to you because of gender? That wound me up just reading it. Don’t let him get away with it. That’s not just rude and annoying but totally unacceptable in *your* culture.

  7. Jeanette says:

    I too work with one or two people that use “culture” as a excuse for rude behavior. Pisses me right off!!

  8. Kim says:

    This post exemplifies why I spend most of my days alone in my office with my door shut and music up loud enough to drown out the pointless chatter.

  9. Dyskinesia says:

    I love love love love love love love love (love) working at home in a 99% female field for a female employer – and a Texan female at that. I’ll send her over to deal with your culture idiot. She’d love it.

    *HUGE* huge to you, Sister. You’re a saint for not just kicking some ass.

  10. Shelli says:

    You go girl!! *pat on the back* Maybe you should print this out, and post it somewhere prominent at work! LOL

Leave a Reply

