Growth. Progress. Mayhem. Words.

Posted: September 14, 2009 in blogkeeping, blogs, Friends, Journal, Listy goodness, Memory Lane, Pimp, Warm Fuzzy

1iconpenTomorrow is my nine year journalversary. I guess I persist in continuing to call it an on-line journal rather than a blog, in my head. I’m old school that way.

I have written THOUSANDS of entries. That’s “thousand” with a capital T. Between my old domain (which I plan to reactivate some day soon), the old Blogger site, and the two “satellite” blogs I had before I landed on WordPress, not to mention Operation::Goddess and World Famous Nosh, I am a wordy, wordy bitch. And ancient, with respect to the world of on-line journaling. Do you remember those days when folks had an on-line journal that they hand-coded, AND a blog that they just tossed blurbs and pimps up on? For that matter, do you remember using Notify List to send an e-mail to your subscribers every time you posted a new entry? These were the days before feed readers and Twitter, people. I mean, does anyone even use CuteFTP anymore?

I am a veritable dinosaur.

Lots of my fellow on-line journalers are gone, now, and that makes me sad. No more First Person Particular, no more Shelleyness, no more Athena of Lexxicon, no more Footnotes. Elle is gone, and Columbine is gone, and Anna of Don’t Try This At Home. But you know what? I’m looking at my VERY old links page, and there are more people on it that are still around, than have gone away. They may have changed locations and even names, but they’re still rockin’ the internet. Weet is still cracking me up, Dana still has her Bobofett-ness, Jen still has her Fu, Jayne still dispenses wisdom from across the pond, Mo’s still reigning over the campus, Rob’s still darn tootin’, Robyn rules her back forty, Carrie’s still moving earth and building sandcastles, Eliza’s still drawing the girl, Sole Prop’s as lovely as ever, Jessamyn is still incomparable. I’ve read them all for years and years. They’re still out there, and that makes me happy.

John Scalzi’s Whatever remains the constant in my life – which is good, since he’s the one that got me started on on-line journals in the first place. A search of the internet waaaaay back in 1999 for “books on-line” revealed his Agent to the Stars (read it, it’s awesome), from which I found his journal, from which he linked to Shelley (Shelleyness), who linked to Viv (First Person Particular), with whom I became fast friends (and learned her real name, which is why I started with a nom-de-net, too), who got me started on my own on-line journal (and fixed my html. a lot.)

What a long, strange trip it’s been.

So. In celebration of this auspicious day, I’m choosing one entry from each year that my journal has existed, and one photo that summarizes that year (not necessarily related to the entry). A difficult task, I assure you – and the ever-changing site design keeps cracking me up. Some of these are posted on the Best Of page, but many are just simple examples of the day-to-day mindset I was in at the time. I think that within these entries you can see how I’ve grown as a writer, progressed as a person, shared the mayhem of my life, and beat you all senseless, my beloved readers, with all the words, words, words.

I love you guys. Thanks for sticking around.

———-

November 6, 2000 – Comfort Food, Bugs, and Thou.

The very first picture of myself I ever put on the website.  My God, you guys, THE PERM.

The very first picture of myself I ever put on the website. My God, you guys, THE PERM.

April 30, 2001 – Learning the Difference

Calvin and Michael drooling over the new motorcycle.  Wow, we still had the Suburban back then.

Calvin and Michael drooling over the new motorcycle. Wow, we still had the Suburban back then.

February 27, 2002 – Life is lived in moments.

Heather took this picture of me and Calvin at a company Christmas party.  Notice the hair is getting better (thank God).

Heather took this picture of me and Calvin at a company Christmas party. Notice the hair is getting better (thank God).

April 4, 2003 – Laundry

Calvin with infant Robert.  Man, we had a crappy digital camera back then.

Calvin with infant Robert. Man, we had a crappy digital camera back then.

October 18, 2004 – Now With 30% More Tolerance!

Christmas with Heather and Gina.  The pajamas were mandatory.

Christmas with Heather and Gina. The pajamas were mandatory.

January 4, 2005 – A-B-C-D… Yellow

Me and Marie in Whistler, British Columbia, Canada.

Me and Marie in Whistler, British Columbia, Canada.

October 11, 2006 – Typical Conversation

Baby butts in the back yard.  Good grief, I miss those boys.

Baby butts in the back yard. Good grief, I miss those boys.

November 7, 2007 – Yet Another Day in the Life

In Boothbay Harbor, Maine.  Home, in more ways than one.

In Boothbay Harbor, Maine. Home, in more ways than one.

July 24, 2008 – What are YOU doing for the next hour?

Camping at Big Lake.  Writing in my journal.  I just cant quit you, journal.

Camping at Big Lake. Writing in my journal. I just can't quit you, journal.

February 5, 2009 – Lollygagging

Still in love.

Still in love.

Comments
  1. Avitable says:

    Happy early anniversary.

    You should celebrate by coming over to Orlando for the Halloween Party. 🙂

  2. Shelli says:

    Absolutely. Great! Since I’m new to your blogs, it was pretty neat to get a glimpse into your writings for the past 9 years. I’m also fairly new to blogging, myself, and it gives me incentive to keep doing what I’ve been doing. For that, I thank you! 🙂

    I still haven’t decided which blogging site I like the best, or honestly, how to get the full functionality out of each one I’ve tried. I started on MySpace, and continue there still. But I’ve ventured out to Blogger, and now I’m contemplating WordPress. I dunno. Lots to consider, especially with my newfound interest (ok, obsession) with photography. I’m not sure my brain can handle it all, though! LOL

    Oh, and Happy Blogiversary!!

  3. angelcel says:

    I never think about when I started OLJ-ing but every year you remind me because you and I started within a day of one another (my first entry was 14th Sep). Happy anniversary!

    What strikes me about your photos here is that with the exception of a change in hair (perm / no perm), you look just the same. 🙂

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    NINE. YEARS. Wow. What a … hey look, a motorcycle!!

    Huh? What?

    Oh. 😀

    That is just overwhelming to think about. I had an old GeoCities site that I did a proto-blog on – I had a “Me Today” page that I overwrote every day for about a year in 2000-2001 – but it didn’t last, it wasn’t preserved, and I sure as hell didn’t keep it up. I’ve only been doing this gig with some regularity since late ’05 (on Myspace) and fully in the blogosphere in WP in ’07.

    You are clearly a grizzled vet, and we young bucks need to recognize the debt we owe to Those Who Paved The Way. Even if they’re technically younger than us. 😉

    Congratulations, and I hope I’m just as boggled nine years from now when your online journaling is old enough to be drafted!

    • Laura says:

      Guffaw! I knew you’d appreciate the motor.

      Heh, I remember GeoCities, and also how frustrating it was for readers and users alike.

      Soon, my blog will be old enough to drive! :: sniff :: It makes a mother proud.

  5. Hilly says:

    Yay for nine years of blogging!

    I have to tell you that I’ve been writing online for just as long too. I started off on Live Journal though and then it progressed.

    And oh my GOSH, you said “Cute FTP”. Ahhhh, those were the days! 🙂

  6. Kimmothy says:

    So cool! And I’m still ever-so-thankful you decided to have the guest posters a year ago and that I was brave enough to submit one to you!

  7. Megan says:

    Wow. I enjoyed the retrospective. I remember that when I first started reading, you’d already been around a while. Now I see that I’ve been reading for half of your blog-life. (Since 2004) And have enjoyed every entry. Thanks. And congratulations.

  8. David says:

    Happy Anniversary Laura. You ARE a wordy wordy girl indeed. Thanks for the impressive feat and retrospective thereof. With the coming of winter I hope to have more time to lurk about my favorite blogs, like yours.

  9. Jean says:

    How do you not look ONE MINUTE OLDER? Gah!

  10. crisitunity says:

    Lovely post. And I agree with everyone else, you don’t look a day older from year one until now. Happy bloggiversary!

  11. […] – My 100th Entry – First Anniversary – Second Anniversary – Didn’t write a Third Anniversary entry per say, but here’s what was going on then. – Fourth Anniversary – A mention of the Fifth Anniversary. – A brief mention of the Sixth Anniversary. – No mention of the Seventh Anniversary, but here’s other stuff happening in that timeframe. – The Eighth Anniversary, when I made you guys write guest posts so I could be a slacker for a week. – A big, yooge recap for the Ninth Anniversary. […]

Leave a Reply

