Premature Nesting

Posted: September 8, 2009 in Arizona, Food, Home, weekend

1iconpenFor some reason, I can’t seem to get the hang of beans. Well, I can’t get the hang of how my husband likes beans, anyway. I can make MEAN Boston Baked Beans, but they’re too sweet for Calvin’s preference. I recently made this recipe for Cowboy Beans from Stephanie’s blog, and while they turned out excellently, they were more like a chili than Calvin had in mind. I am determined, though, so today I’ve got the ol’ crock pot out again. I soaked a pound of pintos overnight, then rinsed and sorted and dumped ’em in the crock pot with about 3/4 pound of salt pork, cumin, oregano, garlic, a small can of tomato sauce, and some onion (which I’m hoping will cook down and just add to the flavor – Calvin likes a touch of onion flavor but NOT a mouthful of onions – and howinhell am I supposed to make beans without onions, I ask you?). Mixed it up and covered it with water and I figure it’ll be done after 10 hours on low. I’ve got some hearty bread and fixin’s for a salad, and voila! Dinner.

If it sucks there’s always Taco Bell, the traditional fallback that is always such a comfort to me.

Last night I made this recipe for chicken drumsticks (that site is addictive by the way), and the sauce was sweet and spicy and the chicken was moist and I was a happy camper. We have a bunch left over and I just LOVE me some cold chicken drums. Laws, is it time for lunch yet?

Saturday morning was rainy and in the high 70’s (le GASP!), which got me in a baking frame of mind. I made these muffins and just about died from the taste sensation. Easily the best muffins I’ve ever had. Go forth and make them RIGHT NOW – I guarantee you have the ingredients on-hand in your pantry, and you will pass out with happiness.

Later this week I plan on making a potato leek soup, and stuffed peppers. It’s like I’m willing the cool weather to come to us by making all of this autumn-esque food. It doesn’t seem to be working, though:

weather090809

In my humble opinion, when the calendar reads “September” it time for FALL, dammit. But we’ve got another three or four weeks of this nonsense, at least, before we’re consistently in the 90’s during the day. The NINETIES. Cool weather doesn’t really kick in until Halloween, and sometimes even then the kids are sweating under their Luke Skywalker masks.

I have the first week of October off, and I’m really praying that the weather is cool. It should be cool enough for what I have in mind, anyway – throwing the windows open, cleaning the house, cooking up a storm, then wandering around the Valley with my camera (art museum, maybe Mill Avenue, definitely the farmer’s market). I have re-discovered my love for the Public Library (barely a mile from our house – perhaps I’ll start riding my bike there when the weather cools off), so I’ll be sure to spend a happy afternoon there, as well. Hmm… maybe I’ll take a book and a blanket down to the park.

Oh man. The next three and a half weeks had better FLY by.

Comments
  1. Jeanette says:

    Hey, you can have our Michigan weather. It’s already cooling off into the 70’s this week and it’s only September! Damn! Those muffins look awesome and I can almost taste them by the picture!

  2. jadesymb says:

    I need those donut muffin things now…… do you have leftovers? :p

    • Laura says:

      Let’s see… Saturday morning batch, times Saturday afternoon, Sunday morning, Sunday afternoon, Monday morning… nope! No leftovers. I’ll make ’em again and keep some aside for you next time.

  3. Karly says:

    Glad you liked the donut muffins! My mom made them this weekend and she didn’t dunk the tops in butter or sugar. I yelled at her for it, but she said they were still yummy. She doesn’t know what she missed though. 😉

  4. Karly says:

    Aaaand, I was logged in on the wrong account, so if you are confused by my last comment, that was from me. Hate when I do that.

  5. Calvin says:

    They were good but I think they need jelly or a lite chocolate to dip in.

  6. Kimmothy says:

    I agree wholeheartedly with Calvin – the onion taste, not the onion crunch! Though I’ve softened in my middle age (in more ways than one) and now can handle a SMALL crunch every now and again.
    I know. I am a delight.

    • Laura says:

      You ARE a delight. And the beans, they did not turn out so well. WAAAAY too salty (huh, who woulda thunk that they put salt in salt pork? I’m an idiot.)

Leave a Reply

