Life is what happens.

Posted: September 3, 2009 in best things, crack, Friends, Home, Listy goodness, Pimp, TV, work

calvintvThree hours to go. I worked through lunch so I’m leaving at 4:00. Tomorrow will be a bullshit day – always is, the day before a long weekend. Then Monday off, working from home on Tuesday, and a short week after that.

I don’t feel like being at work AT ALL today. For no particular reason other than I’ve cleared my desk of anything urgent (for the moment), I have several entries in mind that I’d like to be writing for UpTake and Beyond Megapixels, and dunnit just suck when you’re stuck at work and feel like you’d be more productive elsewhere?

Calvin has gone up north for an overnighter, so I have the house to myself tonight. That means No Cooking. I’ve already warned Marie, she’s good at fending, and I have leftover meatloaf – WHICH I made with ground bison and ground turkey and it turned out AWESOME – calling my name. To be sure, I’ve been slacking off on the whole cooking thing lately, so who am I to bitch? Yeah, I’m me, which means bitchin’ comes with the territory. You’re welcome. I feel the cooking itch starting up again, though, and with the onset of cooler weather (GEE, 97 and rainy expected for this weekend, BREAK OUT THE EARMUFFS), I’m sure I’ll be puttering away in the kitchen again soon.

I really, really want to call Heather right now, but she’s at work and I’m at work and I tend to drop the F-bomb a lot (for no particular reason) when I get on the phone with friends, which would offend sensitive ears (not Heather’s), so I have to wait until I get home. The Plan is to get into my jammies, yack with her (if she’s available) while I deal with the animals and “night chores”, get my laptop set up on the desk in the bedroom, write for a couple of hours, then call into Taoist Biker’s Radio Show. Which will involve more yacking, after which I shall watch the DVR’ed episodes of Warehouse 13 (camp-o-licious!) that I have awaiting me on the TV in the bedroom.

Speaking of which, the fall season is nearly upon us, thank the good lord. Here’s my lineup for this year, because you’re totally interested. Admit it. Brand new shows are bolded – those are the ones I’m going to try out, and make a final decision on if they make the “cut” after a few episodes.

September 8
Sons of Anarchy (FX), 10:00 PM/ET

September 10
Supernatural (The CW), 9:00 PM/ET (The boys are back in town. See also: SQUEE!)

September 17
Bones (Fox), 8:00 PM/ET (I love this show more with every passing season.)
Fringe (Fox), 9:00 PM/ET (Leonard Nemoy cliffhanger goodness!)
Community (NBC) 9:30 PM/ET

September 21
House [2 hour premiere] (Fox), 8:00 PM/ET
How I Met Your Mother (CBS), 8:00 PM/ET
Two and a Half Men (CBS), 9:00 PM/ET
The Big Bang Theory (CBS), 9:30 PM/ET
Castle (ABC), 10:00 PM/ET (SO happy it got picked up again!)

September 22
The Forgotten (ABC), 10:00 PM/ET (Christian Slater is back! He so got the fuzzy end of the lollipop with the cancellation of My Own Worst Enemy.)

September 23
Mercy (NBC), 8:00 PM/ET (One of at least THREE new medical dramas this year – I suspect this may get cut.)
Criminal Minds (CBS), 9:00 PM/ET
Modern Family (ABC), 9:00 PM/ET

September 24
Flash Forward (ABC), 8:00 PM/ET (AWESOME premise.)
Grey’s Anatomy (ABC), 9:00 PM/ET
CSI (CBS), 9:00 PM/ET

September 25
Medium (CBS), 9:00 PM/ET

September 27
Californication (Showtime), 10:00 PM/ET

September 28
Trauma (NBC), 9:00 PM/ET (Med drama #2!)

October 4
Three Rivers (CBS), 9:00 PM/ET (Med drama #3! I suspect I’ll keep this one, though, because it stars That Really Hot Guy from the mournfully-cancelled Moonlight.)

November 3
V (ABC), 8:00 PM/ET (Very excited about this one)

I’m already watching Defying Gravity (it’s not bad), Merlin wrapped up for the year, Leverage wraps up next week, True Blood wraps up in two weeks, and I think last week was the finale for Penn and Teller’s Bullsh!t for this year. My beloved Three Sheets continues apace. Warehouse 13 has got to be wrapping up soon, too (started off WAY campy, but is improving). Of all the shows that I watched last year that are continuing this year, I’ve only completely given up on Private Practice – it totally jumped the shark at the end of last season, if you ask me. Well, Grey’s did too, but I still love ’em.

Holy crap on a cracker, I’m starting to think it’s a good thing we put a DVR in the bedroom to supplement the one we already had in the living room. I take my television watching very seriously. BUT! There are nine potential cuts listed up there, so it may not be as bad as it looks. Again, those could be nine potential KEEPERS, too, in which case I am royally fucked.

The full list of fall premiers is here, by the way, in case I didn’t list a show you’re on the lookout for.

Comments
  1. suemelbabydoll says:

    Sons of Anarchy will be starting its second season on Tuesday. I recommend seeing the first season ASAP- great show.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    I’m tempted to check out Sons of Anarchy myself for fairly obvious reasons…but so far I’m resisting. I really don’t like spending any more time in front of the tube than I already do. (True Blood ending will help…as will the end of MotoGP season in November.)

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    Shit, completely forgot the whole reason I commented – looking forward to blabbin with ya tonight!

    (And re: your twitter: we use that “who are you and what did you do with my spouse?” bit all the time too! 😀 )

  4. iamheatherjo says:

    I have to check out Sons of Anarchy for Henry Rollins alone.

    If I haven’t heard from you in about 15-20 minutes…I’m calling YOU. 😉

  5. Shelli says:

    Ok, so I may seem a bit stalker-ish, but I really do love reading what you write! You have a sense of humor to match mine, and make me LOL all the time! 😀

    Boy did I ever underestimate my addiction to television! You’re worse than me! ;-D I’m glad I’m not the only one gonna watch Three Rivers because of Super Hot Guy from Moonlight. I used to have the best dreams after watching that show! *shiver*

  6. boundandgags says:

    I’m going to have to get on the Sons of Anarchy bandwagon here. Awesome show.

  7. Kimmothy says:

    What did we ever do before dvr’s???

  8. iamheatherjo says:

    I gotta say…I could never watch that much tv. Jeebus.

Leave a Reply

