THE Pie(tm)

Posted: July 21, 2009 in best things, crack, Food, Friends, photography, Pimp
Tags: , , ,

First off, I think I’m all caught up now on comments responses. Sorry I’ve been so lame about it the past couple of weeks.

———-

It was my birthday yesterday (35, woo frickin’ hoo). We didn’t do anything in particular, by my request. I’ve just lost all desire to be made much of on my birthday. Still, Marie got me some flowers and a card, and Calvin and I cooked together last night (the always awesome steak dinner, with rib-eye and broccoli and grilled portobello caps and baked potatoes). Michael was going to take me to see Harry Potter on Sunday but the plans went awry.

One thing in which I did intend to indulge myself, however, was THE Pie(tm). It was a recipe recommended to me by Taoist Biker and provided to me by Dyskinesia, last year when I was looking for something different to make for dessert for Thanksgiving dinner.

OH. MY. GOD. You guys, this stuff is CRACK. Pretty, sparkly crack with rainbows and kittens.

I don’t know what the rules are regarding sharing this recipe. I know I can’t call it by its given name, or some random Trademark Nazi from Tennessee will rise up and smite me. So it has been dubbed THE Pie(tm), because whenever I mention it to my family, or Dys and TB, we all instantly know what we’re talking about.

Observe, if you will (and I apologize for the quality of some of these shots, food photography is a difficult thing in my dark cave of a kitchen):

Ingredients for THE Pie(tm), and I swear to God the backspash isn't dirty!

Ingredients for THE Pie(tm), and I swear to God the backsplash isn't dirty!

Pillsbury, but you cant tell the difference! I was rather proud of how the fluting came out.  I suck at crust.

Pillsbury, but you can't tell the difference! I was rather proud of how the fluting came out. I suck at crust.

Ingredients mixed and put into the crust.  Good enough to eat by the spoonful!

Ingredients mixed and put into the crust. Good enough to eat by the spoonful!

Getting artsy with my bad self.  We love bokeh!

Getting artsy with my bad self. We love bokeh!

Fresh out of the oven.  You can imagine what the house smelled like.  HEAVEN.

Fresh out of the oven. You can imagine what the house smelled like. HEAVEN.

Mere seconds away from being stuffed into my pie-hole.

Mere seconds away from being stuffed into my pie-hole.

The best pie I have ever had in my entire life. EVER. And a fantastic self-given birthday present, if I do say so myself.

———-

I close with this, a new favorite song that I heard while working out and listening to the radio the other day. Straight Lines by Silverchair.

Comments
  1. dyskinesia says:

    Happy Happy!! 🙂

    Peoples, that little bowl has BOURBON in it! What kind did you use this time? Have you used *my* brand yet? I’m curious to know if you taste a difference with different brands… though not curious enough yet that I will make it with anything but my own brand, ha!

    Not only is it odd to see a picture of something that is your own invention and yet looks exactly as it does when it comes out of your own oven, but dude, I have that same pie dish too. 😀

    • Laura says:

      Actually, that little bowl has whiskey in it. I used Jameson this time, though the first time I made it I used Maker’s Mark. It’s sweeter with the Maker’s Mark, a little more on the semi-sweet/bitter side with the Jameson. Excellent either way. Next time I’m going to try Red Stag (a Jim Beam product), which will give it some black cherry flavoring notes.

      Wait… you INVENTED that recipe? My God, woman, I’m going to start up a religion in your name.

      • dyskinesia says:

        ‘Invented’ in the way of mauling another one 6 ways from Sunday, yeah. 🙂 And cool, I’ve had a cult before but not so much a religion. I could definitely use a Church of Me so I can stop paying taxes.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    BRRAAAAAIIII….err, I mean, PPIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIEEEEEEE!!

  3. Frank says:

    The Pie looks delicious. Also a Happy Belated Birthday!

  4. Lynn G says:

    Is that a Derby Pie??? It looks like all of the ingredients and Derby Pie is most definitely comparable to Crack!

  5. Hilly says:

    Happy Belated Birthday, sweet pea!

  6. Kim from Maine says:

    Happy Birthday Laura! I’m sorry that I missed it. I was thinking of you this morning while pondering the thought that we will both be half way through this decade of our lives. I have a 25 minute commute in which to process these deep thoughts, which usually is never an issue, but this thought seemed to be hitting home and hitting harder than any other birthday realization. Regardless, celebrate, have fun, and make the best of it. I wish I were there to celebrate with you. That pie looks decadent! Glad to see you inherited Gram’s cooking expertise. Miss you lots! Kim

  7. maryanne says:

    that looks good 🙂

    Happy Birthday!

  8. Noturus says:

    That pie looks amazing! But then just about anything you make with karo syrup is good. Happy Birthday!

  9. AmyD says:

    That is one amazing looking pie! Happy Birthday!!!!

  10. […] Bill and I cooked a steak dinner together, and I made THE Pie(tm). […]

  11. […] menu details yet, but I’m going to suggest that I bring Connoisseurs Vegetable Casserole, THE Pie(tm), and this recipe for Pumpkin Cream Pie provided by the lovely and talented Pioneer […]

  12. […] at World Famous Nosh – Irish Cream Brownies, Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie (formerly known as THE Pie(TM)), and Whiskey Brown Sugar Whipped […]

Leave a Reply

