Reclaimed.

Posted: July 17, 2009 in Memory Lane, Music

1iconpenI was listening to my iPod here at work, and a co-worker walked in and asked me what I was listening to. I said, “Fleetwood Mac,” and she replied, “Ugh. My ex was a huge Fleetwood Mac fan. I can’t stand to listen to them, now.”

So that got me to thinking. My ex almost ruined a whole bunch of songs for me. Heck, he almost ruined entire bands and musical genres. But, over the years, I have reclaimed a bunch of them. Here are some, in no particular order and with perhaps a smidge of backstory (click to play each in Blip, the Embedding Nazis are at it again):

Love Song by Tesla. The first song I ever couples-skated to, and it was with my ex, waaaaay back in the beginning when we were first crushing. He was a really bad skater who couldn’t even go backwards, so we had to do that dorky hand-holding thing. Ahh, 1989, I hardly knew ye.

She Talks to Angels by The Black Crowes. We listened to this album over and over and over while sitting up in my ex’s room. He really REALLY can’t sing. Doesn’t stop him from doing it, though.

Thank You by Led Zeppelin. We played this song for “our” dance during our wedding. Oh, what a farce. My family must be forgiven for what they allowed me to do, I was so frickin’ pig-headed.

Hey You by Pink Floyd. Now, I can only take the Floydsters in small doses, but there are several songs I like. This one, Comfortably Numb, a couple of others. My ex identified with the protagonist in this song. Laaaaaaaaaame.

Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen. I never did lose my Queen love, but it was YEARS before I stopped transposing my husband’s off-key voice over Freddy’s in my mind.

In The Mood by Robert Plant. My ex was actually the one that introduced me to Robert Plant’s solo stuff, and I spent a whole summer listening to Now and Zen and Manic Nirvana. Now the songs just make me homesick, reminding me of sitting up in my room at Grandma’s, on my bed, with my headphones on.

Love My Way by the Psychedelic Furs. Me and my ex and a friend of ours spent a day in Boston one weekend, and we picked up a handful of CD’s while we were there. We got the Furs’ World Outside album and listened to it all the way home. This song isn’t on that album, actually, but it’s one of my faves.

Jane Says by Jane’s Addiction. It was the early 90’s. We both had jobs on the closing shift at Burger King, and we’d put this CD in a CD player on top of one of the counters. Same with Nirvana’s first CD. Don’t miss them, particularly.

There’s a bunch more, but this is a sampling. Many of the CD’s got lost in the Great CD Wars of 1997. Now to be found in the bargain bin at Zia Records, I’m sure.

Comments
  1. Dyskinesia says:

    It’s funny, the ex and I had mostly different tastes in music, so there are only a few songs that remind me of him, but many (of course) that remind me of that time. I think I’ve forgiven pretty much all of them. But yes, I think we are FINALLY almost over the, “Do we have this CD/movie? Or did I just USED to have it?” I say almost because I was just damn sure that I had some movie last week, but no, I think dickhead got it.

    And that bastard still owes me $1200 in Magic cards. Just sayin’.

    Tesla’s Love Song really should have been the song we danced to at our wedding honestly (we went the folksier mushy route with Alison Krauss’ When You Say Nothing At All). It was the song that TB first played on the guitar with me laid over his back singing, each of us feeling the other’s music through their body and our own. Good memories. 🙂

    Jane Says will always be special to me in a cool way because it doesn’t have anything to do with anyone else or a time, just mine. 🙂

    • Laura says:

      “…each of us feeling the other’s music through their body and our own…” WOW. Just… wow. I totally get that. How beautiful. Isn’t it incredible to love that much?

  2. boundandgags says:

    I sure understand this, Dys: “Do we have this CD/movie? Or did I just USED to have it?” It’s as if breaking up was an opening to cherry pick my stuff. I worked in music and radio so I was always getting stuff. So didn’t notice a bunch missing until I went to get it. Grrrrrrr.

    The worst one, actually, was done out of spite. As you’d assume, I had a vast collection of audio and visual comedy. The history of recorded comedy was pretty well covered. Thousands of items. Boxes of the stuff. We were moving out around the same time and she walked off with every box of comedy. Man I was pissed. A few months later I got an envelope in the mail. It was a broken album, one of my favorites, with a note that said: Sold the rest. Thanks for the money.

    No ones ever taken a song from me but I hear that all the time. The only thing I can say is I dated someone who would only do it if The Eagles were playing. That didn’t ruin anything for me but I’m embarrassed to tell you what happens every time I see Joe Walsh.

  3. Kimmothy says:

    Wow, I just got a little sniffly-nosed over Dys’s comment – interesting since I’m barely awake & have only had one sip of coffee.
    When my ex and I split it was the most amicable breakup in the world, but we still had to get drunk in order to split up the cd’s without an argument. I’m still pissed off he kept my Carly Simon Greatest Hits. Now when we socialize I threaten to steal it back. I realize I already have all the songs via the computer, but it’s the principle of the matter.
    I love this list; Jane Says means a lot to me; one of those songs that no matter if I own it or what, whenever it comes on I stop and listen.

  4. Kimmothy says:

    Also – I just listened to half the radio show; your voice is so cute!

  5. crisitunity says:

    The entire Cocteau Twins album Heaven or Las Vegas is lost to me, sadly. It’s probably their best album, too. I don’t get irritated when I listen to it, I just get sad. I really hope this goes away eventually.

  6. Taoist Biker says:

    Like Dys, my ex and I had pretty different musical tastes (and generally she was nowhere near the music nut I was) so it was no great loss. So the Righteous Brothers have memories attached…in my world, no big deal.

    B&G – Dude. That all-your-comedy-albums thing? That’s the mark of an evil genius. Scary.

    • boundandgags says:

      Oh, I respected the work. I chuckled while being pissed. She knew it was the only way to get a rise out of me. She was pissed I was laid back about it.

      She told me she wanted to move on on Memorial Day (I remember it because it makes for such a better story) and I said, ‘Cool.’

      She got pissed when I told her, over a month before, during a radio show I was working on, I told the host we were breaking up.

      “I didn’t even know then.” Was her response. Ooops. The next month was a nightmare. She kept trying to pick fights but I wouldn’t bite.

      In the end she got her revenge. Well played, me lady. I’m always looking for stuff but it’ll never get to what it was. I had never aired performances, old albums, stuff from friends who are dead.

      When we drive to and around the Cape my girlfriend and I listen to comedy. But that’ll be coming to an end soon. I’ve only got about 6-8 CD’s before we’ve gone through them all.

    • Laura says:

      The Righteous Brothers always make me think of Ghost.

Leave a Reply

