This space intentionally left blank.

Posted: July 9, 2009 in photography, Pimp, vacation

fireflies!!!BEGIN PIMP ALERT!!!
Taoist Biker is hosting another radio show on Thursday July 16th. Call in! Participate! It’ll make you 73% smarter and 127% better looking!
!!!END PIMP ALERT!!!

I sure do want me one of these. Wish I had the wherewithal to get one before our road trip, but alas, I can’t scrape $400 together in three weeks – mama needs to pay the mortgage. THIS particular lens lust is all Heather’s fault, by the way. She went all virtue-extolling when I complained that the lens I’d brought on my trip was too slow to deal with low-level lighting. On the bright side, I did rent a couple of lenses (a wide-angle and a telephoto) from Pro Photo Rental. Jared, the guy who left me a comment offering his expertise, was supremely helpful and quite awesome. So, if you’re in the market for a rental lens, I recommend these guys!

Let’s see, what else. Three weeks from today we leave for our road trip, and I’ve never been this calm about an approaching vacation before. Usually by this time I’ve worked myself into a swivet of list-making, reservations-checking, map-printing, and budget-balancing. This time, I’m content to sit back and wait for the day to arrive. I’m secure in the knowledge that I have well and truly planned the CRAP outta this vacation. We’re ready. I’m confident. However, I do reserve the right to go into a last-minute swivet, should the need arise.

332 days until my sabbatical. I’m thinking I’ll plan another trip to visit Heather, a trip to Maine (during which we’ll hit Boston AND several destinations in Canada), and, if the Budgeting Gods allow, a return trip to Hawaii. It’s a stretch, I know. A realllllly big stretch. I am HELL BENT to get back home, though, so if I have to choose, that’s the way I’m going. I’ll invite Heather along, and there ya go! Two birds/one rock.

I REALLY wanted to get to Europe, but I don’t think it’s swing-able within the next calendar year. At least, not the way I want to do it (Ireland/Scottland/Wales/England – what’s the point of going all the way to Europe only to stay in one country?). Oh. Then there’s Spain, and Germany, and Italy, and Greece… you know, since I’m in the general vicinity.

Anybody got ten grand they’re not using?

Gah. This has got to be the most boring entry I’ve ever written. I’ve got writer’s block up the wazoo, which is bad when you have certain writing obligations that you need to fulfill.

I’m signing off now. Kisses!

Comments
  1. iheartfilm says:

    I checked out your photostream. Nice sunset shots. 🙂

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Oh hey, here’s ten grand! It’s been in my wallet this whole time. Oh, silly me!

    I wouldn’t say my radio show would make you 73% smarter and 127% better looking. 57%/38%, tops. But maybe the quality of callers will raise those numbers a bit.

  3. I am not wearing any pants.

  4. Kimmothy says:

    Now that I’ve FINALLY gotten my vacation plans finalized (trying to work around other peoples’ schedules is a real bitch), I can join your vacation excitement. It’s been far too long since I’ve gone anywhere and just thinking about a whole week out of this place is making me feel all tingly inside!

Leave a Reply

