Are you sick of this yet?

Posted: June 9, 2009 in bitching, Health/Fitness, movies, Pimp, vacation, weekend, work

1iconstaplerI just killed, oh, about seven trees. One forty-four page presentation, and sixty-one job aid documents, each varying from one to ten pages (and one of them is a whopping twenty-seven pages of information of dubious interest). Now I get to put them into some semblance of order, and make a bunch more copies of the entire package. And THEN I get to three hole punch the lot of ’em, stick ’em in binders, and put tab separators into the sections.

And THEN I get to do some mock-ups in our simulation environment to set the framework for some examples to use while training my group.

And THEN I get to train my group on this shit riveting information in two four-hour sessions scheduled for next week.

And THEN, please GOD, I will be done with these projects that have haunted my very existence for the past year of my life. I’ve been in full fire-fighting mode this week dealing with issues that are common to new global deployment systems. My kingdom for a Quaalude.

And THEN (“No more ‘and then’!”) I might have my life back, and I might be able to update here more than, oh, once a week.

———–

More information of varying interest:

– We rented and watched “Stripes” and “Defiance” over the weekend. Both were good for totally different reasons. “Defiance” was particularly excellent and told a true-life WWII story that I’d never heard of – and more significantly, that CALVIN had never heard of, and he’s, like, an uuuuuuuber WWII history buff.

– I’ve finshed my sister in law’s website, brochure, and business cards, so I think we’re done there. That was a fun little side project that culminated in my SIL (this is Calvin’s next-closest sister, he’s the oldest and the only boy) spending a couple of hours over at our house on Sunday, where we yakked and gabbed and laughed a LOT. Then she treated us to dinner as a “thank you” for the help.

– I was sick most of the day on Saturday, courtesy of those metabolism boosters that I mentioned I was going to try out. I think, even though it says to take one a half-hour BEFORE breakfast, and another one a half-hour before lunch, I really need to take them WITH food. Otherwise I’m wicked nauseous. I see an increase in energy thus far, though not so much on the appetite suppression (except for the aforementioned nausea, and I HOPE that wasn’t their plan for product functionality). I weigh in this Friday, so we shall see.

– I want to rent a wide-angle and a telephoto lens for our Yellowstone trip. Anybody know of any reputable lens rental places?

– I STILL haven’t been able to get to anybody else’s blogs, for reading OR commenting. I’m sorry about that. Rest assured that I know instinctively that you all are writing EPIC entries and I’m TOTALLY missing out. I have hopes of getting caught up some time this week, but if the way today is going is any indication… well, that might not happen.

So. Do you miss me? Discuss.

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    Of COURSE we miss you! 🙂

  2. Jared K. says:

    Hi Laura-

    I’ll let our clients talk about us being reputable (you can read some reviews at Yelp and/or Reseller Ratings), but I’d at least like to say “hi” and let you know I’d be happy to answer any questions for you about renting photo equipment.

    Yellowstone is one of my all-time favorite national parks, and I used to go up there twice a year every year. I haven’t been able to go up there for a few years now, but the nice part about that park is that things tend to stay pretty much the same. Of course, it’s so big, you tend to see something new each time you visit.

    Anyway, please let me know if you want to discuss any specific lens needs. I can “talk shop” all day! 🙂

    Take care,
    Jared

    Pro Photo Rental
    service@prophotorental.com
    (303) 588-6799

  3. Kim says:

    I miss you and I don’t appreciate your job getting in the way of your blogging. Is there somewhere I can submit a written complaint about this?

  4. ellessu says:

    If you want something local, I rent from Tempe Camera (on University, a couple blocks west of Ash). Website is http://www.tempecamera.biz/. I know people also rent from http://www.rentglass.com/, but I haven’t myself.

  5. Frank says:

    Karen is cute! 🙂

  6. Taoist Biker says:

    I solved the mystery of life (and women) in a 11,000 line post. But then I found a typo in the middle and deleted it. Sorry you missed it.

    😉

  7. […] couple of lenses (a wide-angle and a telephoto) from Pro Photo Rental. Jared, the guy who left me a comment offering his expertise, was supremely helpful and quite awesome. So, if you’re in the market […]

Leave a Reply

