A problem that really isn’t.

Posted: May 28, 2009 in best things, vacation, work

beachumbrellaI just got to tell someone I couldn’t meet with them, because I’ll be on vacation at the time they requested. Let the meeting declines begin!

As of tomorrow evening, I’ll have four weeks of work before I’m off for a week (my visit with Heather comes at the back half of that week). Then when I get back I’ll have three and a half weeks of work before I’m off again for ten days – seven of them work days (our Epic Road Trip of Epicness). My manager has informed the group that we can take EITHER the week of Christmas OR the week of New Year’s off, but not both (as was my habit in years prior). So I’ve elected to take the week of New Year’s off, which counts against NEXT year’s vacation days.

So far this year, I have only taken ONE vacation day, and that was back in February. So, somewhere between September and December (not counting Christmas week, mind you) I still need to take eight more days of vacation. Tenure, she is a sweet, sweet thing. After I achieved ten years of employment, I qualified for four weeks (20 working days) of annual vacation. So! Should I do something like, oh, I don’t know… take a week in late September or October, and then the three days of Thanksgiving week before the company holiday on Thursday/Friday?

Decisions, decisions.

Wait until NEXT year, gang. I’ll have my month of regular vacation AND my two months of sabbatical. I won’t know what to do with myself! Well, yes, I have ideas, but lack sufficient funds to spend a month in New England AND a month in Europe AND a couple of weeks in Hawaii to boot.

I would make a really, really good rich person.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    When we moved back here from Florida, my goal was to once again work at the college. One reason was because I’d worked there before & really enjoyed it. But the most important reason was the six paid weeks off a year that includes two weeks at Christmas. I may never get rich working there, but damn if I don’t get a shit load of time off.
    Priorities!

    • Laura says:

      I know. I’d be hard pressed to decide, if they asked me to choose between staying at my present salary but with two weeks vacation, or take a pay cut but keep the sabbaticals.

  2. boundandgags says:

    Wow! I’d be jealous if you really were a rich person (which, by the way, I’m sure you’d be awesome at). Isn’t it a great feeling to say,

    “Oh, I’m sorry, I can’t take your meeting, I’ll be on vacation. But I’ll think of you while I’m drinking a beer and having my feet rubbed. NOT!”

    • Laura says:

      If I really were a rich person, I’d throw regular parties and fly all of my friend in to share in the fun, so you wouldn’t have to be jealous!

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    Like Kim, my office is closed for the week between Christmas and New Year’s. Free vacation! Woo!

  4. Jeanette says:

    Vacation time is a wonderful thing. We plan on driving up the east coast this summer and I will be looking at UpTake to get ideas of places to go and see. This has been a particularly stressful time at my job so I am looking forward to vacation more than ever before!

Leave a Reply

