Narrowing it down

Posted: May 23, 2009 in Friends, vacation

calvinhobbesjiveOkay, Heather. I’m going through all the visitor’s guides you sent home with Calvin and I’m narrowing the “stuff to do” list down. YOU pick it from here, since we’ve only got four days. In no particular order:

Sears Tower Skydeck
Shedd Aquarium
Old Town Chicago
– Cubs game
– Fireworks/4th of July parade/Festival where your friends are playing
– Lake Michigan/Beach

I wanna eat all the fresh produce humanly possible. There’s this picture of a little girl in the Chicago Southland Visitors Guide that’s eating a big ol’ hunk of watermelon, which reminded me that it’ll be the middle of summer in a place that grows GREAT food. Ooh! Corn on the cob! Can we do corn on the cob? How far away is American Countryside Farmers Market from you?

I hear I’m to be subjected to “real” Chicago pizza, too, which sounds DANDY to me. I’m gonna bring some No Doz with me because WE, my friend, are getting NO MORE than four hours of sleep per night in order to squeeze in as much eating, drinking, exploring, and girl talk as possible.

Ruff roo!

Comments
  1. iamheatherjo says:

    I would absolutely LOVE to take you to a Cubs game if we could get tickets that weren’t painful to the pockets. If I remember right, we’ll be playing the Brewers that weekend. I’ll see what I can do.

    The Shedd Aquarium would be great fun. I haven’t been there in years except for work. I’ll look into Old Town Chicago because we could probably do the Sears Tower the same day (we might even be able to do the Sears Tower the day you get in if we feel like it).

    The beach will be great fun and we can also stop at The Depot Dog for lunch. There are so many places for us to see fireworks and two parades that I’d like to take you to. One is a twighlight parade on the 3rd and the other is the little town parade the morning of the 4th.

    Being subjected to Chicago pizza sounds like I’m going to torture you with it! Haha! I might subject you to NW Indiana pizza too! 😉

    The American Countryside Farmers Market looks like it is only held on Wednesdays. My favorite is only held on Sundays and that’s the day you leave. But there’s only about a hundred other ones we can go to (one even belongs to my great Aunt Loretta) and, of course, we can have corn on the cob…and watermelon!

  2. dyskinesia says:

    I was going to say that #1 and #2 there were RE-QUIRED — of course, I haven’t done either one since my senior year of high school, but still… and while jumping up and down (at that point, isn’t it more falling down?) in the elevators at the Sears Tower is some KUH-RAZY fun, it also farked up my hearing for 3 days like you read about.

    I have to admit that I am totally lime with envy! We want MULTITUDES of pictures, girlies. MUL-TI-TUDES!

  3. It has been along time since I was there, but I seem to remember doing the Aquarium and PLanetarium on the same day…maybe there was a walk, but it was incredible…but that was about 15 years ago.

    I also loved the tiny Mom and Pop eating establishments…they were everywhere.

Leave a Reply

