White Noise

Posted: May 15, 2009 in UpTake, weekend

1iconhammerI’m going to take a break from the Internet for a few days. The Hammer falls on Monday – I have to go into work instead of telecommuting – so you’ll know as soon as I do, my doves. This weekend, in order to somewhat deal with this terrible waiting, I’m going to alternate between furiously cleaning the house, hiding under the covers, and getting plastered. There’s some options in there – I could clean while drinking. Or drink while hiding. The variables, they are endless. Well, okay, not endless. There’s, like, nine.

I was never any good at math.

In the meantime, I’ve posted a couple of entries at UpTake for your general amusement and education: Maine’s Fort Popham and Tis the season for Beer Festivals.

See ya on the flip. Laura out.

Comments
  1. crisitunity says:

    Good luck on Monday. Ya lush.

  2. Calvin says:

    Or you could just say fuck it because there is nothing you can do to change what will or won’t happen on Monday.
    And we could always do an 80’s night to get your mind off of things Styx,REO and 38 Special are playing tonight or Joe Rogan is in town…
    Or your right you could come home take a handful of something drink a bottle of stuff and do naked house cleaning but that just scares the shit out of the cats and what did they do to deserve that. 🙂

  3. iamheatherjo says:

    Don’t forget, while you’re plastered, to give me a call! 😉

    I’m thinking about you lots and lots.

  4. Sharon says:

    Hi Laura,
    Try and enjoy your weekend. I agree with Calvin. I always think there is no point worrying about stuff that you have no control over. Some people like to think the worst thinking that will prepare them if it happens but I don’t agree. I don’t think you can prepare yourself for bad news. I think put it to the back of your mind (alcohol is your friend) and think positive and then if the shitty thing does happen well then you deal with it then. Otherwise you are just spending a weekend you’ll never get back worrying about something that ended up not being a problem. You are smart and have a good work ethic and I’m sure Monday you’ll still be employed. If I’m wrong I’ll send you a nice bottle of wine/beer/whatever you like. If you do lose your job (no way not a chance aint gonna happen) things will work out they always do. Anyway just wanted to send some words of support. XOXOXO

    • Laura says:

      Well, it’s Monday and I’m still employed just like you said. I gotta say, though, it was a fucked weekend, and that was the most AWFUL day I’ve ever spent at work. EVER.

  5. Rebecca says:

    Hang in there. We are gearing up to do the same thing where I work here in the Valley. It will be our 5th layoff in 6 months and we are down to 50% of the workforce we started with. This new layoff is due to a one of our Aerospace customers tanking. Lovely.

    And if it isn’t one of us off on the dole it will be an associate or friend that we have come to know and care for over the years. It sucks when anyone is going to lose their livelihood.

    I agree 100% with your Calvin: ‘just say fuck it because there is nothing you can do to change what will or won’t happen on Monday’.

    And to quote a very hated saying that my boss likes to use to death: “It is what it is.”

    Life sucks sometimes, but we are strong and confident (on the outside anyway). You would not have been able to make your life into what it is now with half the strength and determination you obviously have. You can get through this too.

    Not that a beer or three wouldn’t help as well…..

    • Laura says:

      I wish you all the best, Rebecca (also, glad to “hear” from you again!). I hope the layoffs cease altogether and we’re all back to being happy and bored and complaining again.

      I must say, I had a beer or TWELVE. I think it helped, kinda.

  6. Kim says:

    I hope you’re enjoying the weekend; I’m glad Calvin is there to take your mind off of stuff.
    I’ll be thinking about you tomorrow and sending positive vibes your way.

  7. angelcel says:

    See you on the other side, when you will be happily reporting that all is OK with you. Thinking of you my friend …x

    • Laura says:

      Here I am, and I broke on through to the other side. It was one of the longest days of my LIFE. I’m happy, but I’m also kind of numb. It was a rough, rough day.

  8. Dyskinesia says:

    I’m late to the comment party here, but…
    While I’m normally all about “ain’t no use worrying about what you have no control over,” no way I’d apply that to myself when it came to my livelihood, so I’m going to take the other tack here and say first that I totally validate the freaked out way you’re feeling; that is NORMAL (read: nothing to do with GAD) way that anyone would feel honey, so don’t let the GAD thought stress you even more. That said, you should have heard my thoughts in mail from TB – You also just gotta believe there’s something good to come from it either way it goes. You are a fantastic person who deserves only fantastic things, honey. You’re going to get those fantastic things, period. Try to have peace about that.
    We all love you madly. *hug*

    • Laura says:

      Better late than never! Yeah, I pretty much let myself wallow in the anxiety this weekend, but like I commented above, we managed to stave off the worst of the misery by applying copious amounts of alcohol, renting a couple of good movies (“Taken” was really good) and we went to see Star Trek, which I can’t squee enough about.

      Hugs back, you and TB are great folks to have on my side!

  9. Kami-O says:

    Good luck! I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

  10. dyskinesia says:

    I can only imagine that you have a zillion hits today as we all anxiously refresh and watch your Twitter ever so closely. Pretty safe to say we’re in a virtual circle holding hands.

    • Laura says:

      ~grin~ I DID have a bump in my stats today, now that you mention it. I was the same way over at Charming Bitch’s site over the past week. Refresh… nuthin. Refresh… nuthin. Refresh… TWENTY-SEVEN POUNDS OF TUMOR REMOVED HOLY CHRIST.

      I’ve said it a million times, but I’ll say it again. I adore our little circle of friends.

Leave a Reply

