I want to fly away…

Posted: May 14, 2009 in Headspace, UpTake, vacation

firefliesLast night I dreamed that I could fly. I dreamed that I could just lift my palms up to the sky and my feet would float up off the ground. I dreamed that I knew the secret of this ability, and I shared it with my friends and my family. I basked in the joy on their faces – a reflection of what I’m sure they saw in my own expression.

I want to leave it all behind. I want to grab those people nearest and dearest to me and escape. I want to somehow turn off my brain – easier to do when not in the environment that causes it to work overtime in the first place. I have a flight fantasy.

I want to go somewhere that epitomizes peace. I want to sit on a lounge chair overlooking fields and trees and streams, and forget that there’s any such thing as a mortgage, or layoffs, or traffic. Even my beloved friend the Internet would be sacrificed on the altar of this kind of peace. No television, no radios, no phones. Just inner silence deepened by the sounds of breezes through the leaves, and sleepy chirps of birds settling for the evening.

I want to be still among fireflies and crickets and frogs singing in marshy grasses. I want my mind to be quiet for the first time in YEARS. I want to exhale the breath I’ve been holding in a long, long release. My soul is crying out for some nourishment. It’s been steadily depleted for so long that it has forgotten how to be whole.

I long for a lifestyle that supports this kind of peace. But even a handful of days would create a place in my mind to escape to, when the need arises. So that in the middle of my long and stressful days, I can cast my mind back to those treasured moments when there was just me, and the wind, and the earth spinning beneath me.

(This entry has been a submission to UpTake’s “Spa Girl Getaway” contest.)

(Edited to add: Hey! Anybody can enter, so get on over there and give it a shot!)

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Grant me an acoustic guitar and I’m there!

  2. crisitunity says:

    Beautifully written, Laura. Thumbs up.

  3. boundandgags says:

    That was wonderful. I’d vote for you!

  4. LL Cool Joe says:

    What no internet!! You gotta be kidding! 😉

  5. Kim says:

    Weirdly (but not really), I’d just Twittered (tweeted? whatever) earlier that in a parallel universe I was enjoying a nice spa day followed by a lobster dinner. I think I’m in the mindset of escape too.

    • Laura says:

      You and I are attached at the braaaaains. Good thing we live states away from each other, or the population would have to be warned!

Leave a Reply

