Kvetching, then pretty pretty pictures!

Posted: May 4, 2009 in Arizona, bitching, Home, photography, UpTake, weekend
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

bugssteamtailOkay. I’m mostly set up at the desk in the bedroom. I gotta tell ya, life is much better on an HP w2207 monitor.

As previously reported, I was going to clean up Marie’s room and use it as a home office. I went upstairs to her room to assess the situation, and immediately came back down and started clearing up the desk in my bedroom. The whole carpet is going to have to replaced up there, is all I’m sayin’. Eight years of adolescent occupancy did a number on it. And I CAN’T work where my eye sees things that need to be (desperately) cleaned. Eventually, yes, I’ll tackle the two-days-worth of work to be done up there.

But it ain’t gonna be today, my gentle snowflakes.

Preparing the desk in the bedroom for work was a much smaller, easier task. It just required removing some clutter, dusting, fishing out the monitor cable, digging up the keyboard, and getting a power stick to plug my laptop into. I can’t use the keyboard yet because I need an adaptor so it can plug into my laptop’s USB port, so I’ve got my laptop cracked open and my hands wedged in there, while looking over my laptop at the monitor. It’s cumbersome, but temporary and easily remedied.

I have to plug into a power stick run across the far side of the bedroom to the desk, because there’s already two power sticks plugged into the outlet behind the desk, and all of the plugs are occupied. You should SEE the mess of cables back there (and dust, which has got me sneezing my fool head off). We have two CPU’s, random external computer speakers that never did work quite right, a scanner, a printer, the cable modem and the wireless router. Plus the aforementioned monitor, keyboard, and a mouse. OH, and a video camera. I positively ITCH to get back there, dig in, and not emerge until the unnecessary things are removed, the necessary things are neatly organized, and everything is wire-managed. But I have to wait for Calvin to get home. In talking to him on the phone this morning, the mere mention of the possibility of even thinking that I might start unplugging things sent him into a swivet. I mean, it’s not like I’m incapable of figuring out what goes where. But Sir must have Control of the Situation.

Which is fine. I get it. He’s got things going on with this whole workstation area that I’m not privy to. And he IS vastly superior at All Things Electronic. So I’ll let him do it. But it’ll bug me until it IS done. I’ll let the kitchen go to hell in a handbasket, I’ll let the laundry pile up until it rivals K2 (it’s on the bed behind me as we speak), but Heaven save me from a cluttered work area!

———-

Calvin and I went to the Desert Botanical Garden yesterday. We thoroughly enjoyed the Chihuly glass exhibit, and the Butterfly Pavilion. I wrote a post about it on Uptake, but I thought I’d share a few of my favorite pictures of the day with you all, here. Hover over the image for comments. Also, click on the photos for larger versions. Finally, the whole set can be seen here.

 

This one is my desktop image, right now.

Wish I knew the names of these butterflies.  I call this one, Fred.

Not sure if they're getting frisky with each other, or just the flower.

A couple of the Chihuly glass sculptures that were everywhere.

Some of the sculptures were a bit... much.

Red spears framed by saguaro.

For Heather!  A pretty purple... thing.

cactus blooms

I like to take shots looking up.

More looking up.

A boat in the middle of the desert.  I think the artist was going for irony.

More irony, this time with balls!

Just inside the entrance.

Pretty!  Happy!  Yellow!

Flames and barrel cacti.

There were moths as well as butterflies in the pavilion.

Cacti as far as the eye can see.  Why yes, we DO live in a desert.

The bloom of a prickly pear cactus.

If you look at the larger size, this little guy TOTALLY looks like he's eyeballing me.

Getting artsy with my bad self.

(Make your travel plans with UpTake!)

Comments
  1. Dyskinesia says:

    I want to take photos like yours when I grow up. These are gorgeous!

    Now you have me thinking about our trip to the Indy Children’s Museum and the photos I took of the glass sculptures there. I really need to dig those out.

    (and that tag line is my 2nd favorite quote ever, right behind “You keep on using that word…”)

    • Laura says:

      Thank you! I’m really pleased that I seem to finally be getting the hang of the manual settings. Though I did use the automatic macro setting for many of the butterflies. They were flitting around so fast that I’d miss shots while fiddling with the shutter speed.

      I can quote that darned movie frontwards and backwards. “No more rhymes, now, I mean it!” “Anybody want a peanut?” “AAAARGH!”

  2. LL Cool Joe says:

    Wow I love that last photo. Excuse my ignorance but what is it Laura?

    • Laura says:

      Hi Joe, it’s the same sculpture as the fifth picture down, just taken close-up, looking upwards from somewhat underneath it, with the sun behind it to give it that halo effect. I was getting some looks from the other patrons, contorting myself as I was to get some of these shots!

  3. iamheatherjo says:

    Berry, berry purdy!!! I like the flutter-bys the best. 😀

  4. AmyD says:

    Those pictures are STUNNING. How gorgeous! What a cool place to visit.

  5. angelcel says:

    Hey, congrats on Uptake! They don’t need writers on places elsewhere do they? …Like tiny islands off the coast of France??! 😀

    Interested to hear you’re using manual on your camera – and the results are gorgeous. As you say though, sometimes all the fiddling with settings means the flutterby has already gone! I’m still waiting for it all to become second nature.

    I’m with you on Chihuly’s work. Some are lovely. Some are just bizarre and really too ‘in yer face’ for where they are placed. I’m not sure about the yellow spaghetti explosion amongst plants either. The green thingemies in photo 4 work well though.

    Your moth photo is beautiful BTW. I love the ‘eyes’ on his wings.

    Re: workspace. Have faith dear friend, the teenage room *can* be salvaged, and when it is you won’t know yourself. Just think of it – a quiet corner that is yours and yours alone and the walls lined with shelves filled with your favourite books. Now doesn’t that sound good?! Worth donning the biohazard suit for.

    • Laura says:

      Sent ya an e-mail…

      My Canon is wonderful with the indicator panel that kind of pre-warns you if you’re going to have a well developed shot or not. I can’t believe I was as intimidated as I used to be… now it’s really becoming easy.

      I think we saw some of Chihuly’s work in the Phoenix Museum of Art a few years back… or maybe it was the Arizona Science Center? I think it tended to “work” better in a museum setting, myself.

      The moth is now my desktop picture. I keep changing it.

      Oh, I know! I will “salvage” her room some day… it’s just the sheer amount of work that has to be done up there kind of put me off. I don’t even know where to start! But someday, and then I’ll have a room of my own. I’ll probably have to build my own bookshelves, though. Calvin will probably protest. ~grin~

  6. Sharon says:

    The photos are amazing. I wanted to go to the Botanical Garden when I visited my son and his girlfriend in Phoenix, but we never got around to it. Now they’ve moved back to Virginia, so I guess that will never happen.

  7. olivia says:

    Wow … that suesstree is wild. Love the last one against the sun — stunning! Lovely photos and blog you have! (Clicked over from PW’s comments.)

    • Laura says:

      Hi Olivia, welcome! Goodness, you don’t read through all of her comments, do you? I posted that, clicked send, then saw that FIVE NEW PEOPLE had posted comments in the time it took me to do mine. Honestly, I have no idea how she handles all the traffic.

      • olivia says:

        LOL no, don’t read them … sometimes I’ll click through to a few blogs randomly because it’s an interesting tour. You meet some really lovely people and see some great photos, like you … 🙂 I once found a couple of local photo bloggers that way. All the way from PW’s ranch back to my home town … 😀

        I’m not sure how she handles it either … I remember boggling when she was getting hundreds of comments and now it’s in the thousands!

  8. patriciaj says:

    beautiful, a nice break to my day.

Leave a Reply

