One break, coming up!

Posted: April 30, 2009 in best things, bitching, misc, Music, UpTake
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

1iconpenMmmkay, WordPress changed the look of their dashboard again. It’s always jarring when I’m not pre-warned. I’m one of those people whose computer “desktop” is as organized as my physical desk at work. Some folks have icons covering the whole screen – me, I just have a background photo of one of the rose shots I took last weekend, and a neat double-row of icons down the left hand side. Death becomes anyone who messes with my desktop. It’s one of my quaint little quirks.

It is TOO quaint. (Readers: “Uh, yeeeaaaah…” Laura: “Hush, you.”)

It’s been a totally stupid week at work. Busy doesn’t even begin to describe my antics. Last night I was a total bitch to Calvin because I was tired and stressed and my neck was hurting like you read about.

Heh. Which reminds me of a story my sister was telling me. She’s got the worst luck in existence, which translates to “if something bad could happen, it will”. She was house sitting for a neighbor, who is a widower with two small girls. So, she thought she’d do the guy a solid and run a couple of loads of laundry through his washing machine. As soon as she loaded it and turned it on, it started “smoking like you read about”. Which probably explains why there was so much laundry piled up in his girls’ room.

And that’s why I’ve been using “like you read about” as often as I can fit it in. It’s totally a Maine-ism. The world could use more Maine-isms, if you ask me.

ANYWAY. Calvin gave me a neck and shoulder rub last night, I laid on a cold compress for a while, and today it’s better. Not 100%, but better. I need to hook myself up with a craniosacral therapist again.

Which brings me to today, and a culmination of a week full of ass. So I decided to make myself a “Good Mood 2009” mix CD, to cheer me up. Except the CD tray in my laptop just ate a CD. I got the playlist lined up, clicked “burn”, it started, and then the whole iTunes window just closed. Just like that. Now I’m pushing the eject button to get the CD out of the tray and it ain’t opening. Fucker.

STORY. OF. MY. LIFE.

Here’s a few of the songs I was going to burn, anyway. Blip.fm is my friend.

Got You Where I Want You by The Flys. It’s a good song for feeling nostalgic, for some reason.

In This City by Iglu & Hartly. It’s pop! It’s rap! It’s reminiscent of the 80’s! Yet, it’s now! It’s bipolar!

Sheep Go To Heaven, Goats Go To Hell by Cake. Because they do, and they do. And, dude, it’s Cake. It’s one of my niece’s favorite bands, which cracks me up because she’s sixteen and she should “get” Cake until she’s at LEAST in her mid-twenties.

Just a Friend by Biz Markie. This one’s TB’s fault. It cracked me up when I saw him Blip it.

Se7en by Prince. Weird-ass song, lyrics-wise, but AWESOME harmony and back beat and catchy as hell.

Yeah, these are putting me in an INSANELY good mood. Lucky for Calvin, huh? So, thought I’d share. Spread it around. Add to my karmic goodness. That sort of thing.

———-

I’ve got another post up at UpTake, if you’re interested.

Comments
  1. I get into a good mood by making someone else feel worse than I do…it usually works for me.

  2. Kim says:

    I LOVE that song by the Flys SO MUCH!!! It’s on the soundtrack to some lame movie I can’t even remember but was worth seeing just for that. Thanks for reminding me of it; now I can put MYSELF in a good mood too.

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    I was actually listening to Biz Markie the previous day when I was busily (and incredibly anal-retentively) correcting data on my mp3s in iTunes. Seeing that other guy Blip it just reminded me.

    And I immediately recognized your post title! “You’ll get some leg tonight for shore! Tell us how yooo dooooooo!”

  4. farmwife says:

    “Sheep Go To Heaven, Goats Go To Hell by Cake. Because they do, and they do.”

    They do NOT! Sheep are the evil bastard cousins of the much superior goat!

Leave a Reply

