Newsy News.

Posted: April 28, 2009 in Blogthings, goals, Pimp, UpTake, vacation
Tags: , , ,

beachumbrellaHey, gang! Things have been quiet on the Snerkology front for the past few days, eh? Well, I now have News To Share. I am very excited to say that I have joined the ranks of freelance writers! I waited to say anything until the deal was sealed and the contract was signed. Now that it has been, and I’ve officially started work, I can share the deets with you all.

I will be blogging, several times per week, at UpTake. I will be participating on the Vacations Blog as “LauraC”, and I will write about the vacations we’ve taken, the trips we will be taking, local guide articles, my favorite places to visit, etc. etc. etc.

Here’s a blurb from UpTake’s About page:

“UpTake.com is a travel search and discovery site – the first step for travelers to decide where to go, where to stay or what to do. We help users make informed decisions about what best fits their travel preferences. We scoured more than 5,000 sites to collect 775,000 places to go, things to do and places to stay in the U.S. Then we analyzed and organized over 20 million U.S. travelers’ opinions to enable search based on exact travel requirements and preferences.”

I’m very excited about this opportunity. Obviously, as you all know by now, I will not be particularly challenged for subject matter. This gig jives so well with what I like to write about, and photograph, that I’ve got a million ideas just off the top of my head already. It won’t make me rich, but it’s a foot in the door, perhaps, to other professional writing opportunities.

Hah! I can call myself a professional writer, now, and it’ll be the truth!

So, if you’re interested, you can subscribe to my RSS feed over there and follow my posts. I’ll probably post links from here over to my entries after they’re published, as well. Such as this one, my inaugural post (be kind – it sounded stilted to me, who knew I’d be nervous?). I’ve also put an UpTake badge on the left-hand frame of this site, which will take you directly to the Vacations Blog, as well.

So! That’s the news! I’m kind of proud of myself, actually.

(p.s. – I’d like to thank Miss Britt, who pointed me toward the opportunity in the first place, AND gave me a nice recommendation. She’s an absolute peach, she is.)

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    I’ll wipe the envy from my eyes just long enough to congratulate you.

    Woohoo! That rocks! And is richly well deserved, I must say.

  2. crisitunity says:

    Congratulations!

    I labeled myself a “professional” writer the first time I got money for a story. The thing is, although the story was published, I never got the money. Does that mean I was only a professional for the brief period wherein money was promised to me?

    • Laura says:

      Sounds to me like you’re qualified! Why on earth didn’t you ever get paid? That just sucks!

      • crisitunity says:

        In one case, I was supposed to get whatever was left over from my fee after I “paid” for the contributor’s copy. (This is bullshit in and of itself, but whatever.) It was a UK magazine, and they told me that they were having trouble wiring me the money because of the pounds/dollars thing, and said they’d send a check and never did. When I asked, they said they were waiting for the final publication of the issue that my work was in before they could straighten out the fees to the authors. The issue was published, finally, but no word about my fee. Since the story was first accepted almost two years ago, I’ve given up on collecting on it. I was so pleased to see my story in print pages that I hardly cared.

        In the other case, a piece of mine was accepted for a royalty situation, but the publication folded before my piece was published and hence purchased by anyone.

  3. iamheatherjo says:

    Okay, so now I can publicly say “CONGRATS” and “WOOOHOOO!!!!”, right? YAY!!! Best of luck with your new endeavor, sweetness. I’m proud of you too!

    I did the same thing as crisitunity but I was actually just poking fun at myself. I was published and I did receive the money. I joked about being a ‘professional’ model and I still roll my eyes when people call me a photographer and I’ve been paid for those things too. I don’t know why it’s funny to me, but it really is.

  4. Amanda says:

    Congratulations, Laura! That’s awesome!

  5. That is cool…I was hoping for Penthouse Letters, but I guess this will do… 🙂

  6. Kim says:

    Exciting!
    I love reading and talking about going on vacation even when there aren’t any in my near future. Actually ESPECIALLY then. I’m looking forward to reading the new stuff!

  7. boundandgags says:

    Awesome news! Have a blast with it.

  8. Kami-O says:

    Good God Man, that’s Awesome!!! Go Get em’!

  9. Jean says:

    You’ll have an even larger legion (not lesion) of fans in not time, Laura!!! Look forward to it!

  10. Jean says:

    I meant ‘no time’. I are bad.

    You’ll LOVE Jackson Hole!!! Love it, I tell you.

    • Laura says:

      😀 I got it. Calvin and I were just discussing that it’s ironic that we love to ski, but are visiting these GREAT ski resorts (Jackson Hole, and Teluride) in the summer. Ah, well, it’ll be just as purdy.

  11. LL Cool Joe says:

    Great news!! Well done, you must be well chuffed!

Leave a Reply

