Hammer to fall

Posted: April 13, 2009 in Uncategorized

1icondontapproveSo. Those notes we’re all supposed to be taking? There’s only one person on my list, and that’s Michael. He bragged, during Easter dinner last night, about how he broke into our house while we were at work recently, and took some of his dad’s tools. Obviously without asking. This information was volunteered while Calvin and I were talking to Marie about staying at our house and taking care of the animals while we’re gone this summer. Michael said, “Oh, good, I’ll get the code for the garage door opener out of her!” To which I responded, “We’re not giving it to her – she has a key.” To which HE responded, “Well, doesn’t matter, I can get in here any time I want.” And proceeded to tell us how he broke in. He could have called – I’m always at my desk or have my cell, and his dad ALWAYS has his cell. He could have WAITED for one of us to get home – the circumstances were the OPPOSITE of any kind of an emergency that would have made it okay to break into our house without permission. And, most importantly (and one thing he’s never been able to grasp for some reason), HE COULD HAVE ASKED instead of just breaking in and taking shit that doesn’t belong to him.

Words fail. Well, one word doesn’t. Asshole.

Channelling Cartman – “I. Am. So. Pissed. Off. Right. Now.”

———-

Poor Calvin. He departed for Chicago today. He was delayed boarding the plane by an hour and a half, then had to sit for another hour on the runway, because there is/was bad weather in Chicago. He’s there now, finally, but it was a suck way to start his trip. I’m waiting for his call right now – he called me from the terminal when he landed, and will be calling me again when he gets into his hotel room.

I’m betting he’ll have room service – ribs, if his past behavior holds true. I? Shall have either leftover roast and mashed potatoes, or a salad. I’m leaning towards the former – just got done working out and mama needs some protein. And a nice glass of Two Buck Chuck. And “Big Bang Theory”.

I was going to post the YouTube video of the song that inspired the subject matter, but something’s wonky with my system audio and I don’t want to post something without verifying that it sounds decent.

Meh. I’m grumpy.

Comments
  1. AmyD says:

    Are you SERIOUS?!?!?!?!

    OMG.

    Man, I don’t even walk into my dad’s house without KNOCKING!

    Did anyone say anything to him?

  2. Kim says:

    Wow – these kid people are a challenge, aren’t they?
    I hope he feels sufficiently stupid!

  3. crisitunity says:

    It continually astonishes me what certain people define as “no big deal”.

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    Dass’ not good. Hell, at least be retroactively un-assholish and say “Uh, dad, I needed your hammer and so I broke into your house and grabbed it. Sorry, hope that’s okay.” Not “Haw haw, I wanted it and I got it, haw haw!”

    Bound & Gag’s post from yesterday rings a bell.

    • Laura says:

      Exactly. I think it was his delivery, more than the fact itself, that pissed me off the most.

      I haven’t watched the vid B&G posted, but I shall go remedy that forthwith.

  5. Taoist Biker says:

    BTW: Not what you’re referring to, but it reminded me…

    Hammerfall, “Let the Hammer Fall”

    Nice cape! ­čśÇ

  6. angelcel says:

    Ruddy cheek!

    My older daughter still has a door key but from the day she moved out she just started ringing the front door bell when she calls. I think (for most of us) that something just clicks in your head that makes you realise there comes a stage when you simply need to afford your parents exactly the same courtesies you afford everyone else. Hopefully you’ve ‘explained’ his error! (Heh…I’m just hearing my mother’s voice here: ‘Do that again and I’ll give you a smack – big as you are!’

    • Laura says:

      My stepdaughter is very responsible and polite about coming over, too, which is why she still has a house key. Perhaps a smack is just what the doctor ordered, for my stepson. Words don’t seem to be working, for certain.

  7. Maybe it is time for a security system…and I’m sure you’d like to follow that up with a restraining order.

    Get Calvin to go OUT for dinner. That is an incredible town for Mom & Pop places to eat…just roll the dice and try your luck.

    • iamheatherjo says:

      Cindy and I are taking Calvin out on a date tomorrow. ­čÖé

    • Laura says:

      Dude is oblivious to consequences, and always has been. It’s unreal how he’s still supporting stupid behavior, at nearly twenty-six. I know some folks take longer to grow up, but REALLY, this is ridiculous.

      Yes, Calvin is very much looking forward to his hot date out on the town with two smokin’ ladies! He’s got my permission to get as frisky as they’ll let him. I figured that was a pretty safe arrangement. Much to his anticipated chagrin. Heh.

    • Calvin says:

      After all these years I know my place and if Cindy is a friend of Heathers I’m sure she will have me figured out in the first 30 seconds.
      I’m just glad she was able to come up. or is it down or over???

Leave a Reply

