Good things come

Posted: March 25, 2009 in Arizona, best things, Drama, goals, Headspace, Motorcycle, Music, vacation, weekend, work

1iconlaughinlizard1. So, I had phone conversations with my tax guy, and the IRS, this morning. This year’s Federal return will wipe out the balance we owe to the IRS from ’06, with a little left over. This will also terminate the monthly automatic payment we’ve been making (yay). This year’s State return is a good amount, too, and will go toward debt.

2. Yanni tickets went on sale to the general public on Monday, and I secured five tickets for the June concert in Glendale (I got the CD/DVD of “Yanni: Voices” in the mail yesterday and I am LOVING it). Accompanying myself and Calvin will be Marie, Michael, and Michael’s girlfriend. We will get dressed up all fancy and go to a nice restaurant beforehand, and make An Occasion out of the whole thing. I am looking forward to this to a stupid degree.

3. I’m investigating a road trip to Yellowstone for this summer, instead of a trip to Sturgis. My reasoning: Calvin and I will be participating in Arizona Bike Week activities coming up in the next couple of weeks. We’re not SO hard core that we’ll want to do the same thing all over again (albeit in a different state) in a few months. However, I think we’ll still drag the motorcycle up to Yellowstone if we go – I can’t imagine better scenery to ride among.

4. I’m still planning on that long weekend with Heather in July.

5. The Tempe Festival of the Arts is this weekend, an event I always look forward to. My idea of a perfect day is to wake up early with Calvin, perhaps get some nookie in (heh), grab some breakfast somewhere, and spend a day strolling hand-in-hand, people watching and perusing stuff we’d never buy. Plus, Mill Avenue = easy access to beer. Should be a good day for taking pictures, too.

The upshot is, I’m maintaining a positive attitude. The only thing that continues to loom over my head is upcoming layoff announcements that effect my department. They’re making the announcement in May of who, specifically, will be impacted, and we’ve known that it’s coming for a few months. Things have been stressystressystressy around these here parts, to say the least. My boss maintains that he’s “cautiously optimistic” that our group will escape unscathed, but my skepticism remains: “If it MIGHT happen, it’ll WILL happen to ME.”

If I can get past THAT, well, I’m eligible for my second Sabbatical as of October 5th (194 days and FALLing…). I’ll probably wait until next May/June or June/July to take it, but damn. Just knowing it’s THERE and waiting for me goes a long way towards making my life a bit brighter.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    I love having stuff to look forward to.

  2. iamheatherjo says:

    I really liked the Laughlin River Run, but getting a place to stay even remotely close was near impossible the first year we went so we learned the following year to book our room for the following year as soon as we got home. Ha! I didn’t enjoy any of the runs during Phoenix Bike Week the years John and I went. I hope it’s improved since.

    You only put #4 in there so I wouldn’t stomp and pout, didn’t ya? Hee!

    When next month is Calvin coming to see me? I mean, coming to the area for training? I’ll make sure I get up that way to see him and buy him a beer or three.

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    Personally, I think you’re making the right call to make a solo road trip to Yellowstone rather than the Sturgis rally if you’re already doing rally-type stuff this year. Sturgis seems to me to be SUCH a huge deal that if I’d already done something like it I think I’d burn out before the end of it…I’d rather save up and blow my whole rally wad on that at once so I really enjoy it. But maybe that’s me. I’m not exactly the most social animal on earth anyway.

    Nothing like “Layoffs are coming…in a few months. Until then, don’t worry about it! Heh heh heh.” Ugh. In my meeting yesterday morning, they were using a laptop and projector partially to do some show and tell, but partially because they’re so worried about budgetary matters that they were afraid to print agendas and 6-10 pages of handouts for the 8 people around the table. Now that’s scary.

    • Laura says:

      Yeah, we tend to need variety in our vacations, so if we went for the express PURPOSE of the motorcycle rally, we’d find ourselves burned out on it in a couple of days and casting about looking for something to do.

      AcronymCo is on the whole SAVE EVERYTHING FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DON’T SPEND MONEY bandwagon, too. They have a chart in the cafeteria of how many styrofoam cups we’re NOT using. Tracking CUPS, for the love-a’…

      • iamheatherjo says:

        I honestly don’t think you could get bored in a couple days at Sturgis. At Phoenix Bike Week, absolutely. But not at any of the bigger rallys like Sturgis and Daytona with all the bands that come out to play and the events and poker runs. I’m comfortable saying ‘never a dull moment’. Way too much to do and see. Laughlin is a smaller rally but it kept us occupied for a good two days and we still weren’t ready to go back home. Plus…all the boobies and nekkid girl tushies? Calvin would be so happy. 😀

        • Laura says:

          Heather – I think we’re pretty set on the whole Yellowstone thing – we’re gonna make it a 5 or 6 state round trip circle, including UT, ID, WY, CO, and NM. We won’t be bored with THAT, either!

  4. AmyD says:

    Glendale hmm? Wow, you’ll only be a couple of hours from me! Now, in my opinion, this should add some icing to your cake of an evening. And? If it doesn’t you should still pretend that it does just to make me feel better.

    • Laura says:

      😀 I’d love to come visit, except I meant Glendale AZ. You are TOTALLY icing. Chocolate icing, at that.

      • AmyD says:

        *sigh* It should NOT be legal to have multiple cities in different states with the same name. Ridiculous!!!

        Chocolate icing… that is the best kind. Muchas gracias!!

        We should hook up in Vegas sometime, that would be fun.

      • Laura says:

        It would be fun! I’ve never been to Vegas (queue the standard disbelieving echo, “You’ve never been to VEGAS???” that I always get when I confess that).

  5. angelcel says:

    I love having plans and therefore having things to look forward to but also fear committing to anything because then I feel tied down. Go figure that one out!

    I like the sound of the Yellowstone trip – definitely somewhere to take the camera. 🙂

    • Laura says:

      I’ll go you one better… I’ve just about convinced myself that something will happen to the singers/performers so that Yanni will cancel our concert and we won’t get to see them. I know, I KNOW, I’m dumb.

  6. Karen says:

    Hi Laura,
    Before you take the bike up to Yellowstone, know that you will be slowly biking through bison (buffalo) herds on the roadway. We did it last summer and it is a little nerve wracking. The cars that stop and gawk have no appreciation that you are idling along on a very heavy bike and don’t have any protection from an irratated bison. The bison herds that wander across the road (as is their right) don’t have any appreciation for those facts either 🙂 Car trip on the other hand=great stuff to see!

    • Laura says:

      Now THAT is EXCELLENT advice. I don’t think they have bison guards for motorcycles. So since we’re going to tow the motorcycle, we’ll have the option to drive one or the other. On the days that we expect to experience heavy wildlife, we’ll be sure to use the truck!

Leave a Reply

