Goal Tending Redeux

Posted: March 6, 2009 in goals, Headspace, Maine, WTF

1iconhammerHead’s up, Calvin. If you’re reading this, be informed. (Since I’m writing this, I’m informing MYSELF, too.)

I AM TAKING CONTROL OF OUR FINANCES ONCE AND FOR ALL AND THERE’S NO TURNING BACK NOW. I AM A FORCE OF NATURE TO BE RECKONED WITH. I AM BRINGING DOWN THE HAMMER.

Last night’s hour-long perusal of lofts we’d like to own in Maine (like this one, or this one, or this one, or this one, or even this one, which are all just about utter perfection, according to what we’re looking for – a top story full-floor unit with an open floor plan and exposed beams and brickwork RIGHT in the heart of the Old Port and we could WALK TO J’S OYSTERS) made me long for home with a deep, sharp ache in my stomach that hasn’t subsided yet, and here it is the next day. I mean, I could SEE, HEAR, TASTE, FEEL, AND SMELL us living there (give it a minute, you’ll understand). I could absolutely put us there in my imagination – fully furnished, fully conceptualized, fully realized.

This longing made me want to assess the feasibility of moving right NOW (Now? Now. How about now? Now?). Here I am, post-assessment, and I realize that we’re not in the position to move. Our home’s value, which is still (barely) more than we owe, is not enough to give us enough money for a down payment AND to pay off the outstanding (and I DON’T mean “marked by superiority or distinction; excellent; distinguished”) debt we have. Plus, you know, the lack of jobs all lined up and ready to go for us.

As usual, our timing is all wrong. Because when we ARE in the position and we DO have the equity and our debt IS paid off, the housing market will have turned around and we won’t get as good of a deal on a property as we can this very second. The upside is, we’ll make money on the sale of our house, and we’ll probably be able to find good jobs where we want, by that time.

So, anyway. As is my habit, I looked at the problem as a whole, and then broke it down into manageable chunks. And then? OH, AND THEN (“No ‘and then!'” Spot the reference…).

I PLANNED.

The upshot of today’s planning is short and sweet (you’re welcome). I’ve mentioned it before, and I’ve probably even mentioned the solution I have in mind before. Call me a late-mental-bloomer. Call me a procrastinator. Call me all Zen with the knowing of “when the time is right, it’ll come naturally”.

Starting today, and on every Friday hereafter, I am withdrawing $100 in cash from the checking account (muggers take note). That amount of cash will have to see us through any entertainment we’d like to indulge in (the bar, a new CD, the movies, fast food, what have you) until the next Friday.

Beginning the first Friday of April (since I need this month to re-set our spending habits), I will transfer, each week, the substantial amount of money that we’ll be able to save, now that we’re not spending it on bullshit, into our savings account.

Notice I’m not naming any figures. That’s because I’m embarrassed to mention how much money we’ve been wasting every month. Suffice to say, the $100 “mad money”, plus the weekly amount I plan to transfer to savings, together are LESS THAN the amount of money we’ve been pissing away on NOTHING. And still equals a whole heck of a lot, relatively speaking. Maybe not a lot to be saving, but a lot to NOT be spending, if you catch my distinction.

Surely two grown people can find plenty of stuff to do on the weekend on a $100 budget? I mean, what the hell? Have we been COMPLETELY RETARDED all this time?

Don’t answer that. kthxbye.

Comments
  1. iamheatherjo says:

    >>Surely two grown people can find plenty of stuff to do on the weekend on a $100 budget?

    Gee…ya think? 😉

    YOU will be fine. Calvin will get booooooooooooooored and start *poik*poik*poiking* you relentlessly until you scream or find him something fun to do. Hee!

    Okay, all kidding aside…you are resourceful and you will find all sorts of things to do. Sheesh, I just wrote a whole entry on how to live when you have no money. If I can do it, I know that you guys can too. All the confidence in the whole world in ya.

    • Laura says:

      Noooo! Not the dreaded *poik*poik*poik*!!!!

      You? Are the most resourceful person I know. I admire you and use you as an example of what I aspire to, daily. Usually in reference to getting my Girl Power on against Calvin. ~grin~

  2. rai says:

    I told the b/f one night I was in the mood for sci-fi, so he put in Dude, which I had never seen. And I argued, there was NO WAY that could even be remotely sci-fi.

    Heh.

    Also, good on you for getting the finances under control. I need to do that over here…soon as I have a job…

    I don’t want to know how much we’re spending on junk, because I know it’s way too much because I’m not monitoring it like a hawk, like I used to.

    • Laura says:

      You got it!!! We use that all the time. As well as responding to “Dude!” with “Sweet!”, and the reverse, any time anyone says one of those words.

      We use Quicken, which has all these nifty categories and reports, which makes it easy to see how much of an asstard we are about our money! But all the information in the world does no good unless we DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. Hence this entry.

  3. Calvin says:

    Heather nailed that one!
    And just a warning I did just get up from a nap so evil Calvin is here and he is bored and hungry.

  4. Kim says:

    I really think it’s easier to do when you have a goal in mind. Plus, when you start seeing that little bit of money add up, it motivates you to do even MORE to add to it.
    I feel your longing to move home in my very GUT. I’ve been there. (Well, I have been to Maine, but that’s not what I mean) I know you can do this; you seem like a pretty determined little trooper when you want to be!

    • Laura says:

      I’m hoping that when we start seeing fun figures in the savings account, it’ll motivate us to keep going. I think one of the big motivations will come in May when I’m “scheduled” to pay off one of the credit cards. It’ll only happen if we stick to it, though! Thanks for the encouragement!

  5. My wife handles everything here. The savings account grows each month somehow. When we have small portions for dinner, I might ask here if we are doing okay! About once every six month, I might peek at the credit card bill and bank statement…but it is like it is written in a foreign language.

  6. Amanda says:

    Why don’t you get this one?
    http://livingchoices.com/detail.aspx?LID=101-538749897&refer=homegain&sid=11FE29E46038

    It’s $185K and it has a bedroom for Neal and I to stay in when we come to visit! 🙂

    • Laura says:

      It’s on High Street – I know right where that is, in the West End. Man, I would LOVE to have hardwood floors again. And, point taken, we’ll be sure to get at LEAST a two bedroom so you guys can come and stay as often and for as long as you’d like!

  7. Taoist Biker says:

    Man. I should put you in charge of TB’s Next Motorcycle Fund Drive.

Leave a Reply

