I just heaved the biggest sigh of my life.

Posted: March 5, 2009 in bitching, work

1iconstaplerSo, I’ve been working on this project for coming up on a year. It has finally reached deployment stage, and other than attending some “train the trainer” sessions (“other than”, she says, when those sessions represent 66.5 hours spread over the next four weeks), then training my department, the whole thing is finally wrapped up and I’m almost DONE. Done with the spreadsheets, done with the process flow charts, done with the analyses, done with the “feedback gathering”, done with the meeting with contentious people, done with the five-days-a-week conference calls.

Hah. Seems I only thought I was done. I swear, I shouldn’t have checked my e-mail this morning.

The Muckety Muck in Charge (MMiC) sent an e-mail to me this morning, and copied my boss, requesting my participation in the next phase of the project. I’ll be needed for “five to six quarters” (that’s a year and three months to a year and a half) with “increasing bandwidth required as the project progresses” (that’s 25% of my time to begin with, increasing to 80%+ of my time as the project reaches deployment). On the one hand, I guess it’s a good thing that I did a good enough job on Phase 1, and that I’m a valuable enough resource, to be specifically requested for Phase 2. Job security and looks good on my annual review and all that.

On the other hand, FUCK. I thought I was DOOOOOONE. WAAAAAAH.

Comments
  1. In this economy, more-valuable is always better. Good job and doing such a good job….it is nice to be recognized for the time and effort you put into something. When I think like that around here, i just realize that I just work for less money, but produce more…it makes the whole thing “cost effective” to have me working a project. Now isn’t a good time to be asking for a raise…

    • Laura says:

      Yeah, they already told us they weren’t giving out raises (hah, I just typed raisins) with our reviews. To which we all said, “Shrug. At least we’re employed!”

  2. Kim says:

    I told Heather the other day (and then I’m pretty sure I tweeted it) this whole trade-off of labor for money thing is completely over-rated. I’m going to have to re-think the whole thing.
    But it is a good thing for you so I will say congratulations! On more work! Ugh, just typing that made me tired.

    • Laura says:

      Yeah, it’s not so bad, except for that my brain is constantly screaming, “I DON’T WANT TO BE HERE! I DON’T WANT TO DO THIS!”

  3. AmyD says:

    At least that means a lay off isn’t in your future. Right?

    Heh.

    • Laura says:

      Well, we won’t know for SURE whether or not company-wide layoffs are going to impact our specific group until May. But my boss keeps saying he’s, “Cautiously optimistic.”

Leave a Reply

