Outside.

Posted: March 1, 2009 in Arizona, biking, blogkeeping, Health/Fitness, weekend

calvin_bikeWe spent just about the entire weekend outside. The first week of March evidently equates to 80-degree weather around here. Sigh. Time to put away my sweaters ALREADY. Y’all living in FEET of snow right now are probably cursing me soundly, but really, I loathe the thought of the return of hot weather. My seasonal preferences are flipped 180 degrees, living out here. I mean, I completely enjoyed the sunshine and refreshing breezes, don’t get me wrong. I’m just not ready for summer, yet.

Anyway. We got up at a decent hour on Saturday (and yet still managed to not LEAVE until eleven) and rode the motorcycle to downtown Chandler for some brunch at (wait for it) Brunchies. We then met Marie and walked around downtown Chandler looking at all the cars participating in the Classic Car and Hot Rod Show. When we got warm we stopped at Murphy’s Law for refreshment. We perused the cars for a couple of hours, then Marie went her way and we went to have a beer at Jersey’s.

Somehow the day turned into a pub crawl, because after Jersey’s we hit Sandstone (hmm, no website, perhaps I should have a chat with the owner…), wound up a Darkhorse, then went home and took a nap, and spent the rest of the evening watching TV.

Today we woke up to the alarm again, got ourselves together and had lunch on Valle Luna’s patio. We stopped back by the house to grab the bikes, and went to Tempe Town Lake. We biked around the lake, took a route through the ASU campus, and stopped for a quick drink at The Library. Total route was a little over five miles.

tempetownlake

Back home to drop off the bikes, then we grabbed a bite to eat and a beer back at Sandstone. A quick stop at the store for necessities, then home for a nap, some ice cream, and the latest Jesse Stone show.

I’m tired, can you tell? My lack of descripty goodness gives it away. It was a good weekend, even though I not only FELL off the diet wagon this weekend, I burned that fuckin’ wagon to the GROUND.

———-

Administrative question – I activated the ability to reply to individual comments for each entry, which will create a threaded or “nested” comment conversation. Do you guys like it better when I reply directly to the individual comment, or just doing it the way I did before, with an added comment at the end and the name of the person I’m replying to in bold? Your feedback is appreciated. I live to serve.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    I really like the new comment format. For what it’s worth.

  2. I am not sure what the new comment format is…I guess it gives ME the opportunity to reply to someone elses comment on your blog…YIKES!!!! Interesting.

    • Laura says:

      Heh. “Yikes” indeed, though you’re one of my “regulars” so if they don’t know you by now… 😀 It also threads the comment like what you’re seeing now, so I can respond directly to you instead of creating a new comment at the end of the comments.

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    I’m about to add the comment-reply feature on my own blog, but for the time being I’m planning on just continuing to reply myself in bold inside the original comment. But that’s mainly because I like seeing other peoples’ comments in the “most recent comments” and not my own. Just a preference, nothing more – I say experiment a bit do whatcha like.

    • Laura says:

      I hear what you’re saying, about the “most recent comments” thing. I don’t see a way around that, though there might be one. Eh, I’ll leave it like this for a while and probably change it again some day. Typical blogger – can’t stay with one theme or format for long!

  4. AmyD says:

    That sounds like a nice weekend. I actually got two hours of peace and quiet yesterday. I had the couch, television, and entire house to myself while Mike took the kids fishing.

  5. jadesymb says:

    prefer new format :p

  6. […] though I’m sure he’ll vote for the motorcycle) somewhere. Thus far we’ve gone to Tempe Town Lake, and Papago Park. This time I’m thinking Kiwanis for something close-by, or maybe we’ll […]

Leave a Reply

