Waiting for the floor to dry.

Posted: February 16, 2009 in boredom, Calvin, Home, Music, Video

calvinhobbesjiveI’m stranded on the couch, having mopped myself into a corner. Now I need to wait for the floor to dry, else I risk busting my ass as my slippers live up to their name.

Calvin’s in Flagstaff this week. He called me a few minutes ago to let me know he arrived safely. I was upstairs and heard the phone ring downstairs (we have no extension upstairs since the kids moved out). Rather than rush, and in the process fall down the stairs as I just KNOW I would, I proceeded in a calm manner and figured I’d call him right back if he hung up before I could get to the phone. As I got to the bottom of the stairs I heard, “Scotty doesn’t know that Fiona and me do it in my van every Sunday…” Yes, Calvin’s ringtone on my cell is “Scotty Doesn’t Know” by Lustra. I grabbed my phone from the charger in the bedroom and talked to Calvin for a few minutes. He’s in full “Meh” mode, having to be away from home for the week. Poor kid.

Anyway. All that just to let you know that Calvin’s ringtone is “Scotty Doesn’t Know.” Makes me laugh every time I hear it, anyway.

Um. Lyrics probably aren’t safe for work.

Yes, that’s Matt Damon. He’s not really singing, though. Eurotrip is probably the best TOTALLY juvenile movie I’m embarrassed to admit that I love.

Anyway. Man, I’m glad I’m on the other side of all the housework. I get all nesty when Calvin’s away. After he left, I read for an hour, then cleaned the house. It took me two hours to de-trash, de-clutter, clean out the litter boxes, dust, sweep, mop, vacuum, clean the kitchen, and clean the bathroom. This shit certainly goes faster when Calvin and I are both working together. Later I’ll finish folding laundry, go for a bike ride, do some weight training, shower up, and go to Trader Joe’s to stock up on the salads I’ll be eating for meals this week. Me no likey to cookey when Calvin’s not here.

I’m off work today and tomorrow, which gives me a whole lot of alone time that I need to occupy. Books to be read, Season Three of Supernatural to finish up, lots of shows on the DVR. Naps to take, bike rides to go on, perhaps work on cataloging those books like I mentioned a while back.

The quiet of the household is novel for the first couple of days that Calvin’s away. He’s one of those types that needs background noise all the time – the TV going, or music playing, and the loud pedestal fan at night to give him the white noise he needs to get to sleep. Me, I like it quiet, and I’ll often go the whole week without turning the TV on while he’s away. And I sleep without the fan on. Toward the end of the week, though, it starts getting TOO quiet. And by the time Friday rolls around I’ll be kind of going out of my mind with the stillness of it all. Then Calvin will be back and everything will go back to normal.

Well, as normal as it gets around HERE, anyway.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    When Brian worked out of town, I almost NEVER turned the TV on, unless it was for the rare show I watched without him. I love the quiet – I have to hear bullshit noise all day long.
    And good for you eating the salads; I think I’ve said this before but whenever he was gone, I ate cereal almost every night. Enjoy your time off!

  2. Jeanette says:

    All that alone time sounds like heaven to me! My husband works from home and he’s there when I leave in the morning and there when I come home in the evening. Now, don’t get me wrong..I don’t want to be alone all of the time…but once in a while would be nice!

  3. AmyD says:

    Waiting for my new cell phone to be delivered so I can spend all day customizing ringtones that I lost switching phones.

    Mike’s ringtone is Harry Connick Jr.’s “Save the Last Dance for Me”

    Glad you didn’t bust your ass. Nothing worse than a sore ass… well, maybe.

  4. eren says:

    I don’t want to be alone all of the time…but once in a while would be nice!

  5. LL Cool Joe says:

    I have to say I love time to myself too. As everyone else has said, not all the time, but once in a while it’s great! Until I run out of clean clothes. 😉

  6. Laura says:

    Kim – Oooohhh, dude. I should totally buy some Cocoa Krispies and live offa that.

    Jeanette – Well, I grew up in the sticks, so I was alone most of the time there. Then was the 18 months I spent on my own between divorcing my ex and getting together with Calvin. So I kind of got used to having alone time. It’s a luxury, now. I’m glad it’s not a permanant state of being!

    Amy – Heh, I read your entry about that today. You and I are the same in that respect, wanting to play with the gadgetry RIGHT NOW. So, what would my ring tone be? Yours would be “Every Little Thing She Does is Magic” by The Police.

    Eren – Yes, once in a while it is nice! I don’t need much alone time, though, before I start missing Calvin again.

    Joe – Har! Wash yer own, mister!!!

Leave a Reply

