Forgot to mention…

Posted: February 6, 2009 in Family, WTF

I received a time capsule today. It was a letter I wrote to Michael on June 25, 2002, a few days before Calvin and I got married. It was my “wish you could be at the wedding, I promise to be a good step-mother” letter, that he evidently never received. He was stationed at Camp Pendleton at the time, but I guess the address I had for him was incorrect. The envelope has stamps all over it as it got redirected and shipped around, trying to find Michael. In the end, they just hit it with a “return to sender” and I got it back today.

This letter has been floating around in the black hole that is the United States Postal Service for almost SEVEN YEARS. Oh, the stories it could tell us.

It also has Michael’s federal tax return check in it from that year, that I’d enclosed along with my letter. It’s for a whopping $53.00. I wonder if he can still cash it?

Comments
  1. AmyD says:

    That’s pretty cool. How bizarre that it took so long to be stamped return to sender!

  2. crisitunity says:

    That’s goddamn amazing.

  3. Kim says:

    I sure as hell would try to cash it! And people wonder why I was so worried about Heather’s birthday bag. Damn scary.

  4. iamheatherjo says:

    If there’s no “cash within 90 days” mark or something on it, he can still cash it. If there isn’t and he wants to go through the trouble of dealing with the government for $53, they could reissue another one. But that might take another 7 years. ­čśë

  5. Taoist Biker says:

    That’s downright funny right there. The closest we’ve ever come was when Dys’s mother received her Mother’s Day card – which we paid to ship Priority Mail – in October or something.

    So, does looking at it make you think “Damn, I’ve done pretty well at this stepmom gig”? ­čÖé

  6. Laura says:

    Amy – I think it was the devastating combination of the US Postal Service and the US Military that made it go awry for so long.

    Crisitunity – It sure came as a shock to me, that’s for certain.

    Kim – Yeah, he’s gonna try it. Can’t hurt!

    Heather – We looked, there’s no expiration date on the check. So we’ll see!

    TB – Well, I certainly used to write mushy letters, that’s for sure! I personally think I did alright, but I guess you’d have to ask the kids!

Leave a Reply

