xKeeping

Posted: February 3, 2009 in bitching, blogkeeping, goals, Home, Listy goodness

1iconfascinatinggoon1Blogkeeping –

I added a couple of new things to the sidebars. First, my Twitter feed is on the left hand side. Notice that based on the current “tweets” (ye gods, I can’t roll my eyes any harder) over there, I haven’t gotten around to being pithy and snarky yet. I’m still not sure I’m a “twitter-er”. But, it’s there. I might use it now and again.

Second is a “most recent comments” area on the right hand side, so you guys can see where the cool kids are hanging out and what they’re saying. Also handy if you’re waiting for a response from me on a comment – you can see if I’ve done any recent responding without actually tracking down the entry and digging into the comments.

———-

Housekeeping –

I’m no longer in love with my house. Oh, I LOVED it when we first built the addition and remodeled the existing dwelling. Everything was new and shiny and clean and in good repair. Now? The honeymoon is officially over. Things need painting, and repairing, and re-trimming, and leak-fixing, and re-roofing. The front and back yards are in sad, sad, sad condition – and they used to be so pretty! The carpets are T-R-A-S-H-E-D and no amount of cleaning will deny the fact that they need total replacement. I mean, they are eight years old, so that’s a pretty good run, right? How long should a carpet last in a high traffic (high spill) area?

There is a laundry list of projects that are no longer “nice to get done”, but “MUST GET DONE PRONTO”. And Calvin and I have ZERO motivation to do any of it.

GAH. Sometimes I hate being a homeowner – though I really am grateful to have my own home. I just can’t wait to move to a condo in downtown Portland. IT WILL HAPPEN. And then I can kiss my lawnmower goodbye. And perhaps flip it off. Twice.

———-

Bookkeeping –

I mean this in the literal sense. I have books all over the house that need to be corralled and organized and weeded through. What used to fit on the shelves in the spare room closet have now BROKEN those shelves and spilled out into the room beyond. When I get new books I have nowhere to put them, and so I toss them into the growing pile on the spare room floor.

(Calvin’s solution? “Stop buying books.” BWA! BWAHA! BWAAAHAHAHAHAAAAA!)

Calvin will be gone for a week, coming up later in the month, on assignment in Flagstaff (and doesn’t that sound all Mission Impossible?). I do believe I shall fill the alone time in the evenings digging through my mountain of books and FINALLY deciding what I’m going to keep and what I’m going to give away or donate.

Here’s where you’re going to laugh. And Calvin’s going to commit me to a mental institution.

See, I read a lot. A LOT. And I have a lot of favorite authors and a lot of book series that I try to keep up on. It got to the point a long LONG time ago where I would go to the bookstore, pick up a book, and be completely unable to remember if I read it, or if I own it.

You know what’s coming. You know you do.

I’m going to CATALOG MY BOOK COLLECTION. A completely unnecessary task that just continues to support my list-making addiction. I mean, remember how hard Calvin laughed at me when I cataloged our CD’s oh-so-long ago? (Okay, I just re-read that entry – I can’t believe I found it at all – and there’s no mention of just how much ribbing I got for cataloging our CD’s. Believe me. I got some.) He’s going to shit bricks when he reads this.

———-

On that auspicious note, I’m outta here. Lunch is beckoning and I only had yogurt for breakfast. You kids behave until I get back!

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    You know, for thousands of years they’ve had this invention that not only holds all your books, but catalogs them for you, too…you just pick which ones you want, read them, then bring them back…

  2. crisitunity says:

    I used to consider my books a collection, but over the course of the last couple of years I’ve found my eyes straying from the bookshelf to the donation box and back again. Why do I need to drag them all around? I had them, I read them, I enjoyed them. The ones I plan to read over and over again of course I’ll keep, but the ones I’m sure I’ll never read again (which is most of them, I think) should probably go. Less stuff to pack up and move when the time comes again.

  3. Laura says:

    TB – I’m torn between being all snarky and claiming, “I know not this magical place of which you speak,” or just sticking with, “Nyaaaah, shaddap.”

    Crisitunity – I know I’m going to end up getting rid of a ton of books, whereas my younger self would have been HORRIFIED at the thought of giving up ANY book, even the ones I didn’t like or didn’t intend to read. Thus, I have grown. Gimme a cookie.

  4. Calvin says:

    Hey I have an idea! You take care of the roof and I will solve the book problem.
    On a semi serious note if you catalog that giant pile of paperback trash I WILL have you committed.

  5. Laura says:

    Calvin – Gee, what else would you have me do while you’re away? (Whoa, loaded question, dude.) I KNEW you’d take the whole “house is falling apart” thing personally, when YOU knew I didn’t mean it that way. You do a lot around here, you always have, and you’re appreciated. Thus endeth the warm-fuzzy.

  6. Calvin says:

    Sorry missed that one by a mile. I just thought it would be kind of creepy if you did “CATALOG MY BOOK COLLECTION. A completely unnecessary task that just continues to support my list-making addiction. I mean, remember how hard Calvin laughed at me when I cataloged our CD’s.”
    And I like CD’s 🙂

  7. Megan says:

    Bookman’s. It is so much easier to get rid of books when you know you’ll get to pick out MORE! FREE! BOOKS! And whatever they don’t buy they’ll lug away to charity for you. And then you’ve that much less to catalog.

    Or just buy another bookshelf…

  8. angelcel says:

    ….Or line the whole of the spare room walls with book shelves and make your own little library. A brown leather Chesterfield club chair and a silk smoking jacket and you’re away!

  9. Kim says:

    Believe me, it’s much worse when BOTH people in the house are book collectors. We not only have one whole bedroom used for a “library” but also have books in every other room of the house. And the only time I use libraries is when I’m broke and a new book just came out from a favorite author I can’t afford to shell out thirty bucks for yet. Libraries, schmibraries.
    For a year I’ve been using this site called Swaptree. (Swaptree.com) It’s a book trading site that’s really a huge database that allows you to build up a list of books you have for trade and a list of books you want. They do their magic matching you up with trades. You really have to check it out – I could talk all day about it; it’s changed my book buying, reading and hoarding life. Oh, I still hoard, just not quite as much.

  10. Laura says:

    Calvin – Well, less a catalog, and more of just a list of what I have, so I can tell if I need to buy a book or if I already have it! 😀

    Megan – That’s the current plan! Well, whatever Jen doesn’t want to yoink from me, anyway…

    Jayne – That. Sounds. Like. Heaven.

    Kim – Har! No risk there. Have you noticed how anti-book Calvin is? I’m going to check out Swaptree, thanks for the link! Will you be able to see the books I have for trade? Cuz if so you know I’ll send ’em to ya!

  11. iamheatherjo says:

    No mocking the library! I not only get books from there but dvds of shows I want to watch (but not purchase) and cds that I want to check out before I buy them. I looooove the library. It’s one of my happy places. Poor Reader Heaven.

    I miss Bookmans terribly! I wish they had something similar here. I probably went there at least twice a month when I lived there. I made Marii take me when I was there for her wedding. 😀

    I usually tease you about your listy stuff too, but I don’t think it’s a bad idea for your books. I had to list my Stephen King stuff alone just because I’d get to the store and stand there stumped “Do I have this one at home? I know I haven’t read it yet, but did I buy it last time?”

  12. Taoist Biker says:

    Go with the Bugs imitation – always a good bet with me.

  13. David says:

    If a lot of your books have bar coded ISBN numbers then check out READERWARE software if you use it with a cheap scanner you can just capture the code and it goes and fills in all the details by looking on a range of sites like AMAZON, you can even export a version of the final list in IPOD note format and carry it around. There are similar versions for DVD’s and CD’s I have used it for a couple of years and had no problems. (I too have many books and sometimes got fooled by reprints in new covers.)

  14. Laura says:

    Heather – My problem with libraries has always been giving the books BACK…

    TB – ‘swhat I figured.

    David – OH DEAR. Now I have something to covet. I can play librarian!

  15. Kim says:

    I think we can be swaptree “friends” or something and then we can see each other’s lists – that would be cool to trade with someone I know! Or sort of know…well, you know.
    I can’t recommend it enough to book fiends!

  16. Laura says:

    Kim – Okay, I’ll let you know if and when I get set up on it.

  17. Heather says:

    I’m just glad there are quite a few books I was able to give back and thankful I hadn’t spent any money on. I eventually buy a book (or cd/dvd) if I like it enough.

    But it would solve part of the space problem.You’re going to end up giving some of them away from the sound of it anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

