I can’t tell one from another

Posted: January 30, 2009 in Headspace, Home, Music, Video, weekend

Ah, David Byrne. Still weird after all these years. But Talking Heads is, well, mandatory.

I like Shawn Colvin’s version of this song, too (I put it on Peace Pipe). It’s slower, more meloncholy, more suited to my homesickness when I hear the lyrics, “Home is where I want to be. Pick me up and turn me round.”

I’m sitting in my bedroom. Working from home today, but it’s kind of cold this morning so I’d rather be curled up in bed than sitting on the couch out in the living room – my usual perch when I’m working. The cats have finally SHUT THE FUCK UP now that I’ve fed His and Her Majesty. I guess I shouldn’t fuss – I complain just as loudly when I’m hungry, after all.

I’m staring at a pile of laundry that has been stashed in the corner of the bedroom for a few weeks, now. Occasionally picked from, occasionally added to as I wash loads and add them to the pile rather than folding them and putting them away. Laundry continues to be my least favorite chore.

I’ve declared a moritorium on watching the news, reading news websites, or having conversations with people about the current state of things. Hashing and re-hashing the details isn’t going to fix anything. I have a hard enough time managing my anxiety under the best of times, without piling on the worries now. It may be a head-in-the-sand attitude, but it’s what’s holding me together for the moment.

It just feels like we’re all waiting. Just… waiting.

Calvin and I will nest this weekend – clean and organize and get the basics straightened out and out of the way. We’ve been going in different directions this week – he with his job, me with mine, coming back together at home but still kind of off in our own little worlds. I intend to do something about that this weekend. We share a world and its time we reminded one another of that. Disconnects make me unhappy, but reconnecting can be a lot of fun.

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend. I’ll be back to blog at half-time during the Super Bowl, if we decide to watch it at home. Go Cards!!!

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    I agree – Talking Heads IS mandatory.
    God, laundry. We had to replace our washing machine about a month ago and I still haven’t caught up on the vicious cycle(s). The sad part is instead of doing a load of whites this week, I bought Brian new socks, myself new underwear and called it a day. Way to save money.
    I’m SO THANKFUL we don’t live in Tampa this weekend. My friends there are all hunkered down, prepared to watch the Super Bowl at home or close to home and are pretty much waiting for all the madness to be over. It’s sad getting old and grouchy.
    And yes, go Cards; I like Kurt Warner!

  2. I either love a Talking Heads song or think it is horrible…there is no inbetween for me.

    I will be rooting for the Cards, but still grant them their position as underdogs…no jinx from me here!

  3. angelcel says:

    Yes, I’ve just been stung by my recent foray into the big wide world on the internet and right now I’m in pretty much the same place as you as regards the news.

    Oh…and is there some kind of sporting event going on over there this weekend? 😉

    Good luck to your team.

  4. Laura says:

    Kim – Well, I managed to get somewhat caught up, but now I have three fresh loads to fold and put away. This shit NEVER ENDS.

    MTAE – There really IS no middle ground with them, is there? I bought a TH CD this weekend and skipped about 1/3 of the songs.

    Jayne – I know, you poor thing. I read your entry. What an awful thing they chose to write about, and I was very glad for your warning.

    And, uh, yeah. I think there’s some tennis match or something. 😀

Leave a Reply

