Interview With the Blogger

Posted: January 16, 2009 in Friends, Listy goodness, meme, Pimp

1icongirlreadingbookAmy is paying it forward with the volunteer interview movement that has been going around lately. I volunteered, she asked, and now you get to know Even! More! Pithy! And! Interesting! Things! About! Me!

Such as my proclivity to write single capitalized words interspersed with exclamation points.

1. Fellow beer lover, did you ever try the Pyramid Hefeweizen on draft? Did you have it with a lemon or orange wedge? (Personally, I prefer orange) And, what is your current favorite beer? Most disliked beer?

I am actually not a fan of Hefe’s. It’s the sediment, I think. And the fruitiness. I don’t, as a rule, like fruit in my beer (picture Chris Farley’s, “What the FRUIT?!?”). The only exception to that is Corona or Dos Equis, which of course require a lime or lemon for proper consumption. Generally, I’m more of a fan of chocolates and caramels and malts. Though, to contradict that entirely, my favorite type of beer is IPA (love the dryness), and my favorite brand of IPA is Bridgeport. Left Hand Brewing makes a Milk Stout that is running in close competition as my Favorite Beer Evar. It’s almost dessert in a glass.

Thus far I haven’t come across a beer that I’ve been prompted to say I HATE, but Sam Adam’s Triple Bock made me shudder in the manner of my first taste of absinthe. Brr.

It is a personal goal shared between Calvin and myself, to try every single beer in this book. We’ve made a good dent without even trying, I must say.

2. What is your all-time favorite book and why?

Gah. Just one? Really? How about top five?

Susan Cooper’s Dark is Rising sequence (I’m cheating, throwing five books in one). The epitome of my adolescent reading obsession.

Anne McCaffrey’s The Lady. Romance and horses written by an author who actually rides. Her short story Ring of Fear is another favorite, for the same reason. I’ve read my copies of both so often that they literally fell apart.

Douglas Adams’ Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. My first foray into true science fiction, and a favorite since day one. I like the rest of the series too, but the first book is the best.

John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War. Truly the best science fiction book I’ve ever read, period. And I’m not just saying that because I was one of the test readers way back in the day before he was published. It’s seriously an awesome book, and if you haven’t read it yet, you must go forth and do so at your earliest convenience.

Mary Stewart’s The Crystal Cave. This is the book that introduced me to Mary Stewart herself, and Arthurian legend, all at once. Now I’m fascinated by both author (I own all of her books, I believe – she’s old school and I LOVE HER) and Arthur.

Notice. I did not mention JK Rowling, or Laurell K. Hamilton, or Tad Williams, or any of the other dozens and dozens of authors I read, love, and have mentioned here and here. Hard as it is to keep it to five, I did so without hesitation. There’s just some books that stay with you year after year, no matter what other authors and stories come before or after.

3. You have an adorable husband, great looking family and adorable grandkids, not to mention the slew of cool pets, what is your philosophy on life, love and the pursuit of happiness?

Well my goodness, you make me all verklempt. Though I believe Calvin would like to be thought of as “dead sexy” rather than “adorable”. Heh. I happen to think he’s both!

I don’t know that I have one specific philosophy on life, etc. I just try to keep optimistic, keep my head up, keep going. Be kind, be careful, be intelligent. Live life well, try not to hurt other people, and try to be the best wife, mother, and friend that I know how to be. And above all, keep the faith that life tends to work itself out. I’ve shared my favorite saying with you before, Amy, but it always bears repeating:

“Everything will be okay in the end. If it’s not okay, it’s not the end.”

4. What is something “less than grown up” (aka immature) that you do and refuse to give up doing?

Wow! Great question. I think we all have our moments of immaturity – some in good spirit, others just childish and spiteful. I guess one thing I persist in doing is constantly asking my husband, “What’s wrong,” or “Is everything okay,” whenever he gets quiet or pensive. There’s usually nothing at all wrong, yet I’ll persist in asking until Calvin snaps, “There will be something wrong if you keep asking!”

Let’s see, what else? Oh, sometimes I get all “fangirl” with my current TV, movie, or book obsession. Case in point, I’m all a-squee over Supernatural and would happily sit for hours upon hours getting myself caught up on all of the seasons, all at once (I’m on the second disc of season 2, and I only STARTED season 1 a couple of weeks ago). It has actually surpassed Grey’s Anatomy as my #1 Favorite Show Currently Airing. Also, when I first started reading the Twilight series I absolutely ABSORBED them all in a matter of days. And, I read the final book of the Harry Potter series (all, what, 800 pages of it?) IN ONE SITTING. 7:00 p.m. on its Saturday release day, through to 2:00 a.m. Seven hours straight, with pee breaks. And the book accompanied me into the necessary.

So, yeah. That last paragraph is the behavior that bothers Calvin the most, and I can’t say that I blame him. I’m all absorbed and not paying attention to anything else when I’m like that.

5. You have the day to yourself, unlimited resources and full tank of gas, how will you spend your day?

This is actually a good example of what I do with a day to myself. But in the spirit of this question (and if I was by myself), I’d say that I’d wake up early, browse the bookstore for an hour or three, indulge in some lens shopping at the camera gear store, have lunch with Calvin, go spend the afternoon at the museum, hit Old Navy for some new clothes, have a steak dinner at The Keg with Calvin, and then find a new microbrewery to tour and sample, before coming home and getting a little nookie. Again, with Calvin. Yep, that’d be just about my perfect day.

Now, if I had more than one day, and a husband to accompany me, hands down I’d vote for a road trip. Road tripping is my favorite way to spend a day – even if we have to fly to where we’re going first, then take day trips around the area. Calvin and I talk and talk and talk, and always have excellent music in the rotation. We both love exploring places we’ve never been before. I don’t even mind getting lost, because I just love love love to explore. That’s one of the reasons I like Maine so much – every road you take is “off the beaten path” and leads somewhere you’ve never been to or heard of. All these hidden jems of villages and parks and harbors, just waiting to be wandered.

SIGH. Now I’m homesick. Again. Still.

———-

That was fun! Now it’s your turn. Leave me a comment if you want me to interview you, and I’ll respond with a handful of questions you can post to your blog. An excellent cure for writer’s block. Thanks, Amy!

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    My sister read the last HP book in one sitting too – and it was a week after her baby was born. She read the last fifty pages in her closet because it was the middle of the night and she didn’t want to wake her husband or baby because she knew she was going to be crying loudly.
    I’d love for you to interview me! I know you’ll come up with some good questions.

  2. Heather says:

    What do you think, Laura? Would you have fun interviewing me? 😉

    I am still shocked it’s taken you this long to watch Supernatural! Thank goodness Jen made you do it! (Jensen Ackles used to be on Smallville so I had to watch it when it started!)

  3. jadesymb says:

    me. of course. please interview me. :p

  4. AmyD says:

    Oh how I love The Dark Is Rising series. I think I’ve told you that before. I’ve read them all to my kids. And, how I love Great Uncle Merry!

    I still swear to you that you have to at least TRY Pyramid Hefe on draft… with a lemon wedge. It’s cloudy goodness, I swear!! I Promise!!! Just try one pint!!! For me? Pleeeeeeeease????

    I think the worst beer I have ever tried is Sam Adam’s Cranberry Lambic (barf barf barf)

  5. Amanda says:

    Am I too late to ask for you to interview me?

  6. Taoist Biker says:

    I’d do an interview. Hell, I could do it as a part of my next radio show if you’d like, with the understanding that that would probably delay it a bit…

    Speaking of bookly things, have you started Black Sun Rising yet? 😉 (No penalty will be assessed if the answer is “no,” and quite possibly it will spare you lots of babbling emails from me.)

  7. Laura says:

    Kim – Okay, your sister wins. I’ll send you questions this week!

    Heather – I would LOVE to interview you! And I’m almost through S2 of Supernatural (3 eps to go) and have ordered S3 from Amazon (shhh… don’t tell Calvin).

    Jen – Yes, ma’am!

    Amy – Okay, for you, I’ll try it. But I’m not promising I’ll love it! 😀 And that beer just sounds GROSS.

    Amanda – It’s never too late! I’ll send you questions this week.

    TB – Not that you need help with writer’s block… 😀 I’ll send ya questions. And yes, I have started Black Sun Rising and I really like it so far. Babbling e-mails are welcome.

  8. […] Usually Don’t Cooperate With The Press By iamheatherjo Laura was interviewed here and decided to ask folks if they, in turn, wanted to be interviewed by her. The Cheeky Nekkid […]

  9. […] I received my interview questions from Laura, and Dys and I are both working on them.  Hopefully answers from us both will be posted […]

Leave a Reply

