Eventually it sinks in.

Posted: January 7, 2009 in best things, goals, Journal, misc

1iconsnoopydanceI recently – just today, actually – learned something quite valuable.  Apparently, NOT spending money has a positive effect on your checking account. I know! Who knew?

I approached Quicken with a certain amount of trepidation this morning, since I haven’t balanced the checkbook since 12/19. I mean, what was the point? After paying all the bills for the second half of the month, and after paying for Christmas, there was like, $2 left over. So after issuing the “We Are Spending No Money From Now Until Payday” edict (and thank GAWD we’d already stocked up on booze), I refused to think about it again until the next time we got paid.

That happened on 12/31. Due to the magic of automatic deposits and auto bill payments, I didn’t have to look at the accounts again until today. My anxiety spiked, as it always does (regardless of if there is due cause or not), as I opened Quicken and logged into my on-line banking center.

The first positive thing that caught my eye was that we somehow managed to NOT go into our overdraft before our paychecks hit. That was my goal, of course, but it was still a nice feeling to know that we’d succeeded in at least that much.

The second positive thing that I discovered while I was balancing the checkbook was that I’d managed to record all but two transactions in Quicken as they occurred. Usually I don’t keep up on recording stuff and just catch what I missed as I balance the checkbook (a bi-monthly occurrence). I’m trying to be better about that so that, 1) I don’t have as much to do when I balance the checkbook; and 2) I can have an accurate assessment of the account balances throughout the month without having to actually log into the account on-line. So, when I did log in today, I found that I actually had as much money as I thought I had. Those two numbers didn’t always jive, in the past.

Go me!

Finally, I set about to paying the bills and anticipating expenses for the remainder of the month. And discovered the third and most positive thing of all – we’ll have some money left over at the end of this month AFTER all the bills are paid.

Holy crap on a cracker! How’s that for starting the new year off right?

Comments
  1. Crap! You know that’ll burna hole right in the bank vault. You’d better buy SOMETHING! Hell! At least go out to dinner!

  2. kimmothy69 says:

    I always panic when there’s too much money, because I know something has to be wrong. And if something isn’t wrong already I know damn well something is about to be wrong. I always get food and cable out of the way first so that if everything goes to hell, at least the priorities are covered. A bad policy that has gotten both our electricity and water turned off.
    Don’t EVER take financial advice from me.

  3. Calvin says:

    “And discovered the third and most positive thing of all – we’ll have some money left over at the end of this month AFTER all the bills are paid.”
    Are you fucking crazy! You said that out loud and now you know the rules something WILL happen to turn that 180, always has always will.
    Whatever the surplus was multiply that times 2 and that will be the cost of your sin against the money god.

  4. Amanda says:

    “My anxiety spiked, as it always does (regardless of if there is due cause or not)” – I’m glad I’m not alone in that. Particularly if it’s been awhile since I looked at my checking account (and by “awhile”, I mean over a week-and-a-half), I find that I get really nervous.

    Good going on having money left over!

  5. Jeanette says:

    I am extremely anal about my checking account..looking almost every day online and balancing once a month to the exact penny! I don’t use Quicken or any other computer program..and the only automatic thing that comes from my checking account is Netflix. I guess I’m pretty old school that way!

  6. Laura says:

    MTAE – Oh, no worries there. We’ll find SOMETHING to blow it on, I’m sure.

    Kim – Well, seeing as the cable won’t work without electricity, um… yeah. 😀

    Calvin – You are one superstitious mofo, you know that?

    Amanda – Thanks! I’m pretty proud of myself.

    Jeanette – I’m a slave to automation. I’d die without my internet connection and laptop. Well, not DIE, but I’d be seriously put out.

Leave a Reply

