C is for cookie. And Christmas.

Posted: December 27, 2008 in best things, blogs, Holiday, meme, photography, Pimp

Mr. Naked on the Roof guy selected the letter “c” for me, with which to compose a creative list of coveted cravings and celebrations and… well, my ten favorite things that start with the letter “c”.

Alliteration has its limits.

In no particular order, I give you:

1. Cookbooks. I love them. I have a fairly large collection of them. See?

cookbooks

I covet more. Particularly a couple of Barefoot Contessa books. I’ve just recently come to realize how great she is. Sometimes I come late to the party.

2. My Canon camera. We have this one and I LOVE IT. It’s so flexible, and relatively easy to use once you mess around with it for a bit. Now, to get all the lenses I covet.

3. Clouds.

biglake_wickedclouds

I appreciate them more now that I live in the desert. There’s either steel grey skies ready to rain, or bright blue cloudless skies. There’s usually very little in between around here. When I lived back east I used to lay for hours out in the yard, finding shapes in the clouds. I haven’t done that in a long, long time.

4. Steamed Clams.

oregon_astoria10

I only get to eat them when we happen to be on the coast (this pic was taken in Oregon). Throughout my childhood, “steamers” accompanied every lobster dinner we ever had. They’d be soaked in brine and cornmeal so they could eat and plump up before cooking. I’m told my mother used to even eat the raw. Not something I have ever braved, nor do I plan to. There’s always a bit of sandy crunch to them, too – it wouldn’t be the same without a little grit.

5. Cottages. I don’t know if it’s the romantic side of me, or the love of old, unique, non-standard archetecture, or the love of history, or the desire to travel to Europe, or all of the fantasy books and stories I’ve read throughout my life. I’ve just always LOVED the idea of living in a cottage. I mean, look at this. Who wouldn’t want to live somewhere like that?

6. Chocolate Cake. I’m not sure I even need to qualify this one. It’s a no-brainer.

7. Color.

biglake_wildflowers

My favorite color is blue. My living room is painted a deep vibrant red. I’d love to paint the rest of my house in vibrant colors, but I think Calvin might protest. He likes things more subtle. I don’t know, I guess I’m tired of desert colors – most of the time I’m surrounded by a variation of beige, brown, more beige, and more brown.

8. Susan Cooper. She is the author of a series of books that I read and re-read and re-re-read during my adolescence, “The Dark is Rising”. From what I can recall, that series was my first introduction into the fantasy realm. It’s an absolute sin that Hollywood totally disrespected her work and the series with this piece of shit.

9. Cats. Particularly, these two:

Cozy in a Basket

zoeonspeaker

10. Calvin.

freakinghandsome

He’s damned hot. Sexy, even. And charming, when he wants to be. And my best friend. And my favorite person. And did I mention hot?

———-

As requested, a picture of the starfish necklace Calvin got me for Christmas:

starfishcropped

Our Christmas Day lobster dinner was a lot of fun. We had a full house, which is just how we like it for the holidays. Everybody stuck with the tradition of showing up in their pajamas, which was funny because we didn’t remind anyone. Marie and Michael spread the word just fine:

shootingpool2

shootingpool

joy

jammiegrlz

The table, set for dinner:

settable

Calvin, cooking the lobsters (the puppies are in the cage to keep them away from the BOILING WATER OF DOOM):

killthelobsters

Cooked lobsters:

lobsters

You can’t look at this picture without your mouth watering – all of this bacon went into the baked potato soup:

itsbacon

The very busy stove – rice pilaf, melting butter, baked potato soup, and boiling water to top off the lobster pot:

cookingupastorm

Almost everyone showed up before 3:00, and we didn’t have dinner until almost 6:30. Everyone shot pool, played darts, gabbed and gabbed and gabbed, watched some TV, indulged in some Christmas Beverage, munched on appetizers, and kept pretty well occupied observing the whole Lobster Killing Process. We stuffed ourselves nearly sick, then after dinner we all played Rock Band.

My kind of Christmas. We hope you all had YOUR kind of Christmas, too!

Comments
  1. farmwife says:

    Laura, it looks like you had a great day! I’m jealous of you down there in all that Arizona sunshine….sigh. I, on the other hand, will be wading through waist deep snow to get to my turkey pan today 😦

    I have to tell you — my 8 yr old came in and was looking at the photo of you and your starfish necklace — she studied it for a moment and then asked me, “Is that the real-life Little Mermaid?”
    🙂 We’ll have to start calling you Ariel!

  2. Kim says:

    Looks like fun was had by all!
    I have to admit though, I was distracted from the starfish necklace by your boobs.

  3. Laura says:

    Farmwife – Aww, that’s so sweet! Inaccurate, but sweet! 😀 Um, is your turkey pan in the barn? I can’t BELIEVE how much snow you guys get every year.

    Kim – Uh… is that a good thing?

  4. iamheatherjo says:

    I saw your photo on your Flikr bar thing first and I thought ‘Did she really post a flashing picture?!?!?’ Hee! The necklace is very pretty and so are you. I, too, was a bit distracted by the boobs. 😉

    I love Christmas in jammies! I’m glad you had a good one, sweet girl. Sorry I returned your call just as you were sitting down to dinner. John’s family had dinner at, like, 2pm! That’s just way too early for me, but it wasn’t MY dinner.

    Miss you! Ruff roo!

  5. Calvin says:

    Who knew “Hey let me see your necklace” would be so effective.

  6. Jeanette says:

    I think Christmas in your jammies is a excellent idea! What fun cuz we all remember opening presents Christmas morning in our jammies! Looks like a good time was had by all!

  7. crisitunity says:

    The picture of you with the necklace is beautiful. Not just the oft-mentioned boobs but the picture of YOU. You are purty.

    Your Christmas looks like it was a blast! The jammies idea is quite a good one.

  8. AmyD says:

    That necklace is stunning! We hang out in our Christmas pajamas too!!!

    The Dark is Rising series is one of my favorites, I read it to Ethan and Kate when they were little. I love the entire series but am completely confused as to why everyone assumes The Dark is Rising is a stand alone book. 😉

  9. Jayne says:

    I’m ‘snap’ on quite a few of these likes … though I don’t like seafood, which puts me at a disadvantage when eating out …seeing as I live on a tiny island, surrounded by sea!
    Your necklace is very pretty and I have to admit that the photo does have that slightly naughty look about it (or have we all just got dirty minds)!

  10. Laura says:

    Heather – You know better! And I guess we keep missing each other’s phone calls, huh? I love you, even if we can’t get ahold of each other!

    Calvin – Who knew my readers were so obsessed with breasts?

    Jeanette – Hope your Christmas was lovely too! You deserve it, after the year you’ve had!

    Crisitunity – Aww, you make me blush. And if you wear jammies, you just have that much more room for lobster!!!

    Amy – That is weird. I confess I read The Dark is Rising before “Over Sea, Under Stone” because I didn’t realize it was part of the series.

    Jayne – You certainly are at a disadvantage! I’ve come across lots of people who “don’t like seafood” and I have to wonder, why? What about it, in all its varied forms and preparations, don’t you like? And I seem to attract fellow dirty-minded readers to this humble little site. ~grin~

  11. kimmothy69 says:

    Definitely a good thing.
    Even though I’m pure hetero, I do love me a nice rack.

  12. Laura says:

    Kim – Me too! Wimmins are purty.

  13. Taoist Biker says:

    Belatedly saying that I loves me this post!

  14. […] as Thanksgiving turned out to be this year, we’re not expecting a crowd for Christmas dinner. Last year we had nine people for dinner. This year it might just end up being me and Bill. Won’t […]

Leave a Reply

