Riveting.

Posted: December 9, 2008 in Calvin, Holiday, Home, Music

1iconlighthouseThe lighthouse icon has no particular relevance to the topic of this post. I’m just homesick and I like lighthouses. This lightouse, in particular.

Calvin has gone Up North on a job, and will be gone overnight. I’m feeling more anxious than normal usual over this particular short trip, and I have no idea why. It COULD be that he called me a few minutes ago while on the road as he was traversing a stretch of black ice. One would think that one would need the use of both of one’s hands while driving over such trecherous terrain. Not Calvin, apparently.

Chains? He don’t need no stinkin’ chains.

Tonight’s agenda will be Fraught With Excitement. I’m going to fold laundry. And clean the kitchen. And Shred. And watch reruns of House. And eat leftover meatloaf. And go to bed early.

Admit it. You totally want my life.

I’m going to Borders with Jen at lunch today, to pick up a couple of packs of Christmas cards to send to the people who would be insulted if they didn’t get a card from me people I would feel guilty about ignoring people I feel obligated to acknowledge at least once a year people I love. No Christmas Card Politics for me THIS year, no sir! Just friends and family, and my immediate co-workers.

That’s still 26 cards, though not all of them will be mailed. Even MINIMIZING the thrash, twenty-six friends and family members will be receiving our Grinchy heartfelt wishes for holiday tolerance cheer.

Just spreadin’ the love, people. Spreadin’ the love.

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    We quit sending Christmas cards a couple of years ago. I heartily recommend it.

    I can NOT watch “Oh Holy Night.” That SP episode was on the week before my son was born…when Dys and I were violently ill with the flu. I remember laying awake all damned night with that and the dreidel song running through my head over and over and over and over until I begged for the sweet release of death.

  2. Laura says:

    TB – Heh. It’s just the song, not the clip from the episode. In this version it’s just Cartman’s rendition, without all the cattle prodding. Funny how the cattle prodding added a little je ne sais qua.

  3. Kim says:

    I feel bad for TB’s flashback, but that’s my favorite Christmas song. Not only was the real version playing when Brian proposed to me on Christmas Eve 1998, I love Cartman more than anyone in the world. What’s weird though is I’m part Jew and don’t even know the words to the dreidel song. I didn’t even know how to spell it until I saw TB’s comment. Good Jew.
    I’m impressed you’re having meatloaf tonight – whenever my man is out of town, I do the cereal thing. Or Breyer’s mint chocolate chip straight from the container.

  4. Laura says:

    Kim – If it weren’t leftovers, I would be having cereal or take-out. As it is, I have both leftover meatloaf AND leftover chili. Hmm… chili-topped meatloaf? A nom in the making, perhaps?

  5. crisitunity says:

    Aside from the actual friends to send Christmas cards to, I have your life. Three cheers for going to bed early.

    TB, I laughed at your misery. I sorry.

  6. Thinking about Cartman makes me laugh…EVERY SINGLE TIME.

    I have to sneak to watch espisodes when everyone is in bed. I can “do” a dead-on Cartman impression, but there is no one in my daily life that even watches this and understands what I am doing…they look at me like I am insane. Humorless bastards!

  7. Laura says:

    Crisitunity – You have MEEEEEE!!!!! 😀

    MTAE – I expect you to call into TB’s radio show and demonstrate. Please. Respect mah authoritah!

  8. iamheatherjo says:

    I use both hands on the ice…most of the time. Chains on the tires are illegal here. Hey! I need that other hand to keep the window from fogging up when the defroster can’t keep up! 😀

  9. K says:

    R U kidding? I totally want you’re life… I just got home after a 13 hour day,only had coffee for supper, and still have to fold my laundry from last Thursday…:/

  10. crisitunity says:

    Well, heck, Laura, if you want me to be #27 I’ll send you my address.

    MTAE – agreed, you have to call in to TB’s show.

    When I watched BASEketball it was so weird and wrong to see Cartman’s voice coming out of a human being. It seemed like someone else must have been voice-overing Trey Parker. Which is dumb, because his voice comes from Trey Parker.

  11. Calvin says:

    That’s my favorite Christmas song also, the real version.
    And I’m curious how can you be part Jew? Top half or bottom, front or back I had no idea it was so complicated.
    Laura you of all people should know I have had years of practice with “driving” with one hand.
    Being an Az native this may be a dumb question but why are chains illegal? Never had to use them.
    Laundry seems to be problem for a lot people. I guess I’m going to have to clarify our master\slave roles with Laura again 🙂

  12. iamheatherjo says:

    Snow chains tear up the road.

  13. Calvin says:

    That makes sense.
    They must have enough problems with the winters tearing up the roads.

  14. Laura says:

    Heather – Aw, heck, I drive like a little old lady all the time! Ten and two! Ten and two!

    K – Ugh! Sounds awful!

    Crisitunity – I have never EVER watched BASEketball, and I’m rather proud of that fact. I AM a big South Park fan, though.

    Calvin – Well, since you’re the slave and I’m the master, I’ll take your concerns under advisement, and say, “Then get your ass in gear and fold mah laundreh!”

  15. Kim says:

    Calvin – I’m only a Jew when the holidays involve food and/or presents.
    Come to think of it, I’m also Christian for that very same reason. Convenience religion is a lot of fun and I highly recommend it!

  16. Laura says:

    Kim – You’re going to punch me. The only think I could think of when I read your comment to Calvin was, “Funny, she doesn’t look Drewish.” Now, if you spot that reference, I have YET ANOTHER LONG LOST TWIN SISTER to add to my ever-growing list.

  17. crisitunity says:

    “No! I hate you I hate you! But yet…I’m strangely attracted to you!”

    “Of course. Drewish girls are always attracted to money and power, and I have both, and you know it.”

    “Your helmet is soooo big.”

  18. Taoist Biker says:

    “I knew it! I’m surrounded by assholes!”

  19. Laura says:

    Crisitunity and TB – I LOVE YOU GUYS.

    “So the combination is… one, two, three, four, five? That’s the stupidest combination I’ve ever heard in my life!”

  20. Kim says:

    Damn, I got here too late – SPACEBALLS, OF COURSE!!!
    Mel Brooks is a God. Well, Jewish God anyway.

  21. crisitunity says:

    Wouldn’t that make him a G-d?

    And I forgot my favorite quote of all: “Now you see that evil will always triumph. Because good is dumb.”

  22. Laura says:

    Kim – My brother from another mother! Except, you know, sister.

    Crisitunity – That is SO my next tagline.

  23. Kim says:

    Crisitunity – I’ve never done that skipping the “o” thing. Must be the Christian side.
    I have religion identity issues.

Leave a Reply

