Step right up and be a part of the action

Posted: November 29, 2008 in blogs, Inner Geek, Music, pets, Pimp

guitarsOur taste in music has bipolar disorder.

Last night’s Zia Records purchase:

Disturbed – “The Sickness” (2000)
Disturbed – “Indestructible” (2008 )
Faith No More – “The Real Thing” (1989)

and…

Sarah McLachlan – “Closer – The Best Of” (2008 )

———-

Mr. Adam Avitable is holding a holiday giveaway. I. Must. Win. I will even send him naked pictures of my nakedness if that will help my chances any.

Seriously. I’m not even kidding.

(Hah, that’s funny. I honestly wrote that up there before I went back to his site to grab the URL of his entry for the linky goodness, and saw that he’d updated it with the “third way to enter”. And now your question is, “WILL SHE SERIOUSLY DO IT?” To which I respond, “Only myself, Calvin, and Mr. Avitable will ever know.”)

———

Kali’s pretty mad at us right now.

As pets go, you can’t get much lower maintenance than a snake. And as snakes go, you can’t get much more mellow than a ball python. If you can get beyond the whole Discovery Channel aspect of feeding live prey (which is what she prefers – many snakes will take pre-killed), snakes make pretty cool pets. She’s sweet, she’s well used to being handled, and contrary to what a lot of folks may think, she’s not slimy or creepy feeling. Usually she’s pretty warm (we keep the temp up in her vivarium), dry, and smooth. Actually, she makes a good soothing heat source if you drape her over the back of your neck after she’s been hanging around under her heat lamp.

Anyway. Thursday before folks came over, Calvin and I cleaned out Kali’s vivarium (this one, that Calvin built back in ’05 – used to house water dragons but they Went Away) and hung some new silk greenery. Kali spent the part of the time soaking in the tub, then Calvin held her while I cleaned, and I held her while he hung the greenery. THEN when folks came over, we let them hold her for about twenty minutes.

So when she projectile pooped in her tank, seemed to have labored breathing, and had a bit of foaming at her mouth, we thought perhaps it was the stress of being handled over-much, and maybe being over-hydrated. To be on the safe side, though, I called the Arizona Exotic Animal Hospital last night, and made an appointment for this morning.

We put her in a pillow case for transport, and she spent the ride over just balled up and snuggled in my lap. The technician weighed her – she’s about two and a half pounds. She’ll put on another half to three-quarters of a pound before she’s done growing.

Then the vet came in, looked down her throat and claimed that he saw reticial hemorrhaging, a sign of an upper respiratory infection. He took her away to get a culture and a stool sample (she wasn’t obliging on that one – cuz she left it all down the sides of her tank, thankyouverymuch). We were instructed on how to give her (shudder) injections of antibiotics (into the muscle) and pain killers (just under the skin). So every other day for the next month, we get to stick her with needles. Every three days she gets to spend a half-hour soaking in a warm water bath.  The “hot spot” in the vivarium needs to be at about 95 degrees, and the cool area no lower than 83 degrees.

Suffice to say, after being stuffed in a pillow case, driven around, had her mouth forced open a couple of times, her throat scraped, her butt plumbed, two injections (I did one, Calvin did one – Calvin’s better at it, so he’s elected), then stuffed back in the pillow case and driven around again – well, she’s not speaking to us. I put her back in her tank and she immediately went under her log to hide and take a big ol’ nap.

Poor snake.

Poor me! I swear, between one dog that has seizures and a bad back, the other dog that has “reverse sneezes” and hip displacia, a constipated bearded dragon, a rotund bearded dragon, cats that are out to kill us, and a snake that needs shots, I should just open up a clinic of my own and make some damned money with all the mad skillz I’m learning.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    My blog today was an ode to my dog, so I sympathize with any and all pet issues, both good and bad.
    Not only that, Heather’s dog Jasper was my first commenter which pretty much made my whole month.

    Thanks, now I’m singing “Get up, come on get down with the sickness!”

  2. iamheatherjo says:

    Poor sneaky snake. 😦

    When I think about it, I don’t believe I know a person whose musical tastes AREN’T all over the board.

  3. Jen says:

    Hope Kali is okay.

    We need more Kali pics, BTW

    **HUGS**

  4. farmwife says:

    Awww, I used to have a red-tailed Boa when I was a kid, named Lady Macbeth. I loved that snake 🙂

  5. avitable says:

    Good luck with the contest, and don’t forget to give yourself that third entry!

  6. That is a VERY impressive vivarium. Hopefully some yummy rodents and some time can cure all of Kali’s troubles.

  7. Laura says:

    Kim – Awww, I love Jasper!

    Heather – I’ll never forgive you for “Mmm-Bop”. 😛

    Jen – We’ll have plenty of opportunity for pics, since we have to haul her butt out of her cage every other day to give her shots. :: shudder :: HAH! Wanna help?

    Farmwife – Killer (as we call her) should live 20 or 30 years according to the web! She’ll out-live us, for crying out loud.

    Avi – Heh. Still negotiating that with my husband.

    MTAE – Didn’t Calvin do a great job??? He can do ANYTHING, I swear. And poor Kali doesn’t get to eat for a month – no ratty goodness until her med regime is over. She’s gonna be one GRUMPY snake in about ten days.

Leave a Reply

