Aftermath.

Posted: November 28, 2008 in Family, Food, Friends, Holiday, photography, weekend

1iconjamesonSo, the dishwasher went on the fritz yesterday (won’t drain), and allllllllll of the pots and pans and plates and cups and utensils used in the making of the Thanksgiving feast will have to be washed by hand today. What, did you think I was going to do it last night? BWAAHAHAHAHAHAAAA.

It was also discovered this morning that the coffee pot needs to be replaced. It brews about half-way, then turns itself off, which is weird.

So, this means that one more thing around here has to break within the next few days. Last time this happened, we had to replace the refrigerator, washer/dryer, and dishwasher all in the same month. Hell, at least the oven didn’t break yesterday with the turkey in it. Happened to my sister, once.

Speaking of my sister – she’s good, the kids are good, and her husband is recovering from a dirt bike mishap that occurred on Labor Day. Gave himself a wicked case of road rash (no helmet, of course) and had to have surgery on his knee. Then laid up on their couch for six weeks and drove my sister to distraction. Which is why she never returned my calls.

So yesterday? Was, like, WHOA. I got the turkey in right on time, then figured I could take my time getting the other stuff together, since the turkey wasn’t supposed to be done cooking until 4:00. I made turkey stock, peeled and cut up potatoes and carrots, and put out some munchies to graze upon (there is NO breakfast and lunch on Thanksgiving day!). I basted the turkey with stock and Marsala wine every 20 minutes.

At 2:30, with the way the turkey was looking, it seemed to be cooking faster than expected. So I stuck in the thermometer, and lo, it was done. An hour and a half ahead of time. So I scrambled to get the veggie casserole and dressing together and into their dishes and into the oven. Because I was rushing, I forgot that I was halving the dressing recipe and ended up putting the full amount of eggs, broth, and cream into the mixture, which made it too soupy. I realized what I’d done after I got the mixture into the casserole dish, so I crumbled up a few slices of white bread and threw it into the mixture. In the end, it seemed to come out okay.

I tented the turkey with foil for the hour and a half that it had to wait on the counter until all the rest of the stuff (baking the casseroles for an hour, boiling and mashing the potatoes, making the gravy, cooking up the whisky carrots) was done. When we removed the foil, it was still piping hot, and the breast meat I had on my plate was quite moist.

Jen, you’ll get a kick out of this. I FORGOT TO PUT OUT THE CRANBERRY SAUCE.

It just goes to show that no matter HOW MUCH planning you do, monkey wrenches still occur. Still, it was a fun day. Michael and his girlfriend, her brother and HIS girlfriend, arrived to eat dinner with us, and watch some football. Since the Cardinals were getting their asses handed to them, we decided to play some Rock Band. Then Marie and her boyfriend arrived (after going to his mom’s, and her mom’s), Michael and the others departed, and two of Marie’s friends arrived. And we played MORE Rock Band. Marie fixed herself a plate of food, and everybody had some of Dys and TB’s Wonderful Pie of Wonderfulness, and it was a huge hit.

I had a lot of wine. And beer. And whisky. And tequila. Not all at once, but starting at about noon. And yet? No hangover today! Go me!

Everybody cleared out just before midnight. I woke up just before 11:00 this morning. I am doing NOTHING today except eat leftovers and watch TV. Oh, FINE, and wash the mountain of dishes in the kitchen.

———-

I planned on taking a bunch of pictures throughout the cooking process, but during the scramble I had a big ol’ “fuck it” moment, so the only pics I took were these, early on in the day. Oh, and the pie late at night. Because, damn, that was some good pie.

None of these are entirely in focus. Setting up a tripod to take pictures of fruit and herbs just seemed a trifle excessive.

herbs

bowlofruit

stuff

pie

Okay! I’m gonna go back to doing a whole lot of nuthin!

Comments
  1. 1. The food sucked up all the alcohol…good plan.

    2. At least the Cards (they have to figure out how to play away from Arizona) didn’t play as badly as the Lions.

    3. Nice pictures, but who puts onions, pears and apples in the same bowl?

  2. Kim says:

    I feel your appliance woes. Our washing machine bit it today. With a full load of jeans in it – they got just wet enough to SUCK ASS.
    Glad I wanted to spend money on this right before Christmas. Jeez.

  3. Megan says:

    I think we were living in a wierd Thanksgiving parallel universe. We had a clog just beyond the dishwasher, forgot the cranberry sauce, and had guests who cleared out just before midnight. I’d love to be let in on the cranberry sauce personal joke.

    BTW, I fixed the plumbing with my foot in the sink and half an hour using a sippy cup as a plunger. I was pretty impressed with myself for avoiding a Thanksgiving Plumber Bill and went fishing for compliments from my husband but he said “Honey, I just can’t get excited about that, but if you call your brother, he might be more supportive.” (My brother is an Industrial Arts (a.k.a. Shop) teacher.)

  4. Laura says:

    Jen – I’m an idiot, huh? 😀

    MTAE – 1. I did that on purpose. 2. Still, they piss me off. They got us all excited that they were FINALLY improving, and then the went back to their old damn habits. 3. I stuff the turkey with pears, apples, onions, parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme. I just stuck the fruit and onion in a bowl to transport from the fridge to the cutting area.

    Kim – Gah, that SUCKS. Ours shit the bed when it had a load of blankets in it.

    Megan – That’s so weird! Luckily, we have a wet-dry vac so I could suck the water out of the bottom of the dishwasher.

  5. […] is now closed.Step right up and be a part of the actionI got married to the widow next door…Aftermath.Best OfPhotographyWandering around on Friday nightIt started over coffee, we started out as […]

  6. […] I’m too lazy to make my own and I’m the only one who eats it, anyway. And THIS YEAR, DAMMIT, I’ll remember to put it out on the […]

Leave a Reply

