Bringing wine and crackers for ALL THE CHEESE.

Posted: November 21, 2008 in Food, Friends, movies, weekend

twilightI am going to see Twilight tonight with Jen and a group of her friends. It’s going to be a big ol’ adolescent girl squee-fest, so I’m attempting to get in touch with my inner thirteen-year-old. The trailers and clips I’ve seen thus far pretty much ensure that this is going to be the CHEESIEST MOVIE SINCE THE INVENTION OF CHEESE. I was going to bring the flask along and play the Twilight drinking game, but I figured I’d be fucked up approximately ten minutes into the movie, and I’m sure Jen doesn’t want to hold my hair for me at any point tonight.

I liked the books, don’t get me wrong. It’s just that, well, this movie is probably going to be so bad that I’m going into it with very low expectations indeed, hoping to be pleasantly surprised. Either way, Jen and I will have fun MST3K-ing the hell outta this thing.

———-

I have gone over AND over AND over my shopping list, to-do list, and cooking schedule for Thanksgiving, trying to figure out what I can do ahead/cook ahead/otherwise accomplish before Thursday, in order to make the actual DAY as hassle-free as I can. I think I’ve got it down to just having to bake the turkey (natch), assemble and bake the dressing and Connoisseur’s Casserole, make the Whisky Glazed Carrots, and make the gravy. Everything else can be made the day before, even the mashed potatoes, which can be re-heated prior to serving (according to PW’s recipe). I haven’t made the final decision on whether I’m going to do those the day before or not.

My issue is that my oven isn’t big enough! The turkey will take up the whole thing, and I’ll have to remove it and let it rest under foil for 50 minutes while the dressing and veggie casserole bake. Unless I can figure out how to stuff everything into the oven together for the last hour, we’re gonna have cold turkey. Which is useful to no-one unless you’re trying to quit smoking.

Maybe next year I’ll try deep frying the turkey, like my neighbor is doing. I have friends that swear by it. That’ll free up the oven for whatever I need it for. THAT’s next year, though. I’m not even thinking as far ahead as Christmas, so the bridge crossing will be delegated to the future.

———-

I skipped breakfast, and now I’m hungry.

Comments
  1. crisitunity says:

    I will tell you now, before next year’s bridge-crossing, to watch Alton Brown’s Good Eats regarding deep-frying your turkey. He gives good advice, along with a terrifying demonstration of what happens if you f*ck up the deep-frying. Watch it such that you will survive next year’s Thanksgiving.

  2. crisitunity says:

    I will tell you now, before next year’s bridge-crossing, to watch Alton Brown’s Good Eats regarding deep-frying your turkey. He gives good advice, along with a terrifying demonstration of what happens if you f*ck up the deep-frying. Watch it such that you will survive next year’s Thanksgiving.

  3. Kim says:

    I don’t know – we saw an extended preview of Twilight while at the movies a few weeks ago and it looked cool enough so that I think I have the man talked into going. But then again I made him come with me for all the Harry Potters too, so that’s not saying too much. Hi, I’m 39 years old.
    I’m feelin’ ya on the oven dilemma. I went through that last year and even though I cooked most of the stuff the night before, it was still a panic scene in my kitchen for the last 30 minutes or so. Picture me, the man and our dog all in a tiny kitchen trying to manage and not stab each other (by accident of course). I will say he swooped in at the last minute and saved the day with the gravy. But I have no idea how we did it.
    Fried turkey is heaven. Period.

  4. Maria says:

    I’ve done mashed potatoes the day before for a couple of years, they turn out great. Make sure to put a few pats of butter on top and cover with foil.

  5. The number one cause of serious injuries on Thanksgiving come from Deep Frying turkeys…please set up a video camera.

  6. Taoist Biker says:

    That drinking game looks hysterical. Several of the student workers (all female, natch) were gushing over the movie this afternoon – clearly they all went to see it in a group last night.

    I think True Blood is as cheesy as I can take!

  7. LL Cool Joe says:

    Now that line scared me ” It’s going to be a big ol’ adolescent girl squee-fest, so I’m attempting to get in touch with my inner thirteen-year-old. ”

    Sounds like one of my 14 year old daughter’s sleepovers, where I hide in the room with my computer and a bottle of beer! What is it with the giggling, screaming and doing each others hair????

  8. dyskinesia says:

    Must.have.recipes for carrots and casserole.

    My mother has the oven problem too, so she actually does this in reverse. She bakes the turkey the day before, and yes, I’m serious. She then cuts it up, picks it all apart, bags what she wants to make a turkey chowder thing that is mind-blowingly good, and then pours some of the juice into the bags and saves some separately for making the gravy on The Day. On day of, she dumps it back in the roaster with the liquid at 200-something for just long enough to get it warm and with the juices melting back over it – turns out fab. She also makes the mashed potatoes and maybe a pie, and everyone who comes to the house in charge of BRINGING everything else! Pretty decent system. 🙂

  9. iamheatherjo says:

    I never knew why I would need the two ovens I have in this house…until I did my first Thanksgiving here. Now I looooove them. It makes me very, very happy. So you should, like, come HERE instead. 😀

  10. Sharon says:

    I have the too-small oven dilemma too. This year I’m doing two dishes in crockpots: dressing and sweet potatoes. I like the idea of cooking the turkey the day before. I might try that too!

  11. AmyD says:

    Kate (age 13) saw the movie last night. She loved the books and was pretty disappointed in the movie. She was also fairly disgusted when the entire theater erupted because James Pattinson (sp.???) came on screen. LOL

  12. jen says:

    where’s the Twi-reactions?

  13. Laura says:

    Crisitunity – Yeah, I’ve seen enough deep fry turkey mishap videos on YouTube to be suitably wary.

    Kim – MY NEXT HOUSE WILL HAVE TWO OVENS.

    Maria – Thanks for the tip!

    MTAE – Your wish (at least, this one) is my command. We Shall Rule YouTube.

    TB – What did you think of the finale? I was SAD. It was one area I was hoping they’d diverge from the book, like many other areas in the show, but the ONE THING I wanted them to change, they kept. Dangit.

    LL Cool Joe – I don’t know, I did it too. My urge to squee departed in my late teens, so you have hope.

    Dys – I sent ’em via e-mail! Also, I might try your mother’s schedule next year – this year I’ve got everything planned out JUST SO, so to throw a spanner in the works right now would just add more stress. Feh, maybe next year we’ll just go to Marie Callender’s.

    Heather – Would if I could, sweetie! Also, JEALOUS.

    Sharon – DUH. Why on Earth (HOW on Earth?) did I forget my crockpot?!? Tis the season for brain damage, I guess. You just saved me a whole lot of hassle!!!

    Amy – Kate sounds like my kind of thirteen-year-old!!!

    Jen – Duly posted, ma’am.

Leave a Reply

