from places out there

Posted: November 18, 2008 in Headspace, Listy goodness, meme, Pimp

Prompted by Taoist Biker:

Photo Meme:
1. Go to your pictures file.
2. Go to the 4th file.
3. Go to the 4th picture.
4. Post it and tell the story.
5. Tag 4 more people.

So, all of my pictures are on Flickr. I went to my sets, chose the fourth set on the left vertical from my photostream, and the fourth picture on the left vertical was this:

washington_dismalnitch3

This is a shot that I took while Calvin and I were in Oregon last year. We’d driven out to the coast from Portland, and up to the tip of Oregon, then crossed the Columbia river into Washington. This shot was taken from the Dismal Nitch rest area, and shows the Astoria Bridge, which we crossed to get to Washington. Shortly before this shot was taken, we were traipsing about the streets of Astoria, Gooney-style, and had indulged in BEER (the “cheers!” photo on my main page) and sundry NOSH. It was a good day.

Like Taoist Biker said, I ain’t taggin’ folks. We’re all grown-ups, if you wanna play you can and will.

———-

Inspired by Kim’s latest entry, and also Amanda’s latest entry:

First of all, anonymous commenters who leave such INSPIRED and pithy nuggets of wisdom as, “Booooring blog,” should be taken out and shot. Which may seem a bit violent and excessive, but I don’t care. Trolls suck. If Kim’s troll comes back (the asshat), or comes ’round here, he or she will be drawn and quartered. I have spoken.

Now. Kim and Amanda have both been blogging recently about ways to combat seasonal depression, anxiety, and the plain ol’ blues. As a sufferer of GAD and depression, I’m always on the lookout for some more legal mood enhancers. Here’s what’s been working for me lately:

1. A good long talk with Calvin. Though he’s got his own stresses and worries, so we just end up bouncing our feelings off of each other and going, “Yeah, I know, me too!” I talk to Jen a lot, too. And I SHOULD talk to Heather more often than I do, she always makes me feel better. It’s handy to have a friend that gets your obscure jokes (“Hansel?” Or how about, “These mashed potatoes are so creamy!”). They’re hysterical if the other person “gets” it, utterly baffling if they don’t, and lose the humor completely if they have to be explained.

My point is, find a good friend, and talk it alllllll out. Hey, you guys. I’m here if anybody needs to talk. E-mail, chat ala Gmail, I’ll even send ya my phone number. I’m bitchin’ that way.

2. Stay busy. You know how I’ve been posting all the crazy-busy plans I have for the holidays, the weekend “to do” lists, and all the bragging about how much I’ve accomplished in past days? Yes, well, all of that busy-ness is in an effort to completely distract my brain from any stress or negativity or anxiety. If I keep doing I don’t think. If I keep going then I wear myself out and fall asleep easily at night. Plus, there’s the added benefit of Getting Shit Done, and that in itself makes things seem better. I highly recommend it. I mean, it’s tough for folks with depression, because one of the biggest things we depressed people have to deal with is a Complete Lack of Motivation. But if you can get started and get over the hump, you gain momentum.

3. Do the things that comfort me. I have several. Re-read a favorite book while snuggling with one of the cats and drinking a cup of tea (“Earl Grey. Hot.”). Take a bubble bath while listening to iTunes on my laptop (I need to make a “Bubble Bath” playlist. Fallout Boy is not conducive to relaxation, and yet I got three songs in the shuffle mix while taking a soak lasts week). Get Calvin to lay his head in my lap so I can play with his hair. Sit in a patch of sunshine for a half-hour (now that it isn’t a hundred-and-fuck outside anymore). Run through the yoga DVD. Cook something insanely bad for me but ooooooh sooooo goooood and EAT IT ALL. Soak in the hot tub.

4. Do the things that pump me up. I have several. Drive around with the windows down and the music UP, and sing at the top of my lungs. PlayRock Band with Calvin (and sing at the top of my lungs). Bust my ass working out. Go to a comedy show, or watch stand-up on the Comedy Channel. Go on a motorcycle ride with Calvin. Do, um, other kinds of riding with Calvin. Heh.

With the way things are in the world nowadays, there’s little that we can effect on a global scale (economy, stock market, cost of living, gas prices, credit crisis, etc. etc. ad nausium) to make things in our own little lives better. We just have to stick it out, wait it out. And in the meantime, take control of the things we CAN effect, and work ’em to our advantage.

———-

Finally, here’s the best friend of a Lazy Blogger, a survey that my friend Dawne-mailed to me. She should have blogged it to get her started on writing again! Humph.

1. What time did you get up this morning?  6:50 in the ay-em.

2. Diamonds or pearls? Starfish necklaces from Boothbay Harbor.

3. What was the last film you saw at the cinema?  Geez, I have no idea whatsoever. Um… it was in the last year or so, I’m sure. But I can’t for the life of me remember which one.

4. What is your favorite TV show?   Grey’s Anatomy, CSI, Big Bang Theory, Two and a Half Men, My Own Worst Enemy, True Blood, Californication, Bones, Private Practice, Three Sheets, and probably seventeen more.

5. What do you usually have for breakfast?  Cereal mixed with yogurt.

6. What is your middle name?  Laura.

7. What food do you dislike?  Guacamole.

8. What is your favorite CD at moment?  I’m back to listening to Peace Pipe.

9. What kind of car do you drive?  Chevy Trailblazer SS.

10. Favorite sandwich?  Chicken Salad, or Grilled Cheese. Or a Real Maine Italian!

11. What characteristic do you despise?  Intolerance. Bigotry. And other big social disorders.

12. Favorite item of clothing?  Jeans!

13. If you could go anywhere in the world on vacation, where would you go?  Europe.

14. Favorite brand of clothing?  Old Navy.

15. Where would you retire?  Half the year in Maine, half the year travelling around the world.

16. What was your most recent memorable birthday?  Ummm… oh! The one when Calvin rented the Corvette.

17. Favorite sport to watch?  My cell phone rings the Monday Night Football Theme.

18. Farthest place you are sending this?  Into the ether.

19. Person you expect to send it back first?  I hate these kind of questions in surveys.

20. When is your birthday?  Same time, every year.

21. Are you a morning person or a night person?  Morning.

22. What is your shoe size?  8 or 8 1/2

23. Pets?  Two dogs, two cats, two bearded dragons, one ball python, and a husband.

24. Any new and exciting news you’d like to share with us?  I have to pee.

25. What did you want to be when you were little?  Either an archaeologist or a marine biologist.

26. How are you today?  Better than yesterday, and way better than two days ago.

27. What is your favorite candy?  Those FUCKING TRUFFELS Jen’s been stashing at her desk.

28. What is your favorite flower?  Lilacs.

29. What is a day on the calendar you are looking forward to?  11/24, the start of vacation.

30. What is your favorite pastime?  Cooking, reading, writing, photography, surfing the web, Calvin.

31. What are you listening to right now?  The klackety-klack of keyboards.

32. What was the last thing you ate?  A FUCKING TRUFFEL.

33. Do you wish on stars?  No.

34. If you were a crayon, what color would you be?   Stupid. Question. Next.

35. How is the weather right now?  The low 70’s.

36. The first person you spoke to on the phone today?  A technician at work.

37. Favorite soft drink?  Diet Coke (with Captain Morgan)

38. Favorite restaurant?  Yes.

39. Real hair color?  Light brown (“I dream of Jeanie, she’s a light brown hare.”)

40. What was your favorite toy as a child?  A stuffed rabbit as big as I was, at the time.

41. Summer or winter?  Spring in Maine, Autumn in Arizona.

42. Hugs or kisses?  Depends on from whom!

43. Chocolate or Vanilla?   “Put your hands together…”

44. Coffee or tea?  Both

45. Do you want your friends to email you back?  What, this again?

46. When was the last time you cried?  Last week. Lost my necklace.

47. What is under your bed?   Monsters. And cats. Both are trying to kill me.

48. What did you do last night?  Watched “The Last Sin Eater”. Watched “The Big Bang Theory”. Watched “Two and a Half Men”. Watched “How I Met Your Mother.” Ate edemame.

49. What are you afraid of?   Death. Dying. Man-sized bunnies.

50. Salty or sweet?   Yes.

51. How many keys on your key ring?   Four.

52. How many years at your current job?  Going on 14!

53. Favorite day of the week?  Saturday.

54. How many towns have you lived in?  4

55. Do you make friends easily?  Make? Yes. Keep? Not so much. Is it me?

56. How many people will you send this to?  Jaysus…

57. How many will respond?   For the love of…

Comments
  1. I am afraid of “man-sized bunnies” too!

    Who is Edemame? Does your husband know?

  2. iamheatherjo says:

    I go on the gmail thingy, you not there. I call you sometimes, you no pick up the phone. *sigh*

    But the texts have been working out much, much better lately! YAY! 🙂

  3. Jen says:

    I ❤ those FUCKING TRUFFLES
    now take them away please.

    And number 24 CRACKED ME UP.

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    “Hansel? Hansel?!? Hansel. Hansel?”

    I used to do those damned surveys all the time on Myspace. Hell, maybe I’ll take this one up.

    I gots a funny meme comin’ up for tomorrow, I think you’ll enjoy it. 😀

  5. Kim says:

    Thank you for sticking up for me against the stupid troll. I’ve never understood why people spend so much time and energy being assholes. But it just makes me appreciate the cool people even more!
    Yes, Jake Gyllenhal or whatever the hell his name is scarred me on man-sized bunnies forever. Have you seen Donnie Darko? Just…don’t. Especially if you’re not sober at the time. *shivers*
    I’m loving this picture thingy. Might have to do it myself.

  6. Laura says:

    MTAE – 😀 He was sitting right there…

    Heather – The texts ARE working! And they’re making me miss you.

    Jen – Well, it was the most newsworthy item I had at the time.

    TB – Heh, Looney Tunes rocks. Glad you got it, too! It was funny in the context in which it was applied, yesterday in the truck on the way to lunch with Jen.

    Kim – I HATE TROLLS. More than happy to stick up for ya! As for the man-sized bunnies, I had more in mind the ones in the Flaming Lips video I posted recently, but yeah, Donnie Darko applies too. Brrrr.

  7. […] I think it’ll take very little time and still be fun, I’m stealing a survey from Laura.  I used to be semi-addicted to these things back when I still did the Myspace thing.  It’s […]

Leave a Reply

