then she lets her hair hang down

Posted: November 15, 2008 in bitching, Calvin, Memory Lane, Music, Video, WTF

1iconkittenheadphonesWhen you get a divorce, the first thing that gets disrupted is not the finances. It’s not the living arrangements. Even before the “one more for the road, for old-time’s sake” roll in the hay (which, incidentally, I think Calvin and I elected to skip with our respective ex’s), there is one universal truth to the decline of a long-term relationship.

At the first sign of trouble, the CD collection gets pilfered.

I can’t TELL you how many times I’ve asked Calvin if we have a certain CD, and he responds that yes indeed we do, only to peruse our collection and discover that the CD in question was one of the ones filched by his ex in their divorce. I can’t tell you how many time Calvin has asked me if we have a certain CD, and I’ve been absolutely sure that we have, only to find out that I only THOUGHT we had the CD, but it turned out to be one of the CD’s my ex (literally) stole from me after we split.

Neither Calvin nor I recall having the, “You can have The Babys, but I get to keep Back in Black,” conversation with our respective former spouses, during the Great Divvying of Posessions Party. And yet, when Calvin’s ex was done with him, he was left with two identical copies of Van Halen I and a scratched up disc of Ozzy Osborne’s Greatest Hits. My ex was kind enough to leave me The Psychadelic Furs, Eric Clapton Unplugged, and Jane’s Addiction.

In fact, one of the first things we each did after we got our divorces was to go out and spend a couple of hundred dollars, each of us replenishing the stockpile of music so wrongfully taken from us. And yet, we’re still finding gaps in our collection that exist to this very day.

Last night, it was “The Best of Kansas”. I was POSITIVE I had it, because I recalled buying it, and I recalled my ex’s atonal voice belting out “Dust in the Wind”, a song he felt that he particularly identified with. I also thought I saw it in our collection recently, but a closer look revealed that, no, it was one of the victims of The Great CD Collection Repo of 1997.

So last night, after having dinner at the San Tan Brewery, singing karaoke at the Dark Horse (well, I did – “Old Time Rock and Roll” in the stylings of Bob Seger, and a duet with the hawt bartendress on “La Isla Bonita” ala Madonna circa 1987), and after indulging in many beers, we stopped at Zia Records (new and used cd’s). I blame the beer, because we left with the aforementioned “The Best of Kansas”.  And also “Lynyrd Skynyrd – All Time Greatest Hits”.  And finally, “Rich Sounds of Charlie Rich”.  Because every now and then Calvin gets the urge to re-live the musical torture (as he considered it then) inflicted upon him by his parents during childhood road trips.

Our CD collection is very… diverse.

Comments
  1. I kind of miss those sideburns.

  2. Kim says:

    And she makes me glaaad that I’m a maaaan!!
    Sadly I did not have to watch the video to know the next line of the song. What am I, 39 or 60? I blame my parents too.
    My ex and I had a very friendly break up, to the point Brian and I still hang out with him and his wife sometimes (I know, weird), but the dividing of the cd’s was horrible. We had to split a bottle of southern comfort to do it and we’re still arguing over the Carly Simon.
    Hey, music is a priority!

  3. iamheatherjo says:

    Charlie Rich is NOT musical torture. He is in my car right now as he always is with Charlie Pride, George Jones, Tom T. Hall, Waylon, Willie and Hank. And many, many others. 🙂

    Hey, did you happen to see the most beautiful girl in the world? Oh, wait, there you are. 😉

  4. Laura says:

    Electrician – You could grow some… and then send me a picture…

    Kim – Guffaw! Also, hmm… I have no Carly in my collection. I must remedy that.

    Heather – No, he’s not. Calvin just THOUGHT that when he was eight. And, you must’ve been looking in a mirror… ~warm fuzzies~

  5. Calvin says:

    The real torture was not the music because like Heather said I like some of the guys she mentioned.
    The real torture was 3 weeks in motor home or camper driving cross country while your parents put on an endless loop their favorite 4 and 8 track tapes and sing along with.
    Wow that really dated me 4 track tapes how many of you have ever seen one?

    My Dad had better taste in music or at least was more diverse and would mix it up with some James Brown and Isley Brothers which was a welcome change after Johnny Cash karaoke.
    The killer was when my Mom was driving you were subjected to the same three Tammy Wynette, Loretta lynn and Lynn Anderson. To this day she has no idea that Tammy Wynetts Greatest hits met it’s demise along the road somewhere in Mississippi.

  6. Calvin says:

    P.S. Thank You to all for the well wishes 🙂

  7. rai says:

    I am SO glad I’m not the only one still replacing CDs (and DVDs) after a divorce.

    And that I’m also not the only person who was married to someone who deeply identified with Dust in the Wind and had to sing (poorly) every time it was on.

  8. Kim says:

    Oh my God Calvin – total flashback.
    We took long road trips every summer in our motorhome, Florida to New York and once even to California and yes, the 8-track hell we went through. Some of them weren’t too bad (Beach Boys) but others made me and my sister want to kill our parents (Willie Nelson, The Gatlin Brothers, Kenny Rogers) (although don’t tell my mom but I now own the cds versions of all those) and the only way they could placate us was to play the Grease and Saturday Night Fever soundtracks every so often. Oh, to have had an Ipod back then.

  9. LL Cool Joe says:

    What no 2Pac, Eminem or Ice Cube in your collection? 😉

  10. Taoist Biker says:

    Hell, for a second there I saw the still-ed image from YouTube and thought it was George Jones. I was briefly excited!

  11. Laura says:

    Calvin – Which was worse, the music or the drooling dogs?

    Rai – GAH. He was SUCH a bad singer and he thought he was brilliant. Snort.

    Kim – Makes me glad I only had to suffer the occasional car rides stuck in the back seat while my Grandmother and Great Aunt argued in the front seat.

    LL Cool Joe – You bet your bippy! We have all three.

    TB – Why? I mean, I like George Jones, but why would that cause you to be excited?

  12. Taoist Biker says:

    I like George Jones better, thass’ all.

Leave a Reply

