I’m gonna be in SO MUCH TROUBLE.

Posted: November 12, 2008 in Bring the funny, Calvin, Health/Fitness

1iconhellokittyCalvin: “I don’t want to have an MRI. I’ll have to take my earring out. It’s never been out since I got the piercing.”

Laura: “You’ll have to take the earring out, or your head will explode.”

Calvin: “But what if I can’t get it back in again?”

Laura: “I’ll help you.”

Calvin: “Well, worst-case scenario I’ll have to go back to the guy and have him put it back in again. I kind of want to get the other one done (his tragus), but it hurt like HELL.”

Laura: “Yes. You kicked your feet. It was cute.”

Calvin: “That’s what I’m saying! It hurt!”

Laura: “You loved it. You were high on endorphins for, like, hours afterwards.”

Calvin: “Well, yeah.”

Laura: “Yeah, you’re messed up like that.”

Calvin: “Yes, but feel how thick it is (his EAR, you pervs)! Where it’s located, I experienced it with ALL my senses! I mean, like, I could feel it, but I could HEAR it too!”

Laura: “Could you taste it? Or smell it?”

Calvin: “…”

Laura: “So it was a dual-sensory experience, is what you’re saying.”

Calvin: “…”

Laura: ~grin~

Calvin: “Shut up.”

Laura: “I’m SO blogging about this.”

———-

I may be Hello Kitty, but sometimes I’m an EVIL Hello Kitty.

———-

So, yes, Calvin has to get an MRI. He’s been having pain in his head and strange flushing (“like someone turned the dial up on my blood pressure”) that’s lasted for a few weeks, now. I think it’s allergies, because the pain tends to be better when he takes one of my allergy pills, but that still doesn’t explain why his whole head turns red and gets really hot. The doc is taking a “better safe than sorry” approach and ordered the MRI, which is this Friday.

I’m sure it’s nothing, but, you know, one can’t help but worry. Calvin just hasn’t been quite himself for the past few weeks (who would, with a near-constant headache?). I just want him to feel better. He doesn’t take NEARLY as good care of himself as he needs to. Heck, do any of us? I’ve renewed my commitment to take better care of him, where I can effect things. Healthier meals, for one. Maybe sneak in some low-sodium and low-fat stuff without him noticing (hi, Calvin!). Pour light beer into the Fat Tire bottles? Nah, he’d notice that.

Thing is, he’s reluctant to change many, if ANY, of his current habits. Eating right, exercising, and cutting back on the beer are NOT on his “to do” list. And I completely get it, because I battle with the need to do those things on a daily (hourly!) basis. I want to eat whatever I want and sit on the couch scratching my ass and swigging beer all night, every night (edited to add: that didn’t sound right – that’s NOT what Calvin does, that’s what I want to do!). But my body gets pissed at me when I do that. And I truly believe that Calvin’s body is trying to tell him something.

So is his wife.

Calvin? Take care of yourself, because you’re supposed to live to be a hundred and twelve. And I’ll be REALLY PISSED at you if you don’t.

Comments
  1. angelcel says:

    It’s great that we have these scanners to be able to check things out. Sensible doctor for ordering a scan and I’m sure Calvin be fine. If life changes are considered a good idea? Do it. That’s an order Mister.

  2. Kim says:

    It does sound like it could be allergy-related.
    Either way, sending good thoughts your way.
    And if you can figure out how to get a beer-drinking husband up off the couch (especially during football season) and exercising, please share?

  3. Laura says:

    Jayne – When I had my own scans done last year (or was it earlier this year?) I was torn between Wanting To Know and Not Wanting To Know!

    Kim – Ha! First I have to figure out how to do that MYSELF. And, thanks for the good thoughts.

  4. You are SO busted…we don’t want to hear this. All of us still think we are 18 and impervious to these signs are wear and tear and age.

  5. Calvin says:

    What really sucks is the stuff that never impacted your health when you were young now is starting to get me, damn erosion!
    I have always been very healthy but sometimes now allergies… or how your body reacts to stuff is changing and I don’t like it. Though it is great that we have the technology and insurance that allows us to get checked and fixed as needed. I will definitely make some life changes as needed as long as I can avoid taking pills to fix stuff, It makes work scary being pill dizzy while climbing around and playing with tricity.
    And Laura(aka welcher) at last check the beer drinking couch potato finish the exercise video you didn’t 🙂

  6. iamheatherjo says:

    I’m going to quote Calvin “I hate smart girls!”

    I too hate taking pills (and vitamins too for that matter) so I’m with Calvin on making changes to avoid meds.

    Your ear will be fine, get checked and make sure you’re okay. Although, I’d be a little frightened to see what they find knocking around in Calvin’s noggin. 😉

  7. Calvin says:

    If that machine can read my mind like some kind of Vulcan mind meld I’m not doing it for the sake of mankind.
    The world is not ready for that kind of perversion.

  8. LL Cool Joe says:

    I was so shocked about having to take the earring out, I couldn’t read anymore. 😉 I have 6 piercings in my ears and the thought of removing them for anything stresses me out!

    Good luck.

  9. Taoist Biker says:

    That opening exchange is absolutely blog gold. 😀

    I need to get my ass back into a gym, pronto, myself. Ugh. Like Calvin says, erosion freakin’ sucks.

  10. Laura says:

    Electrician – Hey, even the finest-tuned motor needs tinkering every now and again.

    Calvin – Hey man, just because you can keep up with Jillian doesn’t automatically make you heathy! You’re just freakishly strong.

    Heather – Har! No joke.

    Calvin (again) – It’s the end of the world as we know it.

    LL Cool J – Six?? Whoa. When Calvin has all of his metal in, he has two in one ear and three in the other.

    TB – 😀 Sometimes he says things that are so funny it’s a crime to NOT write them down. Also, we have No Damn Excuse not to work out – AcronymCo has its own gym, free to employees and family, and we have workout equipment at home. Yeesh, we’re a couple of lazy fuckers.

Leave a Reply

