It pains me.

Posted: November 6, 2008 in Inner Geek, Journal, work

1iconscurtainsI have this thing. About spelling. About needing said spelling to be correct. To an almost OCD level. So much so that my husband won’t write me love letters because he’s afraid I’ll return them to him marked up with corrections in red ink.

This issue of mine, it’s causing me pain today. See, in my job as a buyer, often a person will initiate an e-mail message, which requires a response from me, which then is forwarded to other people for their opinions, all of whom respond individually, to whom I respond back, and by the time the issue is resolved the e-mail chain is twenty messages long.

Now.

I did not initiate this e-mail message, thus I was not the person who spelled vacuum as “v-a-c-u-m-e” in the subject line of the e-mail. Since I did not author the message, I figure it would be rude to correct the spelling in the subject line in the subsequent responses. So my in-box looks like:

Vacume Pads
Re: Vacume Pads
Re: Re: Vacume Pads
Fwd: Re: Re: Vacume Pads
Re: Fwd: Re: Re: Vacume Pads

IT’S CAUSING ME PAIN. I ACHE to correct the spelling. Tell me, doc, how long do I have?

Comments
  1. Go ahaed adn corect it. Peeple don’t mined you fixxing there misstakes.

  2. Laura says:

    Jen – I weep.

    Electrician – DARN YOU. 😛

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    Hell yeah, I’d correct it in the subject line and not bat an eye.

    If dey feelz bad cuz dey stoopey, not mai prob.

  4. iamheatherjo says:

    I’d correct it. But I can be a real jackass and you are Hello Kitty. 😉

  5. farmwife says:

    Heck, I’d change it. They probably won’t even notice. 🙂

  6. angelcel says:

    May I go one step further and say that it irritates me beyond belief when people can’t *read* the ferkin word in front of them, a prime example I hear over and over being ‘newk-u-lar’ instead of nuclear and, particularly here in Britain ‘Julio / Enrique In-glesias’. Aaaarrrgh.
    Texting has well and truly mucked up spelling, that and our appalling education system now.
    I’d have no hesitation in correcting that email spelling and I’m afraid I’m sufficiently picky to get rid of the excessive ‘re, fwd, re, re’ too. If an email is regarding something it is ‘re’. That’s all, just re. …but that’s me, awkward as hell. 😉

  7. Jean says:

    I’m feeling all sorts of left out. You have private posts?

  8. Kim says:

    My eyes…my eyeeessss!
    I hate it so much too.
    You’d think working at a college I wouldn’t run into this very much. You’d be wrong.

  9. Laura says:

    TB – Snort.

    Heather – AM NOT.

    Farmwife – You’re probably right, but what if they did?

    Jayne – Oh, I know! That whole nucular/nuclear thing drives me batshit. And it’s one thing to mis-spell for irony or humor or emphasis, but another thing entirely to do it out of laziness (spell check!) or ignorance (elementary school!). And, my e-mail system automatically puts the re: in front of messages that are “replied” to, and fwd: in front of messages that are forwarded. Every time they’re replied to or forwarded, this piles ’em on quite dramatically when there’s a tennis match going on with all the back-and-forth responses.

    Jean – Nobody can see the private posts, so don’t feel left out. They’re visible only by me, and I’ve only used the feature a few times when I had to get something off my chest that wasn’t appropriate or worthy of public consumption.

    Kim – I’m so sorry to pull you into the torture. AND, you’d think that the company I work for (a high-tech company fraught with ME’s and PhD’s) wouldn’t have so many poor spellers, either.

Leave a Reply

