Aaaaand… breathe out.

Posted: November 5, 2008 in best things, Headspace, Journal, Pimp, WTF

1iconsnoopydanceMy thoughts on the election (other than the ::THUD:: I posted last night):

– Did anyone else watch the CNN coverage, “Election Night in America”? Did you check those trick gadgets and graphics and toys they were playing with to demonstrate the demographics, and the Capital grounds image on the table with the Senate seats, and all the whatnot? Duuuuude.

– The popular vote was closer than I thought it would be (52% to 46%, which is a difference of about 7 million votes, but still…), even though the electoral vote was well covered by Obama. Does that speak to how divided this country still may be?

– I am SO PROUD of Arizona voters. It was estimated that more than 85% of registered voters cast their ballots. In the end the state went to McCain, but STILL. Look at the interest in our civic duties! I haven’t seen the national numbers of number of registered voters vs. the number that cast their ballots. Anybody else have that info anywhere?

– I watched McCain’s concession speech, and I have to say I have a lot of respect for him. Whether you agree with his policies or not, he conceded gracefully and he’s served our country loyally for over fifty years. You’ve gotta respect that, regardless of your political party.

– I watched Obama’s acceptance speech. HOT DAMN, that man can ROCK a speech. I was yelling, “Preach it!” during his “Yes We Can” crescendo. Calvin and I were first-time voters this election. We believed things could be different, and I’m SO glad we chose now to become voters.

– Yes, I teared up both when McCain mentioned Obama’s grandmother, and when Obama mentioned her. Grandmothers are awesome. She cast her ballot for her grandson before she passed away. Grandmas. Are. Awesome.

– AZ’s Prop 102 PASSED, for Chrissakes (the vote to ban gay marriage) and CA’s Prop 8 is a qualified pass, but they’re going to the provisional ballots because it’s so close. How this country can vote in a black man for President, but still be against gay marriage, is beyond me. It’s like, we’re progressive on the one hand, and still in the stone age on the other. Feh.

– Other Arizona elections and props of note: it looks like Sheriff Joe Arpaio has been elected for another term, though his opponent hasn’t conceded yet. All the props except for 102 and 300 went the way I wanted, and 101 is currently tied. Corporation Commissioner is in a SIX WAY tie right now. State Representative for my district is in a THREE WAY tie right now. BOTH of the Superior Court judges (out of 47) that I wanted canned are keeping their jobs. Did nobody read their Judicial Performance Evaluations??? Chandler Prop 412 passed, which is bad. Looks like my choices for Chandler Council didn’t get elected, either.

– Senate and House majorities are firmly in the control of the Democrats (and my choice for AZ senator was voted in). No fillibustser reported yet for the Senate, but it could happen! So. I do believe we have spoken.

– I only watched a minute or two here and there of the Daily Show coverage of the election results (Jen heard the “Obama wins!” message there first, while I was watching boring ol’ CNN). Based on what I did see, I’ll need to get my butt on YouTube and watch it all.

– I refreshed my feed reader a thousand times during the coverage, wanting to find out how all the bloggers I read were faring. So many people from so many backgrounds in widely distant locales (some not even in the U.S!), all focused on the same thing. It was neat. And funny, that we all found the need to blog about this while we were experiencing it (as I write this, during Obama’s acceptance speech, to be published tomorrow, because I Can Manipulate Time).

– I’m REALLY glad I knew the results before I went to bed. But now? It’s the Day After the Election. Now the real work begins, people. I hope Obama, the Democratic House, and the Democratic Senate, carry through with the faith we’ve all shown in them.

I took this screen shot right when the CNN website announced Obama’s win, just for fun:

obamawins1

CHANGE HAS COME TO AMERICA.

Comments
  1. :Heather says:

    I didn’t watch any of the coverage on tv. I put a movie in and watched the numbers come in online. Then the celebratory fireworks started all over the place and I didn’t even have to hit refresh to know what had happened. It was awesome and I went to bed smiling.

  2. crisitunity says:

    -The popular vote v. the electoral votes just says to me what I’ve been thinking for a long, long time: the electoral college is a lame way to choose the president. This is one of my Old Crank opinions, but there it is.

    -I read a blog where someone intelligently pointed out that if you replace “gay marriage” with “interracial marriage” you suddenly look like a jerk. Maybe it’s because of my youth, but I just fail entirely to see why gay marriage is such a big problem for so many people. There are way too many logical arguments for it.

    On that topic, I couldn’t BELIEVE that the proposition in Arkansas to ban gay couples from adopting children passed by such a wide margin. WHAT THE HELL.

  3. Kim says:

    I have a gay friend who’s against gay marriage.
    I don’t get it either.

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    I was watching (flipping back and forth between Colbert/Stewart and ABC) and the electoral vote for Obama stood at 207 for the longest time. But that’s when VA, NC, and FL were all too close to call, and the West Coast hadn’t even come in yet. So basically any one of the three tossups, plus California, put him over the top. I threw on a movie and dozed in and out until Dys came up, shook me awake, and said it was done and the speech would be soon.

    We are still a divided nation, though. While I was watching ABC, they switched over to a county-by-county map of Virginia and it was downright depressing…all the more urbanized, educated areas were voting for Obama (as were a very few predominantly black counties) and everywhere else was clearly for McCain. The Richmond paper has the map here.

    Anyways, I’m with Crisitunity. I dislike the fact that someone can just write off an entire state like, say, Texas or California, and barely campaign there because the electoral votes are as good as gone. I think a split according to the percentage of the popular vote in a state would be more reasonable…but what’s reasonable about politics?

  5. Laura says:

    Heather – Our neighborhood was pretty quiet, actually. I went to bed with a smile, too!!!

    Crisitunity – I don’t get the electoral vote thing, either. A friend of mine says it’s to make sure that the states with the smaller populations get counted as fairly as the states with the larger populations. Still, I’d need a clearer explanation than that and I’m too lazy to Wiki it. I also don’t get why people are so against gay marriage. What POSSIBLE harm does it do to hetero couples, or religious people, or whatever??? My friend Jen quote Jesse Ventura on her site, “You can’t put a civil rights issue on the general ballot in a state and let people vote on it, because if you do that, in the southern states before, you can bet they would have voted to continue slavery.” Finally, Arkansas did THAT??? I had no idea they were putting forth that kind of ballot. That’s just sheer idiocy.

    Kim – Okay, that just makes no sense whatsoever. Did he (she?) give a reason?

    TB – You know, I haven’t seen a county-by-county summation of the Maine vote, which would interest me. Haven’t seen that for Arizona, either. You’re right that they “gave up” some states because they figured they wouldn’t win them. There was no Dem campaigning in AZ that I’m aware of, and the talking heads delivering the demographics last night were just writing off Alaska and Texas (and a bunch of others) automatically. It’s funny, I got two voicemail messages at home from Republican robots asking for my vote, hours after I’d already voted. I’m SO GLAD the junk mail will be decreasing, I got a SHIT-TON of political mailers over the past week.

  6. iamheatherjo says:

    Maybe Kim’s friend is like me and against this whole marriage thing altogether. Heehee ­čśë

  7. Kim says:

    Well, she gave a lot of reasons for it, actually. Living in the gay community for the last 20 years, she’s seen a lot of stuff go on. She tells me, at least with the women, there is a lot more promiscuity and changing of partners than in the hetero world. She’s seen a lot of children get tossed around and grow up confused because the mommies are always breaking up and getting new girlfriends and she hates seeing what it does to the kids. I can understand that. If it were to become legal, kids would be even more involved because of adoption, but the promiscuity wouldn’t change. And she said it’s like the old joke:
    What does a lesbian bring on a second date?
    A bottle of wine, flowers and a suitcase.
    Ha!

  8. Laura says:

    Heather – Yep, you’re notorious for that! ­čśÇ

    Kim – Huh! Makes sense when you think of it that way, and it can be applied to hetero as well as homosexual relationships. Effed up is effed up, regardless of your orientation.

Leave a Reply

