All democratic and stuff.

Posted: November 4, 2008 in Blogthings, WTF

1iconcalvinfacesCalvin and I voted this morning. We went in together before work, and all the goofing off we did in line made the wait go by fast. All I can say is, I hope all the other states have ballots as clear-cut as ours. No hanging chads. No misdirective guidelines. Just connect two halves of the arrow next to which answer you want. Easy peasy. I made up notes last night (I spent, like, two hours checking on obscure ballot items from the “sample ballot” we got in the mail) and listed on a sheet for me and a sheet for Calvin, our choice for each item. Once we got to our respective booths, it was just a matter of running down our notes and drawing the lines.

Also, apparently the entire voting system is run by little old ladies. They were So Damn Cute when they signed us in and when they took our ballots, with their little blue haired perms and cheery, “Thank you for voting, dear!” Made me miss my Grandma.

Apparently Calvin and I are the Democratic Black Sheep of the family. My sister-in-law has been spending the last week campaigning for McCain by sending me e-mails, and trying to sway my vote when we talk on the phone. I love her enthusiasm, even if we disagree totally on the political front. She was on the phone with Calvin last night, and as I heard him start to say his goodbyes, I yelled, “BARACK THE VOTE!” I believe she tossed a naughty word back at me, but I can’t be positive. Calvin had a good laugh, though, so I think it’s safe to assume a cuss was uttered. And her a good Christian, too! (I kid, Karen!!!)

My uncle and my sister are voting Republican, too. My uncle was shocked that I wasn’t voting for McCain, since he’s Arizona’s senator. Hell, if you want to use that logic, I didn’t vote for Hillary either, and we’re both women.

My goodness gracious, all my Internet friends, whatever SHALL we blog about, once this election is over? Politics has been on the conversational forefront for the last TWO YEARS. Maybe not at this particular blog, but many, many other blogs that I read have been heavily political – whether the tone is serious or humorous. I think we’ll all get through this week (get through this DAY) and then come tomorrow, or Thursday, or Friday, sit at our keyboards with our fingers hovering over Home Row, blank screen before us, and ponder, “Now WHAT did I used to talk about, back before all this crap happened?”

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    So funny you mentioned what to blog about – that was the topic of MY blog today too! Well, that and blowjobs.

  2. iamheatherjo says:

    My particular polling place was run by a couple of little old ladies and…FIREMEN! 🙂

  3. Megan says:

    There was no one–not a single other voter–in line when I took my two year old with me to vote this morning. She was so cute putting the ballot in the box and you could tell she’d done it all before because after it slid into the box she walked right to the poll worker and said “Can I have a sticker, please?” Too bad they were out of stickers. Ahh, but we don’t mind skipping the stickers when it looks like–cross fingers–this eight year shadow will soon be lifting.

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    I’ve never seen the line at my polling place stretch out the door before, in the entire six years I’ve lived here. It was pretty damned cool.

    I guess I’ll go back to talking about bikes and boobs…

  5. Laura says:

    Kim – Great minds…

    Heather – LE SIGH.

    Megan – Aww, so cute! There were quite a few small children in line when we went.

    TB – We have something to look forward to, then!

Leave a Reply

