Then you get on down the line.

Posted: November 3, 2008 in Blogthings, Journal, Music, photography, Pimp, weekend, WTF

One day left until the election, and then another day of nerve-wracking updates and ballot counts and e-mails from my sister-in-law (hi, Karen!). And THEN two more months of Bush, and THEN there will be NO MORE BUSHES IN THE WHITE HOUSE EVER AGAIN. Because his daughters have already generated enough scandal that they’d never be allowed to run. I mean, there’s Jeb, but, well, you know. Hah.

I’ve got to say, I’ll miss the election-related antics over at the Daily Show, and over at Whatever. Is it wrong that I’ve gotten most of my election coverage and information from them? At any rate, I’m sure SNL will continue with the formula that’s gotten them their highest ratings ever, so we won’t have a chance to miss Palin and McCain once they’re out of the national spotlight (GO BLUE).

Today is going to be a quiet day. Literally. I’m going to generate as little noise as possible in the house. See, last Friday when Calvin, Joss and I went to Club Red to see Ozzmosis, Too Fast for Love, and B/S, we sat at a table at the edge of the dance floor. They were turned facing the stage, and I was turned slightly to the left so I could see and converse with them. As such, my right ear has been ringing non-stop since Friday night, having taken the brunt of the amps and speakers and general loudness of the stage. So, for you concert-goers out there, anybody got a home remedy for tinnitus?

We had a BLAST, and Joss and I got pulled up on stage to dance around and sing to “Girls Girls Girls”. Other girls got pulled up on stage, too, but we were the FIRST. GO US. Calvin kind of huddled down in his seat at the table and sorta watched through the fingers covering his eyes. Heh.

I didn’t bring the camera – I wanted to just hang out and have fun without worrying about getting this or that shot, and without worrying that if I left the table the camera would get stolen. So you can curse me if you want. You’ll just have to go see the bands yourselves.

Oh, and Frank, here’s a shot of me all dressed up to go out (I wanted evidence of my hawtness before we were all sweaty and messed up from the anticipated dancing… and drinking). We didn’t have the patience to mess with the lighting and camera settings, so only two shots of the bunch were somewhat salvageable, after messing around with exposures and curve settings. Here I am, all sessy:

goingout2

I hear my cat (must be Oz, since Zoe is right here poking me with her creepy cat elbows) getting into something he shouldn’t. Plus, I must run through the yoga DVD, shower, dress, go grocery shopping, fold laundry, and you know, work. Also, I’m making Pumpkin Bread today. You should, too. So, I must flee. Talk to you all later!

(p.s. – I know I’m sometimes obscure in my titles. Anybody know why I titled this entry as I did? Also, as a reminder (a few folks have e-mailed to ask), if the website’s tagline confuses you, I always post a definition or source at the end of the “About” page.)

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    “messing around with exposures and curve settings”

    *snicker*

  2. angelcel says:

    Woops! My comment just disappeared, mid sentence. What I was saying was that you look pretty fine there Miss Laura … and that if your ears are *still* ringing that *really* must have been loud.
    Re the titles and taglines? I’m often out of the loop just because of my different geographical location – different cultural references n’ all that -so basically it’s situation normal around here! 😀

  3. Laura says:

    TB – You’re SO twelve. 😉

    Jayne – Aww, thanks!!! And perhaps you can make a study of my pop culture references, and I shall make a study of yours. Because some of your entries get me to scratchin’ my head… (Marks & Spencer’s Percy Pig sweeties comes to mind). ❤

  4. Kim says:

    I’m SINGING the title line, but I don’t get why you referenced it, dang it.
    You look ready for a night of fun in that picture – beautiful!

  5. Laura says:

    Kim – Why, because it’s Monday Morning! (insert collective groan here)

  6. Calvin says:

    What happened to the rest of the pics you hooker? The flash didn’t make the leggings to see-thru
    😉

  7. Laura says:

    Calvin – They’re still on the camera. For now.

  8. iamheatherjo says:

    You look very pretty and all, but I think you’re way sessier in your jean capris and a little black top of some sort. Just sayin’. 😉

    Oh and the ringing, if it’s too loud, you’re too…heehee

    Wear earplugs next time. Lotsa folks who go see bands a lot do it (I don’t) and some of the musicians themselves too.

  9. Amanda says:

    I LOVE that shirt! So pretty!

  10. Taoist Biker says:

    Am not. 😉

    And I second Heather’s point – I usually wear earplugs to concerts nowadays, to the point that I’m angry at myself if I forget them.

  11. Laura says:

    Heather – Awww, shucks. Thanks! Also, yes I think next time I’ll bring earplugs. Calvin always has a bunch hanging around getting into my laundry.

    Amanda – Twelve dollars at TJ Maxx!

    TB – Are too! 😛

  12. Frank says:

    Laura, thanks for the pcture. You look great. I’ll have to drop requests more often.

  13. Laura says:

    Frank – Aww, shucks! Thanks. Each request will be considered carefully before it is accepted or denied. 😉

  14. […] and I learned recently that our wonderful friend Jocelyn (I’ve talked about Joss before, like here and here) has stage three breast cancer. She has no medical insurance. She is being helped out a […]

Leave a Reply

