Oof.

Posted: October 25, 2008 in 101 in 1001, Health/Fitness, Home, Journal

Well, I’ve been having a productive day. While Calvin was washing the truck, I spent a good solid few hours in the back yard. It’s starting to look DARNED bedraggled out there, so I geared up to do some (wo)manual labor. I set the hot tub to draining and periodically got in it (cuffs of my pants rolled waaay up) to wash down the sides and seats and bubblers, as the decending water level allowed. I’d wash it some, then get out and do some yard work. Then get back in and wash it some more, and get back out and do some more yard work.

The hot tub is now pristine and heating up for the successful completion of #51 this evening.

The yard work, however… well, I’ve still got a loooong way to go. The bower vines came down off the block walls sometime during the past couple of months, and have been growing along the ground and creating more havoc than what you would expect from plant life. So I wrestled with a good portion of those before I ran out of wire to tie them back with. I raked under the vines where debris had accumulated, gathered a bunch of fallen limbs, cut back the palm tree, cut back the Charlie Brown Tree (which I think I shall now refer to as the Kite Eating Tree, because he’s gone from the wee little struggling thing we were trying to save, to this enormous monster of a thing), raked some more, bagged some leaves, took a look around and realized that I’d spent hours and it looked like I hadn’t even touched the yard, and decided to call it quits for the day.

One positive thing to note – I did a whole bunch of physical work, and my knees didn’t complain! Well, okay, they twinged once or twice, but still! Better!

It’s a very satisfying way to spend the afternoon, though – out in the fresh air and sunshine, getting some good exercise. How exciting for me that I have every bit as much work as I did today, waiting for me to do tomorrow.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Different types of plants and trees to contend with here in the southeast than what you’re probably dealing with way out west there, but same situation. We’ve *almost* gotten our back yard cleaned out from all of last year’s fallen leaves just in time for them to start falling again in a couple of weeks! It reminds me of that Greek myth where the guy (Sisyphus?) was doomed to push a huge boulder up a hill only to watch it roll back down to the bottom for all eternity. It’s how I feel about laundry too. Sort of depressing when you think about it.

  2. iamheatherjo says:

    Flea calls my back yard “The Little Yard of Horrors” because of all the strange, quick-grow, mean-pokey-sticky-ouchie weeds I get. It’s absolutely ridiculous.

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    We’ve got some serious yard work to do, probably sometime this winter when things aren’t growing but it’s still warm enough to work outside. Vines to cut down, branches to prune back, and finally to figure out WTF to do with the tree that lost about a third of its top in one big chunk during the big storm while we were at the GP.

    That one’s gonna suck.

Leave a Reply

