Aging Affirmation

Posted: October 22, 2008 in Headspace, Health/Fitness, Journal

Recently I’ve come to realize that I’m getting older.

And I’m okay with that.

I am now firmly in my “mid-thirties” and don’t really mind so much.

I am starting to look my age. I get carded far less than I used to. I’m no longer the youngest person in my department (and I was for a LOOONG time, which happens when you start at a place at nineteen). There’s laugh lines around my eyes and smile lines around my mouth. I haven’t found any gray hairs yet but that day is coming soon, I’m sure. I’m starting to ache in random places for no particular reason whatsoever. It takes me a bit longer to get up off the floor where I’ve been sitting. My waist has thickened a bit but I’m less in a panic about that fact than I would have been, say, five years ago. “The Girls” are starting to droop a little (just a little). My ass isn’t quite as perky as it used to be, either. I have bunions. I can no longer eat and drink anything I want to without having to worry about tummy troubles.

I still have energy, though. I LOVE my hair and my skin. I think my eyes are my best feature. I’m completely comfortable inside my brain. I think I’m capable and smart and have skills and value. My hands are still young-looking. My eyesight and hearing are perfect. I still dance around and sing at the top of my lungs, whether anyone is looking or not. Calvin still has to settle me down if I start acting rowdy in public (he embarrasses easily). I like loud music. I like going out drinking (though I can’t handle as many shots and beers as I used to). I’ve been told I’m comfy to snuggle with (padding is a good thing). I’m an awesome kisser. I have some semblance of grace, left over from my childhood dance lessons.

I’m not obsessed with aging. I have always felt that age is in the mind, not the body (though there are interesting new things one has to deal with in the body as one ages, which is not thrilling). If I could have stayed at about twenty-eight, that would have been perfect. Mature enough in mind, young enough in body. As it is, my brain will always pretty much stay the way it is, and my body will continue to age, which kind of sucks but isn’t the end of the world. I try to take good care of myself and I hope that will be enough to make the whole aging process easier to deal with as it accelerates.

I hope to age with grace and dignity and not hold on by my fingernails to the last remaining vestiges of my youth. It makes me sad to see women getting unnecessary “procedures” and teasing the holy hell out of their hair and caking on make-up and wearing clothes meant for their daughters. Worse, I KNOW women who compete with their daughters on the thin/hot/style scales. I also know women who purposefully dumb themselves down in an effort to come across as youthful and perky.

Hollywood can fuck itself, there is nothing wrong at ALL with maturity – physical and mental.

How do YOU feel about getting older?

Comments
  1. I am not as opposed to mothers trying to fit into clothes their daughters would wear as you are…but I get your point.

    I still run through the house and jump on the bed (wife only joins in that part when it is time for impregnation.)

    I might have had a little stretch when I was 35 that I let the older thing get to me, but I snapped out of it and my attitude is much better now. I look at it like I am just a day older than yesterday. I am back to running and not changing my wardrobe every year because I don’t fit. I am not trying to get into those 30″ waist pants anymore.

  2. Calvin says:

    While I’m not really hung up on getting older I do have concerns that there will not be enough time (and money) to do all the things I want to do in life.
    Fact is at 45 I’m half done and as fast as 20 years can go by the next thing you know your AARP card shows up in the mail. And the next 20 will not be the same as the last 20, crap maybe I am worried?
    And if I live to be 100 it won’t be enough time with you! And trust me it’s not your eyes 😉

  3. Laura says:

    Electrician – (Can I call you that?) Heh. Jumping on the bed is highly recommended.

    Calvin – You have to sign up for the AARP card, it doesn’t just show up. And also, awwwww… when you’re 100 I’ll be a very HAWT 89 or 90. Finally, what, my feet then? 😀

  4. Sharon says:

    I turned 50 yesterday and I’m very comfortable with my age. Aside from reading glasses and some aches and pains, I feel a lot younger. I’m in a great marriage (my second)with three great kids and 2 very cool grandsons. I’m definitely looking forward to the next stage of my life.

  5. iamheatherjo says:

    I’ll be 39 on my next birthday. I have the grays. I’ve had them since I was in my early 20’s. I don’t have lines on my face yet, but I think it is because the FAT is just taking up the extra skin and stretching it smooth! My friends and I have way more fun than old folks are supposed to and it’s a good thing because I had truly thought that I would have been leading a less stressful, more stable life than I do in all the other major aspects.

  6. farmwife says:

    “How do YOU feel about getting older?”

    I think it’s much better than the alternative 🙂

  7. Calvin says:

    Happy late birthday Sharon!
    And thank you to you and Heather for the reminder about all the good stuff.

  8. Carol says:

    I turn 52 in 6 days. I became a mom at age 41. Aging is great. There is acceptance. I know exactly who I am. I am satisfied. I am more in tune with my body. I do have aches, but it is a gift from my body to tell me what I need to listen to. I have a loud, active 10 year old running around the house and a husband who wants to go ballroom dancing with me. I have a job I love. It doesn’t get any better.

    Yoga, yoga, yoga. Now my body insists on it and understands why it is needed. I am addicted and I have learned that my insomnia is due to a stiff body. My 10 year old daughter already begs to have her back massaged, but has no clue why a yoga pose could be good. I remember doing the downward dog as a strong 30-something and wondering how it could be helpful. Now my body tells me exactly why.

    My goal is not to look 30, but to look younger than 52 and to feel 30! I’m doing a pretty good job.

    By the way, Laura, I’ve been reading you for years. I’ve enjoyed every entry.

  9. Maria says:

    I’m still surprised when I look in the mirror to see my 51 year old self. I still feel- and probably act- like I’m 20. It’s all a state of mind.

  10. Sharon says:

    I’m 38 and don’t mind being the age I am. The thing that worries me about getting older is that in life, I’m not where I thought I would be at this age. I always thought I would marry and have children but I haven’t even been on a date in the last 7 years. Then again I have a lot to be grateful for. I’m healthy and earn enough money to be comfortable. I went to the doctor this week and she even told me I was young (even though I was there to see about hip pain and back pain).

    I’d also like to say thanks to Carol for adding your comment I always like to hear stories of women having children in their 40’s. It reminds me it’s not too late for me to still achieve my goals.

  11. Taoist Biker says:

    While I’m still a bit sick is not the time to ask me how I feel about gettin’ old.

    Generally, though, it ain’t so bad. While under the influence I would probably admit that I’d like my 20-year-old body (and full head of long hair) back, overall I’m content. I’d like to drop the beer gut I’ve added in the past year, but otherwise I have no real complaints. I’m slowing down a bit in lots of ways, but I’ve gained a hell of a lot of insight and comfort with myself over the past few years, and I wouldn’t trade that seed of wisdom for any of the benefits of youth.

  12. Taoist Biker says:

    I should add that I’ll be 35 next year. I think Laura remembers that we’re near the same age, but my comments might make more sense to others if they knew also.

    Well, I said “might.”

  13. K says:

    I’m coming across 40 soon and I feel like I’m hanging on to whatever youth I have by a tampon string….
    bad circulation, gray hair (yep!)it’s all coming on and I hate it!!! Grrr!
    I don’t see much wrong with getting a bit of a “nip/tuck” here or there though…maybe it’s because I’m still single…

  14. Laura says:

    Sharon – I echo Calvin’s “Happy Birthday!”

    Heather – AYHEM. It’s because you’re naturally be-yoo-tee-ful, silly.

    Farmwife – No joke!

    Carol – Since this crap with my hamstrings and knees occurred, I’ve come to realize just how NOT flexible my body is. I have a great yoga DVD (got a strap and a block this week since I can’t even touch my toes) and Jen recommended a Pilates DVD that I’m going to try out this weekend. I’m so glad to hear from another long-time reader! De-lurkers ROCK.

    Maria – Great attitude, and amen sistah!

    Sharon – Bless you for finding the good things in your life. It’s such a positive attitude that will bring you everything your little heart desires, I just know it!

    TB – I agree, it’s all about the wisdom gained and not necessarily your waist size! Though I’d love for my waist to be down to the 26″ it USED to be. And I reiterate, Bald Is Sessy. If you can pull it off. Not every guy looks good bald, but you wear it well! At least, the parts of your head that you’ve photographed and shared on your site. Like one of your commenters said, I have to paste the pieces together like a sliding puzzle to see what you look like. 😀

    K – “…by a tampon string…” BWAAAHAHAHAHAHAAAA. I do agree, plastic surgery in moderation is just fine, and I’m not opposed to having a little something done myself. It’s those scary Joan Rivers types that I protest.

  15. Dawn says:

    I’m pretty much okay with it – I don’t FEEL like I’m almost 38, and except for a few faint forehead lines and a couple of white (!!) hairs, I don’t think I look it, either.

    But like Calvin, there are so many things I want to DO in life (mostly places I want to see), and I wonder sometimes how many I’ll actually get around to doing.

    And I’ve got no prob having a nip or tuck in the future if I get too disheartened. Heh.

Leave a Reply

