WordPress is fucking with me.

Posted: October 20, 2008 in bitching, blogkeeping

First, WordPress keeps renaming my “Categories” section to just “a”. So instead of the word “Categories” appearing over the drop-down for the, you know, categories list (in the right hand frame), you just see an “a”. I’ve gone into my administrative panel and changed the widget and saved it three times, and then later in the day I check the page and it’s back to “a”. I have no idea.

Also, one it’s-not-a-bug-it’s-a-feature I don’t like about WordPress is when you click on one of the hyperlinked categories at the end of an entry, instead of pulling up all related entries of that category from THIS website, it pulls up some sort of weird list of “related posts” having to do with that category from OTHER websites. Me no likey. I mean, yes you can see all the posts in a category by using the aforementioned “Categories” (or rather “a” – feh) filter, but it was intuitive to me to also be able to see this same filter when clicking on the category in the actual entry.

AND, I’ve been slowly editing some of the imported entries from the blogger incarnations of Snerkology. They moved over with some weird sort of span command appended to every hyperlink html line. Thus, the formatting is problematic.

Don’t get me wrong, for the most part I like WordPress (though I’d appreciate some more variety in the templates – guess I have to pay to get the cool stuff). But today I’m feeling rather frustrated.

Edited at 7:00 to add – AND I don’t like it that WordPress doesn’t allow Twitter badges, just the RSS feed in an RSS widget which can kiss my ass because it looks just BAD. Thank you, that is all the bitching I have time for, Big Bang Theory is on now.

Comments
  1. angelcel says:

    You understand way more about websites and code than I do but I appreciate your frustration with this, I really do. Computers can be the best fun but also sometimes a complete nightmare. Hopefully this will be sorted out by itself.

  2. Jeanette says:

    I love Big Bang Theroy It was so funny last night! Do you watch How I Met Your Mother?

  3. AmyD says:

    I have a few WP gripes myself and no clear or easy solutions either. Isn’t technology a blast?

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    I turned off that “related posts” thing. I decided it was probably more trouble than it was worth in possible increased traffic.

  5. Laura says:

    Jayne – It seems they fixed it, after enough people complained! I’m glad I wasn’t the only one. I’m always glad when I’m not the only one.

    Jeanette – Yes, we watch both every Must See Monday. If the guy who plays Sheldon on BBT is not up for an emmy this next go around, I’m going to lodge an official complaint.

    Amy – Website coding is up there as my #1 instant boiling point frustration when I can’t figure out how to GODDAMN FIX something.

    TB – I found that to be irritating, too, as well as the SNAP popup that, well, pops up every time you hover over a link. Some features just aren’t.

Leave a Reply

