SIGH.

Posted: October 16, 2008 in bitching, goals, Health/Fitness

My knee has been hurting me since last weekend. I think I expected too much of my knees, and my feet, when I started doing Jillian Michael’s “30 Day Shred”. She’s got this one move in Level One, where you take up a wide stance, feet facing forward, and then do this sort of a side-lunge thing. Which has GOT to be murder on the knees. I mean, really. Lunging to the side???

The upshot is, my knee (well, both, but primarily my left) is FUBARed. I went to the doc’s today, x-rays are scheduled for tomorrow, but it’s likely just a bad hamstring pull where they connect to the back of the knee (the “insertion point”, which sounds all military and stuff). They gave me a reference to a podiatrist, too, to get my stupid feet taken care of (issues with my arches, bunions). I’ve been told to stay off my feet, elevate my knee, use the ice/heat regime, and pop ibuprofen like there’s no tomorrow.

I’ve been “prescribed” calcium, vitamin D, a multivitamin, and glucosamine – all of which I take off and on, but now apparently have to get religious about. Calvin’s gonna roll his eyes at that – he already thinks I take way too many pills.

I’m just way frustrated. I want to get fit, and I felt like the Shred program was doing a good job of kicking my butt in gear. I got to the point where I started to enjoy it. Perhaps I’ll go back to it, but modify the lunges to something less perilous. But for now, all working out is on hold. Then when I go back to it I have to come up to speed again s-l-o-w-l-y. And I must strengthen the muscles at the back of my legs, as well as the hamstrings, and do “dynamic stretching”. The doc says that if the muscles at the front of the leg are disproportionately stronger than those at the back, you’re at further risk for a hammy injury.

Meh. I’m grumpy.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    God, there is nothing more frustrating than WANTING to work out and not being ALLOWED to! I’ve been there, but for me it’s my back.
    Jillian’s dvd has been sitting on top of my TV for two weeks staring at me and I’m so very scared. I want to do it, I really do, but I’ve heard it’s ROUGH. And now I find out Jillian killed your knee. SIDE LUNGES? Dear God!
    I hope you are feeling better soon.

  2. Calvin says:

    That day when I did it with you I said then the dvd was fine but Jillian is way wrong on that side move and it should be replaced with just a normal squat. That motion will hurt most people because it relies on perfect form and puts stress on the knee and most people that try this video will not have perfect form.

  3. I had this thing in the very back of my knee…that same connection point…I think! It was the worst pain I had experienced in 10 years. It started a week before my initial 1/2 marathon at the end of August. I rested it completely (no exercise) for 7 days and it went away (mostly) . A week after the race, the other knee did the same thing. The pain was right where the hamstring “went” into the back of my knee. It hurt most when I lifted my foot in the air…waliking up steps and breathing. It also corresponded with the use of new shoes…it does matter.

  4. Jayne says:

    Oh no. I sympathise, I really do. I don’t know this dvd or Jillian Michaels but anything that puts inordinate strain on the knee joint can’t be good. Unless the muscles of your knees are toned and strong (as with someone who is already athletic) it’s way too easy to strain the muscles and suffer pain. I think you’re wise to be wary of this manoeuvre in future.
    By the way, I can second the doctor’s recommendation of glucosamine. We take some every day and it does help with our general age-related aches and pains.

  5. Taoist Biker says:

    If lower-body joints are the problem, swimming can help. Of course, until it screws with your rotator cuff if you have crappy form like certain people we know.

  6. Laura says:

    Kim – I know! Especially since I NEVER actually WANT to work out! It’s like karma is fucking with me. Oh, the irony.

    Calvin – You were right! (everybody on the internet, take notice that I said that!)

    Electrician – I have New Balance running shoes, which are supposed to keep everything aligned, but I think my body is a special kind of screwed up. What did you do, other than rest, to recover?

    Jayne – I still recommend the DVD, just modifying for the Crazy exercises. How much glucosamine do you take? I’ve had varying recommendations.

    TB – You know, I definitely would, but our neighborhood pool is Butt and Snot Soup from all of the rugrats. Ew ew EEEEEEYYYYYEEEEEEWWWWW.

  7. […] overdid it again, just like with my knees. I jumped into exercising and ignored the foot pain I was having until now. Now? It is […]

Leave a Reply

