Got my vote, by gum.

Posted: September 17, 2008 in Video, WTF
Comments
  1. avitable says:

    Damn! How anyone can watch that and not immediately want to vote for him is beyond my understanding.

  2. Jen says:

    what avitable said

  3. Laura says:

    Avitable – I know! It boggles the mind.

    Jen – Ditto.

  4. Calvin says:

    God I would love to think that he would have the power to do what he just said but the president alone cannot do any of that,he has no real power.
    Until we change out most if not all of the shitty politicians\law makers and change how things are done in Washington Obama will fail to some degree as have all before him.

  5. Rebecca says:

    Good point Calvin.
    But we now have a Democratic control of both the House of Representatives and the Senate…. and an American people that are salivating for change. With a Democratic President in charge don’t you think the House and Senate – in majority of cases – will vote supporting the causes he will lead?

    Baby steps are already being made and we can continue to push for them in a ‘trickle-down effect’, no? 🙂 It’s a fair start in my opinion and I’m excited and ready to see it happen.

  6. I grew up on Welfare and have worked hard and spent responsibly my WHOLE life. We are a one income family. I was in the Army for five years and then started as a construction laborer. If a simple construction worker can live comfortably during this stretch…If things are so bad, why do I still see big screen televisions rolling out of Circuit City and Best Buy EVERY time I drive by?

    We, as Americans, have the same problem the government does. Generally speaking, we spend more than we have. It is very simple. This whole things leads back to people getting loans for homes they can’t afford. Bad for the company lending AND bad for the people getting the loans.

    Sorry for the rant…this problem is indeed bigger than ANY President can handle.

  7. Calvin says:

    I have hopes that it will all get better for everyone and maybe this time is it and or he is the one?
    But like morethananelectrician both Laura and I have always had to work hard for anything we have or wanted (and been very blessed) and that’s ok but if you look at history and see what has happened to the US in less than 100 years it is frightening! Just look at what the national debt was then and how much we have changed as a society all the greed,selfishness… with no concern for the future. Let’s get back to all of us working together and really caring about each other to the point that all homes have Dad going to work while Mom does the job at home. We all have allowed this over time to get this bad so we all have to work to fix it or not be suprised if it get’s worse. Mayberry 2009 is my hope!

  8. I wish we in Canada had a candidate as likeable as Barack Obama for our upcoming election. SIGH.

    Although it’s true that the problems described above are huge and may be too much for a president to solve, Obama is certainly much better than McCain.

  9. Taoist Biker says:

    That is a well-done commercial. I believe both his convictions and his hope are sincere, which is more than one can say about the average politician. I just hope it’s enough.

  10. Jeanette says:

    How refreshing to hear a presidential candidate talk about what he plans to do and how he plans to improve things, and instill a bit of hope to us bad-economy weary Americans. Sure beats the constant slamming of the other candidate that we usually hear! I haven’t completely decided who I am voting for but I must say that watching that video definitely swayed me!

  11. Dawn says:

    Y’know, I have to admit I like what he says… until I realize there’s no possible way he can make the “changes” he’s promising in the ways he’s planning on making them. He sure sounds purty, though. But “purty” doesn’t get my vote.

Leave a Reply

