Taking a moment to whine.

Posted: September 16, 2008 in bitching, work

You guys know that project I’m working on?  Or rather, that pair of projects?  That are sucking my soul away and making my work life miserable? 

Yeah.

I have TWENTY-THREE HOURS of meetings related to those two projects this week.  JUST the two projects.  My “day job” requires an additional five hours of meetings. 

So.

In a forty-hour work week, I am expected this week to spend twenty-eight of those hours in meetings.

And that’s just this week.  So far.  GOD KNOWS how many more meetings will be scheduled for the remainder of this week.  GOD KNOWS what my meeting schedule will be like next week.

And life will continue to be like this, except MORE so, until March of next year.

Shoot me now.

Comments
  1. Calvin says:

    What a vagina! You have a great job that let’s you work from home anytime you want or need and now you whine about getting paid well to sit in meetings ~ WAAAAAAAAAAAH ~
    He says on the inside!

  2. Kim says:

    I *HATE* meetings! But hopefully yours are more productive, like people give ideas then eventually you actually see results from them? Not in an academic atmosphere, where they like to have meetings just for the sake of having meetings. I usually use the time to do some creative writing in whatever notebook I happen to have with me, then amuse myself by reading what I wrote months later. It’s better than listening to people listening to themselves talk.

  3. iamheatherjo says:

    Calvin cracks me up.

    I’ll trade ya! I busted my knuckles open on some sheet metal and had to work in a house that reeked of cat pee. I see a lot more of this in my future. 🙂

  4. Calvin says:

    I know that’s why you hate the meetings because they are such a waste of time are very annoying and most of the time do not amount to anything productive in the end.
    HMMM? Blood and cat piss or…. and I thought the jails smelled bad.
    Smile Miss Heather it will all be ok. Good things come to good people so you’re due for some really great stuff.

  5. Taoist Biker says:

    It’s all about who’s in the meetings. I actually have meetings that I enjoy, and I have some that my eyes glaze over before I even walk through the door.

  6. Laura says:

    Calvin – Shaddap.

    Kim – Productive? PRODUCTIVE?!?? BWAAAAHAHAHAHAHAAAAA.

    Heather – Ew. Just, ew.

    Calvin – My sentiments exactly. On both points.

    TB – Most of mine are of the eye-glazing type. Or, of the blood pressure-raising type.

  7. […] January 13, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments Remember that project from hell that occupied nearly two years of my working life? I just learned that a lady I worked with on that […]

Leave a Reply

