My priorities. Let me show you them.

Posted: September 12, 2008 in Headspace, Health/Fitness, work, WTF

It’s 260 paces from where I park my truck to the front of the building.

From there it’s another 170 steps to my desk.

I have about a three-foot stride.

So I walk about 1290 feet from my truck to my desk.

If I go out at lunch time, I’ll end up going back and forth four times. That’s 5,160 feet.

There’s 5,280 feet in a mile.

By parking my truck as far away as I do (which is almost as far away as I can), I walk 120 feet shy of a mile, most days. Plus, as my lunch-time compatriots (hi Jen) can attest, I park in a remote area of whichever parking lot we’ve arrived at for our lunch-time destination, and make everybody hoof it to the restaurant.

All of this is not to force myself to get fit.

OH no.

It’s to prevent my truck from getting door dings.

Comments
  1. Jen says:

    and you were very silly counting your steps out loud on the way to lunch.

  2. Laura says:

    Jen – Yes, well, I can’t count the ways that you’re silly! 😛

    Heather – Nah, just the workings of a mind INSANELY bored by the inanities of work.

  3. Jeanette says:

    I can relate..nothing more annoying than door dings on a new car! Grrrr…..

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    That’s damned funny.

    And I’m going to TRY to forget this post before the end of the day, or I’ll OCD my ass into counting my paces to my own car.

  5. Laura says:

    Jeanette – I’m just DREADING the first one.

    TB – I live but to amuse.

Leave a Reply

