I don’t has a nom.

Posted: September 10, 2008 in Food, goals, Health/Fitness

I have this thing about eating.

I like it.

More than is normal, I think.

I’m fasting today, which, you might observe, is in direct opposition of the statement I just made above. I’m fasting for my health, to reset my insulin levels, to jump start my diet, and to give my body a digestive rest. I’m drinking tea and water all day. I’ll break my fast this evening when I have a salad for dinner – 24 hours after the last time that I ate (which was supposed to be salad, but Calvin made these TO DIE FOR fried wrap thingies last night with leftover crocked pork and potatoes and cheese and YUMMY GOODNESS and how in the HELL was I supposed to resist THAT?). Next week I’ll try to go for longer and not eat for the entirety of Wednesday, and break my fast at breakfast on Thursday morning. I’ll try to do this 24-to-36 hour fast once a week.

Yeeeeaaaah. We’ll see how long this lasts. It’s making my stomach growl, just typing that.

Now, I’m not going to go overboard. I’m not taking a bunch of detox herbs or remedies or what have you. I’m just skipping a few meals. The true term is “partial fasting” – I guess because it’s for a brief period of time, and not the 40 days that Jesus or Moses or Ghandi could boast. HECK NO.

I got the idea from this story on NPR a while back, and the thought, and logic, stuck with me.

In the meantime (as in, from now until about 7:00 tonight), I am obsessing over food. Which, really, isn’t all that different from my non-fasting mind. I just LOVE to eat. I was brought up with a great appreciation of good food. I love to cook. I love to go to restaurants. I love to try new things. I love to stick to old tried-and-true’s. I love cheap stuff, I love fancy stuff. I just love the whole process of eating.

It’s a wonder I’m not 300 pounds.

I’m not picky, and it’s not hard to make my stomach happy. I like to be discriminating, but if all that’s around is PB&J with a tall glass of milk, color me FABULOUS. I like a good steak, but I also love cheap little McDonalds burgers. A seven dollar bowl of gelato goes down just as enthusiastically as a handful of Dibs.

In trying to watch my weight and improve my health, I’m trying to be more choosy and thoughtful of the foods I eat. If I’m going to go for a treat, I really want to plan it and appreciate it, instead of just grabbing a handful of Doritos or running to the vending machine and throwing my goals out the window. I’m trying to eat fresh, cook with whole and fresh ingredients, and appreciate simple and wholesome preparations. I’m trying to eat new things and make new discoveries that make me enthusiastic about this lifestyle change (for instance, WHO KNEW fava beans were so good? Until last week, not I! God bless Trader Joes.).

I’m trying, but sometimes a can of Chef Boyardee just CALLS to me. It’s comfort food, and more satisfying than a handful of raw veggies dipped in lowfat dressing.

Eating healthy makes me happy, but eating whatever I WANT is just a hell of a lot easier than the thought that is required to put into the healthy eating “lifestyle”. So in some ways, fasting is easier than anything. Tomorrow it’s back to making the right choices and decisions, but today all I have to do is drink a lot of water and tea. Easy peasy.

I’m hungry.

Comments
  1. K says:

    Nerd! You sabotage yourself!!
    Try eating better on a weekend when you can control everything that you put into your mouth and body. Give yourself/your body a few days to “get over” and “adjust” to the clean and healthy things you are putting in your body. This will also help you deal with the oil/grease/sugar withdrawls…When you get those, drink the tea/water. Once you get over that hump the rest will be easy. Don’t forget to work out too.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    I couldn’t fast. No way.

    My theory is just to do enough exercise to more or less stay stable. Admittedly, I would be happier at my stable weight of two years ago than my stable weight right now, but damn it, I was under a shitpot full of stress over the past year, so I cut myself a little bit of slack. 😉

    I need to get back into the pool and/or gym, pronto. ‘Cuz this eatin’ better shit’s for the birds.

  3. Jen says:

    yeah….
    no
    i couldn’t do it

  4. Heather says:

    Hannibal knew that fava beans were so good. 😉

    Fasting just doesn’t seem right somehow, like it would f with your metabolism a bit. But I am obviously no expert!

  5. Calvin says:

    Well I have to say I think your great just the way you are!
    We are all very different in how our bodies react to food or for that matter anything we put in them.
    It’s a DNA thing and eating habits. Sorry but some people cannot eat three meals and snack every day and wonder why they gain.
    Most of the people I know who are on the thin side only eat once a day and/or workout way more than I would.
    And I know some will not agree with this but like I have said if you want a real cardio workout you need to get off that bullshit elliptical and do some real cardio like go to the local school and run a mile with stadiums and before you say anything try 30 mins on the elliptical and then try the run and you will see the huge difference.

  6. I decided, after I donated about 10 pair of pants, that I was going to change things a little bit and try to get back on track. Three months later and twenty pound lighter, I found myself in a 1/2 marathon. I have a little OCD in me. I eat what I used to…just less.

  7. AmyD says:

    LOL – Oh do I hear that! I’ve been trying to eat better but that comfort food, it gets me every time.

Leave a Reply

