So, there’s that.

Posted: September 6, 2008 in Calvin, goals, Journal, Warm Fuzzy, weekend

I got home from work yesterday afternoon and was greeted by a CLEAN, sparkling house and a husband in a very good mood. He’d spent a couple of hours cleaning the house, while grooving around to 70’s music, headed up by the Bee Gees.

If you’re a hater you don’t belong around these here parts.

I expressed the appropriate amount of gratitude and appreciation to the aforementioned husband – I’d been anticipating coming home and getting straight to the housework so we’d have it out of the way for the weekend. Now that I didn’t have to clean, I got straight to getting my own appearance in order (with Calvin making camios in the background, singing and air guitaring/drumming/cowbelling) so we could go out and “do something”.

That “something” turned out to be several hours spent at the dealership, yukking it up with the sales guys, while we finalized the purchase of an ’08 Chevy Trailblazer SS. We traded in the Avalanche and had enough positive equity to pay off the remainder on the loan AND offset the price of the new truck, so that the monthly payments are pretty much the same. The best part, though, is that we bought an extended warranty that NOT ONLY covers us, bumper to bumper, COMPLETELY, for six years, but is also NOT through GMPP.

So. It’s a nice little SUV, much smaller than the Avalanche, and fun to drive. The purchase of a new vehicle doesn’t exactly jive with what our long term planning was at this point (we wanted to have a vehicle that was paid off) but the peace of mind of knowing that we have something reliable that, if it DOES break, is completely covered until (doing the math) 2014 is worth it. I’ll just adjust “the plan” and come up with another goal just as worthy.

Since we closed out the deal late in the evening, the truck wasn’t available to take home with us yet (and we didn’t go to Cien Agaves for tacos and tequila as was the plan, alas). Having inhabited their fleet lot for the past month, it needed to be cleaned up, have an alarm installed and window tint applied. So they’re going to call us at about noon to come pick it up, at which time my thwarted desire to go to Cien Agaves will be thwarted NO LONGER.

Comments
  1. New things are cool…I can think of no better way to decribe it.

    America is a good place.

  2. Kimmy says:

    A husband who cleaned the house, a new vehicle and tacos – you win the prize for Best Weekend Ever!
    I’m making my husband read this entry…BEFORE he starts watching football today!

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    I’d clean house if Dys would let me. She’s terrified that I’d just go through and start throwing shit away left and right.

    She’s smart. 😉

    Congrats on the new vee-hickle!

  4. Laura says:

    Morethananelectrician – I’ve had the occasion to be grateful to be born in the USA more than once, myself.

    Kimmy – It was the Best Weekend EVAR. Except I’ve been disenfranchised and know not whom to root for this NFL season…

    TB – I’m the shit-thrower-awayer in our household. In fact, I intend to do that very thing to the garage so we can park the Trailblazer in it!

  5. Kim from Maine says:

    Sorry you had so much trouble with the Avalanche, but check you state’s consumer protection laws. In Maine, new vehicles are covered for an additional four years beyond their original date of purchase for all express and implied warranties. Many dealers do not tell their customers this and many customers do not know of this law. Thus, the dealership sells you an extended warranty that is free to you by State Law. Check Arizona Consumer Protection laws to see if they have similar provisions.

  6. Dawn says:

    Hooray for new cars! I just bought a CR-V. I hated to give up my Jeep Grand Cherokee (and my lack of car payments since 1999), but Troy decided that I no longer needed to be driving the kiddo around in a car that was FOURTEEN years old. Sigh. That Jeep was so good to me, too. Although the CR-V? Much shinier. And also? More airbags.

Leave a Reply

